Intel NUC platform thread

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by stmok, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Any particular reason why you are upgrading? unless you need HDCP 2.2 there is little to no gain even compared to a gen 3 (if yours is 2 years old it will be a gen 4-5)
     
  2. the_fuzz

    the_fuzz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,135
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah HDCP 2.2 support is probably the main one - looking at buying a new main TV soon.

    Plus I feel like my little HTPC NUC is a bit slow..... ;)
     
  3. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    Newcastle


    What front end are you using?
     
  4. the_fuzz

    the_fuzz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,135
    Location:
    Sydney
    Media portal at the moment
     
  5. karmic

    karmic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Perth
    Looks to be a couple of AU sellers with that model number: http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/search.cgi?q=NUC7i7BNH&spos=3

    The i7 CPU appears to be the limiting factor, with slightly more hits for the i5 model and heaps more hits for the i3 model.

    Cheers,
     
  6. Kurosaki

    Kurosaki Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,668
    Location:
    Australia
    The i5 7th gen models only just arrived in AU this week... the i7 model isn't expected to be here until September.....
     
  7. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,044
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Does anyone own that fancy new quad core Celeron? The one with HDMI 2.0, quad core (wtf?) and only $160 US / around $240 AUD?

    Apparently it's an amazing HTPC, I'm considering one and then selling off my new and shiny Silverstone case and cute little SF supply. The nuc would be even smaller and save space.
     
  8. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    4,622
    Location:
    Perth
    Ive been on a Core i5 NUC as a HTPC for ages (2-3yrs old maybe?), best thing I ever did. Also run Emulstation with all the SNES/NES/Sega etc games and its perfect little bit of kit. I gave up on Linux and went to Win10 and it is still fast, responsive and easy upkeep. I would assume the quad celeron wouldnt be much different in speed to mine, so would recommend.
     
  9. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Do you mean this one?

    Intel NUC Arches Canyon NUC6CAYH HDMI/ VGA/USB3/M2 DDR3 GBE - $215

    https://ark.intel.com/products/95594/Intel-Celeron-Processor-J3455-2M-Cache-up-to-2_3-GHz

    DUAL Channel RAM (I would be getting a 2x4GB@1866MHz ($85 from Umart) as the GPU will using this as it's vRAM) as well that would move along nicely and it will do 4K@60Hz in Win10 (as well as linux).

    Here's a good review of the unit with the 4K:
    http://nucblog.net/2017/01/apollo-lake-nuc-nuc6cayh-review/
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2017
  10. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,044
    Location:
    Melbourne


    That's the one - it's meant to be a little beast for a HTPC. Sounds really nice.
     
  11. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It looks good for that price and that review shows some interesting results.

    Here is it being compared with some dual cores.

    http://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/cpu-intel_celeron_j3455-662

    You can get the unit and RAM for $300 and then either add SDXC card (128GB for $65) or a SSD.

    A powerful little unit for under $400.

    We take ours (plus mouse and keyboard) when ever we go away and just plug it into a TV via HDMI.

    You have me seriously thinking of getting one and relegating our current HTPC unit to the bedroom NUC5PPYH (which ironically is more expensive (@$228) than the NUC6CAYH).
     
  12. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Introducing the Intel® Remote Keyboard

     
  13. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    Newcastle
    That's been around for years now works for all windows based PC's
     
  14. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Quality?.......does it compare to Intel Driver Update Utility.............the most buggy piece of shit in the last 3 years.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2017
  15. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12,665
    Location:
    Newcastle
    No it works quite well I don't use it often but when I do use the app it works
     
  16. Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I would definitely avoid i7 NUC cos they run super hot and noisy ALL the time thanks to Intel's cheap inadequate heatsink/fan. :(
    Gen5 i7 NUC(NUC5I7RYH, 28W TDP) = http://www.legitreviews.com/intel-nuc-kit-nuc5i7ryh-review_163523/4
    I was gonna buy Gen5 i7 NUC but then changed it to i5 NUC(15W TDP) after finding out about the heat/noise issue, but even the i5 NUC ran pretty hot and was bit too noisy for me.

    Then I got interested Gen6 i7 NUC(NUC6i7KYK, 45W TDP) cos it came in larger case(better cooling for 45W TDP) but it also runs very hot and noisy under load.
    http://www.legitreviews.com/intel-nuc-nuc6i7kyk-skull-canyon-mini-pc-review_181416/4

    If you check the Intel forum(NUC section) there are soo many people complaining about the heat/noise on i7 models, but Intel just doesn't seem to give a f... so the Gen7 i7 NUC(NUC7i7BNH, 28W TDP) will probably also run hot/noisy all the time.

    Sad thing is that heat/noise issue on Intel NUC isn't due to it's small size(but simply due to Intel using cheap/inadequate cooling), because Asus/MSI/Gigabyte's NUC equivalents are same size(use same TDP CPUs) but they all run cool and very quite.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2017
  17. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The noise is always going to be an issue when you want to put something powerful in such a small environment - else you just nerf the power and defeat the purpose.

    It seems SFF would be far more suitable for your means:
    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=1220718
     
  18. Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    Melbourne
    :confused:

     
  19. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I didn't notice that comment - are the cooling internal space of similar dimensions?

    I'd be interested to see these comparisons as I find it very hard to believe that you can have an i7 running at it's optimised best in such a tiny space and if noise is an issue in the Intel (and they seem to be doing nothing about it) swap out the cooling fan for a better unit.

    Some of the units listed here;
    https://www.jw.com.au/products/desktop-pcs/branded/barebone

    They do have the Intel performance units;

    Intel NUC Kit NUC6i7KYK ("Skull Canyon") Review and Ratings
     
  20. Rockman.EXE

    Rockman.EXE Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Ballarat
    I've wondered how one of these fare with the external GPU enclosures; Toyed with the idea of having one as my main rig, with a external GPU at multiple locations - IE One box with the GTX1070 at home, a box at folk's place with the spare RX470, one at work with Quadro.
     

Share This Page