Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - Kentsfield + D975XBX Bad Axe rev304

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by eva2000, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - Kentsfield​


    Yesterday afternoon a courier dropped off a new toy for me to play with, an Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield B3/Step 7 quad core cpu :D

    QUPT, Week 32, 2006
    [​IMG]

    Dropped it in a Intel D975XBX Bad Axe rev304 motherboard with latest 1441 bios and it is recognised as Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu. Ignore the processor speed of 3.72Ghz, the bios since day 1 has misreported the speed IF the fsb strap is changed from default to say 1067fsb or 1333fsb strap. Right now it's set at 1067fsb strap.
    [​IMG]

    Temps look okay for idle pretty close to my E6600 and E6700 B1 cpus on same cooling. I used the new application method for AS5 listed here.
    [​IMG]

    New feature in bios that i have never seen on D975XBX Bad Axe board when i used my E6600 and E6700 B1 cpus, a selectable cpu multiplier!

    The default vcore is 1.275v for Coretemp VID but i had 1.3125v vcore set in bios on my previous session with E6700 cpu. With 1.275v vcore set in bios, vcore reads 1.242v with 43C idle cpu temps. The default settings with automatic multiplier:
    [​IMG]

    The manual default multiplier settings (whether multipliers higher than default 9x work haven't tested yet):
    [​IMG]

    The manual multiplier max and min multipliers are 40x and 5x respectively in bios:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    As you can see the Intel D975XBX Bad Axe rev304 has no problem recognising the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield cpu in bios at least. I have enabled Enhanced Powerslope in bios which reduces vcore droop by as much as 50% :)
     
  2. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    System:
    • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield QUPT B3 Step 7
    • Corsair Hydrocool 200EX
    • Intel D975XBX Badaxe rev304 1441 bios
    • 128MB Gainward FX5200 PCI card
    • 2x1GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 2GBHZ Micron D9GMH 0629 batch
    • 3x320GB Seagate 7200.10 SATAII Matrix Raid 0
    • 1x74GB Western Digital Raptor 8MB
    • Pioneer DVD-RW
    • FDD
    • 1KW PCP&C SLI PSU

    Cpuz v1.37 recognises the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 correctly but Crystalmark thinks the cpu is a Woodcrest, while CoreTemp v0.93 thinks the cpu is a Intel Xeon Q6600 Kentsfield.

    Not sure if it's the new 1441 bios or Corsair Hydrocool 200EX water cooling setup, but bios idle temps of 43-45C are reflected in Coretemp windows idle temp of 36-40C which cpu1 core being 3C cooler than the other 3 cores. That's still 6-10C hotter than E6600 B1 at default 2400Mhz and default vcore of 1.242v vcore.

    Room ambient temps = 27.6C - 28.5C

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Quad Stressprime at idle shows coretemps of 36-40C:
    (click image for larger version)
    [​IMG]

    Quad Stressprime load shows cpu0/2 at 57C and cpu1/3 at 55C:
    (click image for larger version)
    [​IMG]

    Quad Systool 8M and 16M PI:
    [​IMG]

    Everest Ultimate Edition v3.50
    D975XBX Bad Axe has one outstanding issue that effects any cpu, that is when Sandra 2007 or Everest are launched, it resets the vcore to that of below stock value.

    On my E6600 B1s default vcore = 1.25 (1.242v), when Everest/Sandra 2007 are launched, vcore is reset to 1.218v. Seems same occurs with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu, default vcore = 1.275 (1.242v). When Everest is lauched, vcore resets to 1.15v :eek2:

    This is way below the lowest vcore setting available in bios of 1.275v (1.242v). As you can see windows idle temps dropped too.

    [​IMG]

    Weird never noticed there's a DIMM temp sensor there before ? 1441 bios added ?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Overclocking:
    Looks like the D975XBX Bad Axe rev304 board might not be fully working with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu. I ran Systool quad 16M Pi to test clocks with clockgen and from bios and managed

    vFSB = default
    vMCH = 1.628v
    vDimm = 2.05v

    - 2900Mhz at 1.242v (1.275v bios)
    - 3003mhz at 1.277v (1.315v bios)
    - 3060Mhz at 1.312v (1.35v bios)
    - 3109Mhz is where trouble starts:
    * 1.359v (1.4v in bios) = rebooted immediately in Systool quad 16M Pi tests.
    * 1.359v vcore and raised vFSB to 1.395v = rebooted at 13% mark for Systool quad 16M Pi tests
    * 1.406v (1.45v bios) with vFSB 1.395v = PASSED Systool quad 16M Pi tests.
    * 1.453v (1.50v bios) with vFSB 1.395v = rebooted after 8-13% in Systool quad 16M Pi tests
    * 1.476v (1.525v bios) with vFSB 1.395v = hangs at boot time just before windows logo

    Raising vMCH to 1.685v from 1.628v allowed me to pass at
    * 1.359v (1.4v bios vcore) + vFSB 1.395v + vMCH 1.685v = PASSED Systool quad 16M Pi tests (can even loop the test without problems).

    Clockgen'ing from 3109Mhz to 3150-3200Mhz resulted in Systool quad 16M Pi test rebooting immediately regardless of vcore up to 1.453v. Similar, if i set in bios greater than +30% FSB adjustable i.e. +33% will result in hang just before windows logo loads.

    For those that recall, originally D975XBX Bad Axe board came with max adjustable FSB in percentage terms at +30%. Then later bios allowed +50% max FSB. It seems with Q6600 cpu, i'm only getting stable FSB clock at +30% max so far with 1441 bios. Might need to try earlier bioses as well http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=2804 and see if it helps.

    Hope it's the board/BIOS and not the cpu as this Q6600 was pretested by the seller to 3600Mhz 9x400fsb quad prime stable at 1.45v vcore on air on Asus P5B Deluxe and Asus P5W64 WS Pro motherboards :)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Super Pi v1.50

    Doing some stock cpu speed tests with no pi tweaks just to get an idea of how Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu runs at 9x266fsb = 2400Mhz at 1.242v with memory @266mhz 4-4-4-8.

    Single 1M & 32M
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Dual 1M
    [​IMG]

    Quad 1M
    [​IMG]

    Dual 32M
    [​IMG]

    Quad 32M
    [​IMG]
     
  5. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Super Pi v1.5 Overclocked

    Starting off below the motherboard FSB limit of ~345FSB at 9x333FSB with 2:3 divider and 500mhz 4-4-4-8 on memory with 1067fsb strap strap.

    @3001Mhz at 1.336v (1.375v bios)

    [​IMG]

    Single 1M & 2M
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Single 4M & 8M
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Single 16M & 32M
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Cinebench with FX5200 PCI video card
    [​IMG]
     
  6. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Nice work eva! Im watching very closely how you go with temperatures and how high you can go with FSB, my Q6700 is giving me hell with high FSB and extremely high temps.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks doghouse, the Q6600 seems to run very cool indeed with Corsair Hydrocool 200EX H20 cooling stock it's idling around 35-39C in 26-28C room ambients :)

    Swapped from 2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 batch memory to 2GB OCZ PC2-8000 Titanium Alpha VX2 Micron D9GKX memory.

    [​IMG]

    System:

    Re-ran some of the single Super Pi v1.5 32M Pi times with stock @2400Mhz 9x266fsb with 2:3 divider and OCZ Titanium AlphaVX2 @400mhz 3-3-3-8 at 2.29v vdimm.

    [​IMG]

    Super Pi 1M & 32M
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    (Due to higher async upclocked memory speed and tighter timings of 3-3-3-8, the 32M time is 98+ seconds faster than 1:1 266mhz 4-4-4-8 timings!)

    Super Pi 8M & 16M
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    (Due to higher async upclocked memory speed and tighter timings of 3-3-3-8, the 16M time is ~45 seconds faster than 1:1 266mhz 4-4-4-8 timings!)

    Dual 32M
    [​IMG]

    (Due to higher async upclocked memory speed and tighter timings of 3-3-3-8, the dual 32M Pi time is ~150 seconds faster than 1:1 266mhz 4-4-4-8 timings!)
     
  8. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Hey Eva, good to se your is running nice and cool, my q6700 (es) is bloody hot. At this stage Im still trying to work out how to drive my motherboard properly, Intel overclocking and Asus motherboards are totally foreign to me. This is the temps Im gettin with a storm CPU block and 3x120 Gt Stealth rad running nexus fans.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Pretty damn toasty, Im not sure it will go as high as chaniny's, we shall see.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yeah Kentsfield B0 and B1 steppings run hotter than the B3 stepping which my Q6600 cpu is. Seen a few reviews of even B3 step QX6700 vs Q6600, the QX6700 at stock ran around 108 watts versus Q6600 87 watts.

    So i think Q6600 generally run slightly cooler than QX6700.

    Which motherboard you using ?
     
  10. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Asus P5WDG2 WS Pro , goddamn, tried various bioses including the mythical beta 0005 and still have multi problems, cant get over 12, had to clear the bios manually, grrrr.
    Edit: Hmm if I can get to 3.4 stable I thnik I will call it quits................naahhh :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2006
  11. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    maybe your board is hitting an fsb limit for kentsfield like mine ? tried upping multiplier but keeping 266fsb ?

    Time for some 3dmark/pcmark action with 2x 256MB BFG 7800GTX SLI with 85.96 SLI drivers :)

    System:

    Done with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 at stock 2400Mhz 9x266fsb and 2GB OCZ PC2-8000 Titanium Alpha VX2 @400mhz 3-3-3-8.

    2x 256MB BFG 7800GTX SLI @494(546)/1370

    click image for full screen shot :)

    PCmark05
    [​IMG]

    3dmark06 & 3dmark05
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    3dmark2003
    [​IMG]

    3dmark2001
    [​IMG]

    Aquamark3
    [​IMG]


    Sweet Q6600 clocked at 3001Mhz (9x333fsb) with memory 1:1 @333mhz 3-3-3-8 and 2x 256MB BFG 7800GTX SLI @473(525)/1350 managed to break all my previous 7800GTX SLI personal best scores for 3dmark06 :D

    3dmark06 = 9,633
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=620460

    [​IMG]

    3dmark06 = 9,787
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=620581

    [​IMG]

    Look at that cpu score :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2006
  12. Y3llowbeard

    Y3llowbeard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA. USA
    VERY thorough as always eva2000. :Pirate:
     
  13. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    thanks mate

    welcome to OCAU ... about time we had a Corsair rep hanging out down under :)

    Still with 2x1GB OCZ PC2-8000 Titanium Alpha VX2 Micron D9GKX this time with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @9x333fsb = 3001Mhz and 2:3 divider for 500mhz 4-4-3-4 with tightened memset v3.0 timings.

    Single 1M & 8M
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Single 32M
    [​IMG]

    (~18 seconds faster than Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ same cpu clock but memory at 500mhz 4-4-4-8 and no memset tweaks)

    Crystalmark benchmark
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2006
  14. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Nice work eva! My mobo is not FSB limited, with my pentium D I easily hit 400 FSB, but you are probably right, Kents seem to be FSB limited.

    Welcome Y3llowbeard, Im using your products at moment but Im still bedding in my CPU :Pirate:

    So what are safe temps for a Kent? I hit 3.35 this morning and the temps were still 70-73, I notice Tjunction is set for 100 degrees, am I right in assuming that 70-75 is stil a safe operarting temperature? I f yes damn, I can see my watercooling loop doubling as my kettle.
     
  15. Y3llowbeard

    Y3llowbeard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA. USA
    Thanks for the welcome guys. :thumbup:
     
  16. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,220
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Well :rolleyes: ....................................when you going to lap IHS.
     
  17. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Thats directed at Eva?
     
  18. OP
    OP
    eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    doghouse.. kentsfield generally do run hotter.. i think under 70C should be fine considering what old B1 ones did just at stock speeds on stock hsf

    heh.. this Q6600 runs cooler than what most E6600 retails i have seen especially at higher vcore it runs cooler than QX6700 i have seen :)

    But probably will end up lapping this cpu but later until i get another motherboard capable of taking Q6600 to a higher fsb.

    Only motherboard that i know to do this is Asus P5B Deluxe and maybe Asus P5W64 WS Pro.

    680i motherboards have an even lower fsb max for kentsfield apparently around 280-350fsb but 680i are fine way past 500fsb for core 2 duo cpus.
     
  19. Y3llowbeard

    Y3llowbeard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA. USA
    I wonder if this will improve with bios or is it a power issue?
     
  20. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    teehee , mines never under 70, even at stock :upset:
     

Share This Page