Intel Broadwell-E

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by im late, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Brilliant, thanks heaps! Trying not to sound like a broken record, I haven't OC'ed for a long while since the Athlon days. Thanks again much appreciated.
     
  2. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    [​IMG]

    2738

    [​IMG]

    3455

    Difference in cinabench scores with hyperthreading enabled disabled with dual E5-2689v4

    Will post difference with overclock vs non overclock. Thought i had screen shots but must not. Will post them up later today.

    [​IMG]


    Click to view full size!


    Sorry for the shit image quality.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2016
  3. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,813
    Just built a new 6900K rig (specs in sig). New GPU coming soon.
    Here's my cinebench numbers at stock settings


    Click to view full size!
     
  4. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
  5. jamse101

    jamse101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    What kind of cooling solution you have and at what core temperatures those E5-2689v4's run under 100% load?

    I too have pair of those 10 core / 10 thread E5-2666's and I'll probably stick with them for sometime, I'm just curious about how those E5-2689v4's work.
     
  6. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    I would stick with the E5-2666. I didn't see that much of a performance gain going to E5-2689v4. I have hyperthreading off anyway for running VM's.

    The cpu hits 1.2v and 45 degrees under 100% load but the pc is in the lough room atm next to the heater so might get a bit hotter then it normally would. both CPU are watercooled and a gtx 1080. Only got 2x240 rads hooked up to it and it hasn't had a problem. I have had 2 games of BF4 running and been encoding 2 blue-rays at the same time and the temps have been fine.

    I replaced one of the fussy screen shots in my post above to show the volts under load.

    edit: My memory is only running in dual channel mode atm as i'm still waiting for 2 sticks of ram to arrive.
     
  7. jamse101

    jamse101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Related to memory my next question would be are your E5-2689v4's MCC or LCC, ie. do they have one or two memory controllers? According to cpu-world.com E5-2689v4 has one memory controller.

    I'm wondering if Xeon v4 LCC's work similar to E5-2667v3's shown here:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/8423/intel-xeon-e5-version-3-up-to-18-haswell-ep-cores-/10

    I've tested pair of E5-2667v3 ES's myself and I got similar bandwidth drop when HTT was enabled and number of threads was number of cores. With HTT disabled there was no bandwidth drop. E5-2666v3's are MCC chips and with two memory controllers memory performance is always excellent.
     
  8. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    My bet would be there LCC and i'm not sure how that's going to affect performance. MCC start at 12 cores with broadwell. The problem is all the 12 core cpu have low all core turbo. Any benchmarks we could run to compare the two. bare in mind i'm still waiting on 2 ram sticks.

    https://sp.ts.fujitsu.com/dmsp/Publications/public/wp-broadwell-ep-memory-performance-ww-en.pdf

    Is this different to how the haswell-ep memory controllers work?
     
  9. jamse101

    jamse101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    In HWiNFO64's detailed processor information there's "Physical chop" which shows "Mid-Core Count (MCC)" for my E5-2666v3's.

    Those E5-2667v3's I mentioned were also MCC even though they were only 8 core CPU's. Also AIDA64 showed that they had second memory controller but it was not active. So maybe it's also possible that they can make 10 core MCC Broadwell chips.
     
  10. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    "Physical chop" is blank on mine. Thats using HWiNFO64 v5.34-2930

    Might need to wait for it to get updated before i can tell.
     
  11. jamse101

    jamse101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Sisoftware Sandra seems to show memory controllers clearly.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    Judging by this they only have one memory controller. Be interested to see who that affects real world performance.


    Click to view full size!
     
  13. jamse101

    jamse101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Do you happen to use Linux besides Windows? My prrimary "real world" test has been building full Debian installation packages for Linux kernel 4.6.4.

    I've installed dpkg from here so that also .deb package building works parallel:

    https://blueprints.launchpad.net/~mikepurvis/+archive/ubuntu/dpkg

    Executing command:

    jamse@jamse-ws:~/linux-4.6.4$ time make -j 20 deb-pkg

    Gives 5 minutes 20 seconds real time. I've had Ubuntu's home on Samsung 950 Pro for couple weeks now. Before 950 Pro I had it on 7 year old VelociRaptor and with it the above command took about 5 minutes 45 seconds.
     
  14. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    Yeah i use Linux as well. currently running a unraid KVM hypervisor. I can boot up into bare metal installs but moving house this weekend so won't get a chance to test anything to late next week. I still want to wait till i get the last of my ram as well.
     
  15. jamse101

    jamse101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Even though Sandra doesn't explicitly say "Memory Controller 1" like with my setup, it's still possible that those two other rows are individual memory controllers. It looks like all three with memory installed are configured as 128 bits wide, ie. dual channel with two of them making four channels. With those E5-2667v3's I tested, AIDA64 showed one memory controller configured as 256 bits wide and second as 64 bits wide. I didn't look for this information with Sandra with those E5-2667v3's.
     
  16. jamse101

    jamse101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Here's how AIDA64 shows my memory controllers.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Ash_

    Ash_ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Looks like i got lucky with my setup, especially for my first complete build .
    Ran memtest all night no errors than straight into RealBench stress test for two hours and passed ok all @ 50-55 deg C. RealBench benchmark @145312 score should get higher when i change out my GTX 780 Ti black.
    Still getting to know my way around Asus bios this is my first asus board
     
  18. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    I might give my rig a RealBench run tonight for a couple of hours too. I haven't bothered doing a MemTest yet. If Realbench runs through for a couple of hours would that be a safe assumption everything is all good? Been gaming a fair bit (max of a few straight hours) for a few nights this week so far so good.
     
  19. Ash_

    Ash_ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    I reckon you should be ok with a couple of hours testing, first time with realbench myself I used to use IBT with my old X79 system. With this setup I idle at about 30 deg C and can play BF4 for hours and be at 40 deg C . I just did the memtest to make sure everything was good with the OC on the memory.
    Wish i could afford that TitanX of yours
     
  20. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Well, fck it I will run memtest overnight only because I'm anal that way. Which test did you run with your 6850K?

    The titan is bloody great and absolutely loving gsync gameing experience. Time to upgrade that 780Ti of yours?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: