Intel Skylake-X/Kabylake-X (LGA2066) and X299 Chipset Discussion

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Court Jester, Jun 19, 2017.

  1. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Yes as said by CJ above, any 2011-3 AIO cooler will fit the 2066 socket.
     
  2. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    Interesting review here on Toms hardware;

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i7-7820x-skylake-x,5127.html

    Cherrypicking bad bits...

    and this is with a H100i...

    and lastly

    Has this been peoples real world experience?
     
  3. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,155
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
  4. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,556
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Welcome to the club :thumbup:

    How have you found the overclocking?

    I found that you reach the cpu's thermal limit before you hit the VRM limit.
     
  5. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,155
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Still installing stuff so Im just establishing a baseline first (750Ti gpu doesnt help either ...)

    :lol:
     
  6. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif

    Looks flash as in that pic Aussie.

    I will be interested to hear how it clocks with a custom loop
     
  7. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,556
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Just bumped up my overclock to 4.6Ghz, and uncore to 3Ghz (2.4Ghz Default).

    2008 Cinebench score (forgot to screenshot when I did it...lol)
    http://imgur.com/gZABRpi
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2017
  8. Muddy Funster

    Muddy Funster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    *rural QLD* 4465
    i wouldn't be turning that on mate, I think a clown threw up in your PC!
     
  9. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,155
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    hahah I never wanted RGB's but it seems like every motherboard has them now and the RGB rams are great performers so RGB it is ...

    :lol:

    Are you guys testing with Realbench? Or other?

    I read that C states should be disabled for overclocking, are you guys doing this?

    :)
     
  10. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    This bit is amusing now the 1900X has been annouced...

    $589 USD vs $549 USD.

    28 lanes vs 60+4 lanes.

    toothpaste vs solder.

    I still kinda want a 7900X for shits and giggles but I'm going to wait and hope prices drop... that and wait for mobos like the Rampage Extreme and Dark to come out.
     
  11. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,556
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    All C-States are off.

    [​IMG]

    I'm testing with Realbench mainly, I do have a AVX/AVX512 offset of 6 bringing them back to 4Ghz so any AVX based tests wont find instabilities.

    Backed the uncore off a bit back to 2.5Ghz, was pushing up the temps, have to run 1.21v for 4.6Ghz CPU/3Ghz cache.
    Keeping it under 1.2v is what's needed for a AIO cooler, custom water you should be able to go higher.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2017
  12. OP
    OP
    Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,865
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  13. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,825
    Why are you running the second MSI GPU out of interest?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,865
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    im mostly mining on it atm, I wasn't sure If I was going to keep it as SLI support in new games is not great, so I didnt order a block for it Most games I am playing atm are running fine on the single 1080ti

    The bottom card runs quite cool and at 100% fan speed the fan isnt overly loud on that card so I may not even get a block for it if I keep it.

    I was hoping vega wouldn't be a big pile of crap as I would have sold both and gotten one to keep my free sync support but that is clearly not going to be the case so I have jumped ship 100% now and just ordered a gsync screen as I dont think ill be buying AMD again any time soon ( after owning AMD/ATI cards since the 4870 )


     
  15. Dr Jon

    Dr Jon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Hobart

    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!


    x299 Prime Deluxe; Caselabs Mercury; TridentZ 3600 32gb kit

    Happy with the build so far at a stable 4.5ghz OC. Basics are 7820x, XMP 3600 profile; all-core sych@ 45; 4 & 7 AVX offset; CPU input 1.9V; adaptive voltage offsets of (-) and (+) 0.025V; Cache @3000, power @140%. GPU is a MSI 1080ti Seahawk EK because I didn't want to stuff around putting my own waterblock on it.

    Cinebench score was 1921 after a few runs... I am sure I could do better, but I'm happy with this OC as my hottest CPU temp has been 63C with the Intel Tweaker CPU stress test. Mind you, it is winter, and this is Hobart, so the delta is pretty good!
     
  16. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,556
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Nice looking rig.

    1921 seems a little low, I'm getting 1964 with the same settings, but 3200Mhz ram.

    What sucks if I update my older version of Realbench to the latest and that uses all AVX.
    So it's only testing at my AVX offsets, stupid me deleted the older version.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  17. Dr Jon

    Dr Jon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Hobart
    Yep, I think it is as well, but... I am not pushing it much really. AND I am not actually doing a heap of 'workstation' type stuff either - I mostly use it for dictation of reports, streaming music, gaming, and so on... but it's nice to have the horsepower ripping stuff, multi-tasking, etc!! Could I have gotten away with an AMD 1700 or 1800? likely so, but the RAM booted straight into XMP, the overclock was so simple, and it was just easy. The higher single/dual core speed was the main selling point really.
     
  18. Dr Jon

    Dr Jon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Hobart
    For info... Not huge scores, but I am using those AVX offsets - maybe that is not pushing the CPU that much either?


    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!


    ... AND just realised those screen clips are NOT when I was actually doing anything with the CPU either
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  19. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,556
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    All these are mine, 2008 was with 4.6Ghz/3Ghz overclock, just a little toasty with a H115i..
    The highlighted score in the screen shot is 4.5Ghz/3Ghz with Chrome open.
    http://imgur.com/H7v77Dr
     
  20. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,155
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Guys, what are you using to read vcore? Cpuz seems to be reading something else, no way its as low as its showing.

    :thumbup:
     

Share This Page