Intel Skylake-X/Kabylake-X (LGA2066) and X299 Chipset Discussion

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Court Jester, Jun 19, 2017.

  1. trippinonprozac

    trippinonprozac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Noice! B-die? What voltage?
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,629
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    these aint no ryzens :lol:
     
  3. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,370
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    RGB Trident Z 3466 @ 1.5v

    Nah man, but TR looks like fun in a different way too.

    :thumbup:
     
  4. MoonSha

    MoonSha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Been doing heaps of testing over the last week with my 7800x and ASUS TUF mk1, make sure you're all doing lots of benchmarks along with stress testing, the x299 platform (mobo/cpu) phantom throttles under all kinds of situations and it's currently impossible to tell it's happening unless you're watching total system power usage like a hawk and monitoring benchmark scores while testing.

    For example it's very easy to think you have an amazing overclock with little heat until you actually benchmark it and discover your scores are all lower than previously. These overclocks won't error in stress tests but you'll notice the reduced heat and power usage.

    It seems phantom throttling occurs in situations where requested power isn't available. Input voltage (VCCIN) dropping below ~1.8v (I think this puts more AMP load on the VRM). Increasing LLC bolsters input voltage and a resulting surge in heat and power usage brings scores back in line. However I'm not sure how much input voltage is TOO much and if going beyond 1.85 is simply increasing heat/power without actual work increasing. My board sets an input voltage of 1.97 under load by default which seemed needlessly high. Aero tracks OC Guide @ hardwareluxx recommends maintaining 1.85-1.9 which since doing I've not noticed any more phantom throttling.

    My current WIP stable setup is:
    7800x 4.6 All core @ 1.18v seeing about 82 degrees OCCT linpack non-avx under a fractal s36 on silent
    3.2 mesh @ .18 offset (no idea what voltage this is as no program will tell me)
    3400mhz RAM c161T

    Results:
    Cinebench: 1500 (310W at the wall during test)
    CPUZ Bench: 536/4000 (Stress score 4036 @ 285W at the wall)

    TLDR
    - Use Cinebench/CPUZ Bench to monitor work done when overclocking to detect phantom throttling
    - VCCIN should not be allowed to drop below 1.8 under load (maybe 1.85)

    I'm interested to know what kind of @wall power usage you're seeing under cinebench and cpuz stress loads. My PSU isn't efficiency rated and I'm measuring after a power smoother (adds 10w and has its own efficiency) so my numbers will be a little high
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2017
  5. trippinonprozac

    trippinonprozac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    I have a wall tester so might pull it out today and see what I’m pulling. I have my input voltage set to 1.8v. I’m fully stable but don’t see limits scalping when overclocking higher. I wonder if it is because of me limiting the input voltage? Might set to 1.85v and check it out.
     
  6. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I've had my VCCIN at 1.95v with a LLC of 4, gives me about 1.902v during heavy load.
    Leaving it at Auto gives me a VCCIN of 2.0v, that's a little high (TUF Mark 1).

    Haven't seen any Phantom throttling myself, total power draw is around 480w during realbench, doesn't drop much through the whole run..

    I finally got 4.6Ghz@1.190 (AVX offsets of -6), seems stable, temps max out at 84c (CPU Package) during Prime95 on avx Small fft run.
    Around 68c during gaming etc.
     
  7. MoonSha

    MoonSha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Are you able to see CPU wattage in any software? Closest I get is siv64 which I think is just an estimation.
     
  8. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I can see PSU wattage thanks to the Corsair H850i, so it tells me total system power draw.

    This is just a quick run of Realbench, I reset the values after I start a test so I know if there's any huge drops.

    Click to view full size!
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,629
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    MY CPU wattage is 220-240w @ 5.05ghz @ 1.32v I have backed it a little back from the below screen shots.
    stock mesh speeds
    3200mhz RAM.

    Can under a custom loop with 1 gtx 1080ti in the loop and 2 x 40mm x 360 rads one in push pull config fans on full for those screens and the GPU idle. water temps @ 36 degreese

    I backed it back as I have the fans on low speeds normally so they are silent and with the GPU under 100% load it got too hot for my liking im happy with 5.05ghz 100% stable.


    I might try ocing the mesh and ram soon

    CPUZ

    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!


    cinebench


    Click to view full size!
     
  10. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Asus have this going now:

    ASUS X299 SERIES BUNDLE PROMOTION
    Get a bonus ROG gaming mouse when you purchase ASUS selected motherboard and graphics card!

    Promotion period: 19th August 2017 to 30th September 2017.
    http://www.asuspromotion.net/anz/free-mouse/

    Talk about screwing early adopters.
    I bought the TUF and a GTX1080ti Strix the same day. :thumbdn:
     
  11. trippinonprozac

    trippinonprozac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    351


    Wonder if you can show proof of purchase and redeem?
     
  12. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I just tried so lets see..

    It's bullshit if they don't seeing I bought 2 expensive Asus items.

    According to the website I should get a Pugio
    Needed a new mouse my Corsair M65 is dying. :lol:
     
  13. MoonSha

    MoonSha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    I suspect you're phantom throttling, I'd expect higher scores from that clock speed unless the cache is holding the scores back

     
  14. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,843
    Location:
    Melbourne
  15. OP
    OP
    Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,629
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    its not throttling

    and still its 50% faster than the fastest failzen in single core and 2% behind multi core.
     
  16. trippinonprozac

    trippinonprozac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Dude, you need to let up on the whole Ryzen thing. We know your opinion as you have pasted it all over the AMD forum.
     
  17. trippinonprozac

    trippinonprozac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    I’ll post up some cinebench and cpuz benches in about 30 mine then play with the cache and see what results I get.
     
  18. trippinonprozac

    trippinonprozac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Here are some results from both CPUZ & Cinebench.

    CPU - 4.7ghz
    Cache - 3.2ghz
    RAM - 3600mhz 14-15-15 32 1T

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2017
  19. trippinonprozac

    trippinonprozac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    351

    Are you able to run a NON comparison run so we can see scores rather than percentage? I just want to see what your single thread score is at that clock rate.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,629
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    sure here are some new pics


    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: