1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

Intel Broadwell-E

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by im late, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    There ridiculously priced. I ended up getting one new for $1450 off a guy who won one.

    What do you need the extra cores for. I run 2 4 core gaming VMs and have the other 2 cores for KVM and plex.

    To add they pump out a lot of heat when overclocked. If you only need 8 cores i would go back to haswell. They seem to clock better. Or wait for skylake.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  2. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    I got a 560 Rad cooling my 6950x. AVX offset 4. I also got a 1080 on that loop as well. Depends what you use your computer for. If it's just for gaming then a 7700k would be better and cheaper. 4.2 is a bit low but 8 cores takes a bit to cool.

     
  3. bondibro

    bondibro Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    sydney
    is 1.375v too much for my 6850k @ 4.4?

    should I leave the min and max cpu cache ratio on auto?
     
  4. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,876
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    That sounds like a lot, some people dont worry as much as others but I wouldnt run that daily.

    :thumbup:
     
  5. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    They do say up to 1.4v is ok, but you'll need some serious cooling.
    There are some guys doing over 1.4v at overclock.net for 24/7 use.
     
  6. Punster

    Punster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    902
    I have my 6850K running 4.2GHz with 1.28v under load (1.26v in bios). Pretty happy with temps, max 70c across some cores when stressed.
     
  7. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,607
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Wow, some really crap overclocks on Broadwell-E.
     
  8. bondibro

    bondibro Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    sydney
    yes, this second 6850k is crap. The first I had was a lot better and would hit 4.5 @ 1.333. This one can't even do 4.4 @ 1.375
     
  9. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    I believe Intel just uses poor chips for HEDT i7's and keep the good ones for Xeons. If you want good overclocking chip get a Haswell single socket E5. Unfortunately Intel locked all the Broadwell E5's.
     
  10. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
  11. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    547
    I've owned a Xeon E5-1680v3 and a couple of i7 5960X cpus. Very similar in performance. If you are after highest clock though then more chance of getting it with a 5960X.
    I believe 'Silicon Lottery', who bins cpus, tested both and found the xeon not to clock higher. Mine had a good IMC.
     
  12. gabgab1982

    gabgab1982 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    Wow did they lock all the Broadwell E5's. That's annoying. Hopefully Ryzen is good and makes intel have to compete again.

    I just hooked up the 4 pin esp on my R5E. Might see if that affects the overclock on this 6950x. Hopefully lower volts
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2017
  13. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Would be nice to see AMD in the lime light again, used to swear by their Athlon x64 cpus.
    But honestly if they are just matching a 6900k at stock speeds it only take Intel to drop Skylake-X and they a second fiddle again, though it might be fought with prices and not performance ;)
     
  14. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,830
    Got my Mobo and CPU back from RMA. The Mobo needed to be replaced as it failed and CPU was OK. Put it all back together today and ensured the VCCIO was set manually to 1.05V.

    Hopefully its all good from here on.
     
  15. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Yes Intel just being more of an arsehole than ever, can't wait for AMD to have something worthwhile and I'll be jumping ship.
     
  16. Aratahu

    Aratahu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
    Anyone still here?

    For all those who had their overclocks killed by Intel's Spectre mitigation, I see there's finally a new (as of 1 month ago) BIOS update for the Asus X99 Gaming Strix that appears to mitigate that:

    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-X99-GAMING/HelpDesk_BIOS/

    Has anyone who's been affected (my 6850k is locked to 38x) applied the update? It's such a PITA to upgrade as the bios settings backup doesn't work. POS Asus motherboard.
     
  17. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    15,308
    Location:
    Canberra
    Strangely yeah I'm still here.

    Motherboard is giving me troubles currently. WIll spontaneously shutdown, and won't boot most of the time, if it does boot, will remain running fine for days. if it doesn't boot, it'll powerup/shutdown in a second.

    swapped everything but motherboard (Asus X99 A-II) so far, so hunting for a new board now. the 8-core v4 Xeon and 128GB of DDR4 need a new home.
     
  18. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,607
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2019
  19. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    I didn't OC my rig, still in sig, since acquisition and build. Still going very strong obviously, can't complain. It's been a few years now.
     
  20. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    15,308
    Location:
    Canberra
    wasn't planning to.

    was hoping to get away with a cheapie motherboard swap. but boards with 8 ddr4 slots are not cheapies. but still cheaper than new board and new cpu.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: