Intel Core i5 Dual Core "Clarkdale" reaches 4GHz at 0.8V?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  2. mitsimonsta

    mitsimonsta Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,994
    Location:
    2161 / 2060
  3. Dezza Bot

    Dezza Bot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,609
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    That's some amazing stuff!
    Anbody have any idea what the tdp of the dual cores will be? Looking for a DC chip faster than e8600 without requiring more power/cooling.
     
  4. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    Isn't that supposed to be i3?

    EDIT: That cpu is the replacement to the E7600 (according to the intel roadmap)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Dual core will be in the Core i3, Core i5 and possibly the COre i7 range of processor names. Nothing is confirmed yet unfortunately. Either way the voltages on 32nm must be incredibly low - if cpu-z is reading it right.
     
  6. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA

    I am curious to see if they will release cheap chipsets. E.g. P53 or P51 for these chips...
     
  7. snappy1

    snappy1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,165
    Location:
    Benching
    I really hope AMD have something special in the pipeline
     
  8. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    There will be a range of cheap and expensive chipsets like you see on todays market for the LG775.
     
  9. Exifar

    Exifar (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    87
  10. gmeup

    gmeup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sydney
    iwonder if you can get these babies close to 5ghz on on air stable?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Not sure what the stock and safe voltages for these 32nm parts are going to be.
     
  12. Shadow_n

    Shadow_n Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That's still pretty insane :eek:
     
  13. Onyx

    Onyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,253
    Location:
    NSW
    Wowsers, what's stock Vcore?! If this is undervolting and overclocking, these desktops parts could probably survive without any crippling or mods in a notebook environment.
     
  14. El Jay

    El Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It would be nice to know what temperatures the cpu is operating at, as well as benchmark results to see performance/stability. Regardless they're impressive figures.
     
  15. mitsimonsta

    mitsimonsta Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,994
    Location:
    2161 / 2060
    Don't you be using my smileys...... [​IMG]
     
  16. Team.AU

    Team.AU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    do we actually know that voltage is right? cpuz (especially early chipsets) has been known to show vid or default voltage instead of real vcore..

    the results ive heard have not been as impressive..
     
  17. AussieTemplar

    AussieTemplar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,435
    Location:
    Eastern Suburbs Sydney
    :O

    0.8v @ 4.0GHZ!

    5.0ghz on air will be possible with 32nm easy! :thumbup:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    I wouldn't be surprised that cpu-z may not read it correctly...from what you've heard what type of voltages are we do expect? Or is that something you can't say at this point in time?
     
  19. rbdirty

    rbdirty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    I doubt that, but it would be nice...
     
  20. Team.AU

    Team.AU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    i dunno about voltages, but the word is that what we already have (i7) wont be taken down in the HIGH END stakes... that being said, this gear might give AMD a headache in the mid-range being a great alternative for people building gaming or budget benching rigs..

    fingers crossed though we have some high speeds and a little bit MORE fun..
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: