Internet has been unresponsive, games lagging online. Speedtest says net is good. Any ideas?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by dANiel_, Aug 6, 2019.

  1. dANiel_

    dANiel_ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Hey guys, am pretty desperate if anyone could throw me a bone and give me some tips.
    My internet has been pretty unresponsive as of late. Only started maybe a week ago.
    When I click youtube clips, it takes several seconds to start up.
    If i browse websites, the page takes a few seconds to load, and dropsdowns are sometimes blank, before they load.
    The main issue is in most games I have been lagging.
    SPeed test says I am 10ms, 100mbps dl, 20mbps upload.

    I am connected to ethernet to the router/modem.
    My firewall is off.
    Network profile is private
    My power settings on max performance.
    My dns is 1.1.1.1.
    My vpn is uninstalled
    Game ports are open.
    my antivirus is uninstalled.
    Updates in background are off.
    My housemates netflix is on HD, not 4k.
    My torrents are off, my housemates torrents are never on.
    My NAS is currently off.
    Ive reset router and modem.
    Energy efficient ethernet is off

    Im pulling my hair out. any ideas ? Thanks for the time
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
  2. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    8,601
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    What browser are you using, and have you tried alternative browsers?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    dANiel_

    dANiel_ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Yeah same thing is happening
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,971
    Location:
    brisbane
    you say housemate, so is this happening on more than one machine?

    what if you use the IPS's DNS or a different provider such as google.
     
    supasaiyan likes this.
  5. evilasdeath

    evilasdeath Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,855
    have you tried a different device?

    try safe mode
     
  6. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ISPs are well known to prioritise traffic to common speed test sites to provide artificially good results. try reinstalling the VPN and see what happens via a local endpoint.

    what sort of connection are you using?
    who is the ISP?
    what have they said when you contacted them regarding your issue?
    what non-fragmenting MTU size can you get to a remote host?
     
  7. dimension11

    dimension11 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Minimise everything. Make sure that the computer's ports are working properly by running a local network traffic test like iperf. Once you've verified that the computer's ports are working, plug the computer directly into the modem (bypass the router) and try. If that's not OK then it's either the modem or the ISP, otherwise it's your network.
     
  8. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    8,582
    Location:
    Sydney
    USe your ISP's DNS.
     
  9. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,971
    Location:
    brisbane
    must be working fine now, OP is MIA.
     
  10. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,956
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    No it's just REALLY broken now :Pirate:
     
    Slug69, supasaiyan and power like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: