Intel Gulftown 32nm 6-core should work with X58 boards

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by carbon_death, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. carbon_death

    carbon_death Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    992
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    At least some of them


    http://www.fudzilla.com/content/view/12443/69/

    But i wonder how good it will realy be?
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2009
  2. ayles

    ayles Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    513
    As they're phasing out quads im more interested in the new dual cores.

    Best of both worlds for gaming? 4 threads but 2 highly overclockable physical cores.

    :leet:
     
  3. Danthemanz

    Danthemanz Old School Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Sydney
    Im sure some people will use the extra cores but personally i would rather a higher clocked 4 core 16MB chip than a 6 core 12MB chip....
    With HT i cant see myself needing more than 4 cores over the next 2 years...
     
  4. rbdirty

    rbdirty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    We already know.

    Digital Monkey has it in his thread about 1/3rd of the way down the page...
     
  5. stablez

    stablez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,038
    Location:
    Humidycrib
    Hectic. 6 cores... Thats investiment in future rendering programs that i hope take full advantage...

    there will be a for sure upgrades chip desighned for manipulation in overclocking/tweaks for gulftown>< 1366s is pretty large..:Pirate:
     
  6. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    "Should" work :lol: :rolleyes: I think they "should" be liable for my costs if i buy a motherboard that doesn't support it. I have my doubts if Intel doesn't update the VRM spec's for the boards to cope with the processor...

    Looking forward to a 6 core cpu either way.
     
  7. Tekxpert

    Tekxpert New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Port Sorell, TAS
    That will be the laugh of the decade when all these early adopters can't upgarde to gulftown because of some VRM spec joke or someother technical reason. Reminds a bit of when 925X chipsets first came out and then a few months later 925XE came out supporting 1066Mhz FSB.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: