Intel's 32nm Clarkdale CPUs moved up to Q4, a full year ahead of AMD?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    [​IMG]
    http://www.digitimes.com/news/a20090629PD207.html

    [​IMG]

    Joint feature on all of the models is a single-die 32nm Clarkdale core with 64KB of L1 cache and 4MB of L2 cache memory. This silicon die is paired with the 45nm iGFX core on the same organic substrate. Yes, the very same Intel graphics core that's been criticized for years for its inept performance and doubtful compatibility. But with Intel clocking the core to as high as 900 MHz it will be interesting to see can a clock-upping strategy work and make a semi-decent performer or not.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  2. BlackSniper87

    BlackSniper87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,848
    Location:
    Hamilton, Brisbane
    intels looking good still. Will be interesting to know the gains in performance of the new model.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    What interests me is how the market will take processors with dual cores compared to quad core offerings. Roadmaps show no quad core processors when 32nm comes around :S
     
  4. BlackSniper87

    BlackSniper87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,848
    Location:
    Hamilton, Brisbane
    now that you mention it yes that is very weird. Well I hope they do produce the quad cores at 32nm by end of year.
     
  5. robbo2

    robbo2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,493
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I was wondering that aswell. Would have thought 6 cores possibly 8 would be the next step. I'm wondering what the integrated graphics will be. Larrabee perhaps?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Well 6 core will be the next step for enthusiasts on 32nm.

    This should clear some things up:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. El Jay

    El Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm fairly sure Larrabee will be roughly the same size as a standard graphics card, so it is far too big to fit on a cpu die. I'd assume that it would be a variation of their latest GMA chipset. What I'm interested in is the gains/losses (like OC capability, performance, etc.) associated with moving the integrated graphics on die in relation to the overall cost.
     
  8. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    The real questions for me are:

    a. how do these overclock? Based on the Core and I7 45nm chips, these should overclock well past 4 GHz.

    b. Will Intel limit overclocking somehow

    c. What about Turbo Mode (multi overclocking for single threaded applications)...

    d. Will there be a budget chipset / mainboard design? Or is it sharing the mainstream platform (P55)

    For gaming these 32nm dual cores could still come out on top vs. quads.
     
  9. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    New 32nm process. Yields might not be that great for quads yet....
     
  10. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Too early to know. We only recently found some screenshots of the design of the die.

    I don't see why they would, and haven't really with current processors.

    It may be something we see in future processors to boost single threaded application performance.

    They of course will, they want to take every price point in the market...as always.
     
  11. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    For PC Gaming I believe these chips will still be the way to go (vs. quad or 6 core)...
     
  12. Deja Vu

    Deja Vu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I hope there's a 4c-8T on 32nm. I'd be looking for another 4c for my next upgrade, and I'd rather not be forced into the choice between a 6c and a 2c


    The 45nm process changes for both intel and AMD were quite interesting, Intel used double patterning for its masking process, and AMD went with immersion lithography.
    For 32nm AMD and intel will each (probably) be using both techniques, and will probably stay similar for 22nm.

    What I can't wait for is to see the first mass production 15/16nm process, we should be running into funky quantum tunnelling issues at that point, and its possibly the last traditional process size we will ever get. We're still about 10 years away from that point (depending on who you talk to could be 5 years away), but I'd really like to see how microprocessor technology advances after that point
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2009
  13. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,877
    Location:
    Sydney
    Agreed. Clarkdale is very likely going to be using an improved version of the GMA line. Rumours have said its twice 3D performance of existing GMA 4500. (Take it with a grain of salt for now)...I'm guessing it'll be like having a GF8400 G/GS performance...Better than before, but will be behind ATI/Nvidia's IGPs.

    Larrabee itself is scalable. That is, one can vary the number of x86 cores as needed. Six cores at 1.0 to 1.4Ghz should be sufficient to provide similar performance for the IGP market. (The discrete graphics version is something like 24 cores at 2.0Ghz).

    The mainstream version of "Sandy Bridge" (next generation) *could* be using Larrabee technology.
     
  14. Pianist

    Pianist Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    yeah things get interesting then. Maybe theyll find new improved wafer materials to lower heat dissipation. how LONG do we have to wait for 10ghz+. Or will quantum/optical computing methods break through then. (facts of up to 1000 times faster in theory)
     
  15. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Some recent info had come to light that in 2010 we should see quads on 32nm. But i'm not sure it will be on this nehalem based architecture (aka 32nm shrink, codename westmere), but a new one called sandy bridge. With sandy bridge intel will introduce a new micro architecture.

    This may help with the codenames:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2009
  16. Pianist

    Pianist Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    lol they look like bullets^

    I like most people thought that theyd follow the tick tock method thingy they do. Where one of them is a new architecture then die shrink etc. Weve had the new architecture for i7 quads now wed think it will be a die shrink. Going 32nm AND a new architecture for quads would be strange.
     
  17. Digit

    Digit Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Sydney
    Looks like amd has a tough year ahead of them. But that means intels mad prices will shine a bit.

    But i'm unsure about this onboard graphics thing
     
  18. bazadilligaf

    bazadilligaf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    East Brisbane
    2 Years> Sandy Bridge :lol:

    Would that be the first out of field Codename since Northwood?

    I liked it too :thumbup:
     
  19. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
  20. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    Should think so (with the requisite BIOS update). No real reason for them not to work. Obviously the on-die graphics aren't really useful on a P55 board.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: