Intel Skylake-X/Kabylake-X (LGA2066) and X299 Chipset Discussion

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Court Jester, Jun 19, 2017.

  1. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    im thinking the 7920X personally, 12 cores @ 4.5Ghz+ sounds good too me.

    did read the 18 core XE edition has already been seen overclocked to 4.8Ghz on all cores. thats crazy!
     
  2. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah,Ive used the ocf boards on most gens,they OC really well...easy bios

    I have the z270 apex too,great board...is why Im considering the 299 apex



    Nice Scum :thumbup:
     
  3. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,166
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Yeah I think if I was buying again I would get this too, with an Apex.

    There go all the 3Dmark records again ... :lol:

    Why the cheap option there John? :lol:

    :thumbup: :thumbup:
     
  4. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Rampage VI Apex seems to be a very good board. I haven't stressed my CPU at all but did some basic Cinebench and CPU runs, and must say on a simple Corsair H80iv2, the result looks pretty good for a 7820x.

    [​IMG]

    The single core results are so impressive ! To think that I am getting these single core results of 195 to 198 in an octa core processor is mind blowing. And it is not that I overclocked the processor at all in real sense, just selected sync all the cores to run all cores at same speed instead of 2 cores peaking at 4.5 Ghz and run the XMP profile of 3000 Mhz on my RAM kit. Pretty damn happy I must say. Have to do some stress testing later on if I get some time, allthough with only a H80i v2 AIO cooler, don't think I will like the temps :D ! May be I will park the stress testing for now at all till I get my custom loop going ! I have run some games like Quantum Break and Doom 4 and they run fine with temp in the 50s.
     
  5. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,558
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Around the same as mine, though I have 3200Mhz ram and a 4.7Ghz overclock.
    7820x/TUF Mark 1

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!
     
  6. AFireInside

    AFireInside Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I got pretty much the same results on the Asus Strix with my 7820X. Easily does 4.6Ghz at 1.25v with decent temps. Can even do 4.8Ghz stable at 1.275v but the temps get too hot for my H110i to handle, goes over 100c after a few minutes. Think delidding would fix that but not sure I want to risk it...
     
  7. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Impressive numbers supersize and AFireInside. 7820x is no doubt a great processor. However I must say when I tried running Realbench with my H80i V2 AIO cooler, temps got too high within minutes even in performance mode and couple of cores touched 100, stopped it instantly. It looks to me one 120mm RAD is not enough to tame this beast :(. Luckily, H80iV2 is just a temp solutiontill I get my new case - Cosmos C700P - so that I can do a proper custom loop in it.
     
  8. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just picked up my x299 apex and i9 7900X, let the fun begin!
     
  9. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,166
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Not wanting a 7920x?

    :thumbup:
     
  10. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah, but couldnt wait, no where has stock of them until next week.

    only got 1 8pin cpu connected (apex has 2), as the Corsair RM1000i only comes with 1 x 8pin cpu power, which is sillly.

    i do have a seasonic xp1050w sitting around brand new in box, but really cant be bothered changing PSU!
     
  11. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,166
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Is that your old ram in the sig or did you get something else?

    :thumbup:
     
  12. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    these were glen23s kits 2 kits, 2x8gb 4400c19..

    he listed them for sale on here a week ago, and when i decided to sell x99 and get x299, thought id get some faster mems, and that my 64gb kit was worth a buttload, that 64gb 3200 c14 kit is $925 new on newegg.
     
  13. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,166
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Cool, do they run 4400 on the 7900?

    :thumbup:
     
  14. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    tbh, updated the sig early, haha, picking up the kits tonight at 10.30pm from glen23, and then off to kelvins house at 11pm to drop off the 3200 c14s

    glenn had them running 4000c16 with his 7800X, so will see what i can get them up too with the 7900x

    currently have 4x8gb 3200 c14 with the 7900x

    Im currently in windows at 4.7Ghz, -3 offset avx and -5 512 avx at 1.237V

    Im just using the volts/settings silicon lottery has on their website for their 7900x. tried 4.8 @ 1.25V and didnt boot.

    dropped back to 4.7 1.237V it boots. idle temps @ 23, just did XTU, got a pass, score 3025, mems just at 2133 for now.

    max temp i got running XTU @ 4.7Ghz 1.237V was 72 degrees, this cpu is retail and not delidded, i will be delidding at some point.

    so far so good. BATCH = L716B369

    WC is Phanteks Glacier CPU Block (same block as i used on x99, didnt need to pull apart my watercooling to move from 5960x/r5e10 to 7900x/apex (i know the am4 crosshair is call baymax, and the x299 apex is a rampage apex, dont think it would be cool calling it the 'Rapex' eventhough it does destroy in many way.
    2 x 360mm EK XE Radiators in PUSH only with TT RGB Fans.

    screenshot below of XTU pass

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
  15. AFireInside

    AFireInside Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's weird, my RM1000i came with 2x 8pin connectors
     
  16. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,558
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I didn't see this mentioned before, but have you set a AVX offset?
    The reason my temps/voltages are low (4.7Ghz@1.190v) is because I have a AVX/AVX512 offset of 4Ghz.

    If you set a offset Realbench 2.44 is the best version to use because it's not AVX reliant like Realbench 2.54, same with Prime95, use 26.6.
    Really you only the higher clocks for gaming, any encoding etc 4Ghz is perfectly fine.

    Oh I should of mentioned that I have my mesh at 3Ghz too without touching the mesh voltages :thumbup:
     
  17. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Mine is the white rm1000i oem that came with white sleeved cables in a plain oem box. Its not full retail like the others
     
  18. AFireInside

    AFireInside Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I had an AVX offset of -2 when I went to 4.7 and 4.8 as it wasn't stable without it but i knew it was stable at 4.6 but the temps were still too hot so i'm assuming it was the required voltage bump from 1.25 to 1.275 that is making it too hot

    Thought it might be the case I was going to buy that before i saw it didn't come with enough cables, you can get extras from cablemod pretty cheaply, I just got mine, just the $20USD shipping that hurts a bit
     
  19. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just chucked the 4x8GB TridentZ 4400 C19 into the rampage apex, lets see how high i can get them on the 7900X

    Glenn23 has had them running at 4000 c16 with his 7800X, will see how it goes.

    Yea i bought it too match my white caselabs s8, but its currently in the black s8 with the x299.

    I have an XP1050w platinum new in box that im trying to sell, however may just end up putting back into the x299 rig, as having no bites @ $300, when its brand new in box and its a $379 psu new!

    ive had a look everywhere for cables, cant seem to buy them individually anywhere, will have to buy a basic cablemod set which will set me back $89 at pccg, just to get one cable.

    and the thing with the RMi/RMx series, they use different cables to the AXi/HXi/RM series, so cables are even harder to come by, as for someone to have a spare 8pin, they would need to own an RMi/RMx PSU, the original RM and all AXi/HXi ones are no good.
     
  20. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    I am using Realbench 2.43. But indeed I did not think of the AVX offest before. I will set them to -5 each so that I get 4 GHz and see how it goes. Thanks Supersize :).
     

Share This Page