Intel Sandy Bridge (LGA1155) Chip Discussion and Reviews..

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Nov 17, 2010.

?

Will you be buying/upgrading to a Intel Sandy Bridge (LGA1155) processor?

  1. Yes!

    317 vote(s)
    55.2%
  2. No!

    165 vote(s)
    28.7%
  3. Mmm Candy...nom nom

    92 vote(s)
    16.0%
  1. Mystery Man

    Mystery Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,413
    Location:
    Sydney
    they probably sold out of the initial stock already i recon
     
  2. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    when they first listed the s1155 CPU section, it had ETA of the 9th Jan.... then it wasn't long after that they then listed the CPUs as in stock

    I doubt Intel are very happy about major resellers breaking the NDA on sales - PCCG prob got pressured to stop selling until the 9th
     
  3. die_piggy

    die_piggy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Well, I ordered last night, wonder if it is going to be processed or not.
     
  4. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,910
    Here's my new PC i put together on monday this week (03/01/11)

    Intel i7 2600 - @ 4.2Ghz Turbo Mode
    Gigabyte P67A-UD3R
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    HIS Radeon HD6950 2GB
    Corsair HX650 Power supply
    Corsair Force Series 120GB SSD
    Samsung 1TB 7200RPM hard drive
    Fractal Design ATX Case with 3x 120mm & 1x 140mm Fans

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Mystery Man

    Mystery Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,413
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah may be thats the case. IT-Estate have their cpu's as listed release on the 8th
     
  6. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Nice and stealthy :) Looks good!
     
  7. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  8. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    What type of motherboard is that, an ASUS?

    Only joshing people
     
  9. TrennaHowar

    TrennaHowar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,499
    Location:
    Perth
    WATCH OUT THERE IS A BIRDIE IN YOUR ROOM!
     
  10. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    MAOR like a hawk, just the angle is all screwed up :D


    hmmmm courier still hasnt picked up your P67A-UD3R, there is still time to hit cancel button :lol:
     
  11. spazowacky

    spazowacky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Location:
    W.A.
    A board with 90 degree sata connectors would look alot tidier and wouldn't get in the path of the vga fan.
     
  12. Skidd

    Skidd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Melton South
    So what does this mean for those people or ordered yesterday? Are they going to let those go through or are they going hold the order till monday? :Paranoid:
     
  13. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,910
    Yeah its a very strange bird, thinks its people! :) also likes to help build pc's or get in there and pull wires.

    Cool, Pitty i couldnt get better pic's i took those photo's with my Samsung phone, probably better off using a real camera but thats all i have oh well :)

    Yeah i didnt see that until after i got it home and started building, even though the board can fit a second videocard i dont think its doable unless you plan on running no hard drives/SSD's lol

    A cable tie was my fix for the videocard fan touching issue.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2011
  14. NewKleer

    NewKleer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    isnt the whole point of vdroop (thats what LLC prevents right?) to account for the change in cpu current switching from full load to no load so as to reduce positive spikes on going load->no load, and negative spikes from no load->load. people who think a board with same vcore for load and no load, has no spikes in the transition is mistaken.

    im not sure why people (and hence mobo makers) are so obsessed with keeping vcore the same on full load as it is on no load - on no load the extra vcore isnt going to be making much heat.

    the problems only going to get worse as the cpu's get more efficient in shutting down when idling.
     
  15. die_piggy

    die_piggy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Pccg IS sending any chips which were ordered before the site took them down. My 2600k is winging it's way to Sydney now
     
  16. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    Cute bird ;)

    I also like your HDD docks. I also use one, they are very convenient.

    What did you upgrade from and what are your impressions?
     
  17. Skidd

    Skidd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Melton South
    Sigh and my order with them is still "processing". Which means I will only get my stuff on monday.
     
  18. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,910
    I upgrade from a Intel E8200 (2.6Ghz) 4GB DDR2 667Mhz 1GB Samsung drive
    AMD HD5770 1GB

    That PC ran pretty much everything but would lock up and crash once in a while cause of a ram issue.

    If it didnt have any problems with it, i probably would of not upgraded until required. ( When the games i play started to slow down )
     
  19. Frag_Lord

    Frag_Lord Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,263
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Confirmation today. 20/01/2011 for 2500K will be available from disty's.
     
  20. lms

    lms Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Tossing up between the GA P67A-UD4 and the Asus P8P67 PRO.

    Any difference between the Gigabit ethernet chips?

    ...the asus has Intel P67 express and the Gigabyte has the Realtek RTL8111E.
     

Share This Page