iPhone 3GS Replacement Screen

Discussion in 'Apple iOS (OS & Devices)' started by PodgeSSS, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. PodgeSSS

    PodgeSSS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    The Moon
    Anyone replaced a screen themselves ?

    Where was the best place to buy from ?

    TIA.
     
  2. dalien

    dalien Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Some where in Aus
    not sure. I smashed my iphone 4 screen yesterday. my phone is aout of warranty. aplle at doncaster replaced mine for free. might be worth trying them first.

    Gave me a new phone!
     
  3. JohnnoD

    JohnnoD Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I usually buy my screens/replacement parts from the US. I've fixed a few phones now. Is it just the glass or is it the digitizer too?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    PodgeSSS

    PodgeSSS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    The Moon
    Just the glass, do you have an ebay link or store you use ?

    It's an Iphone 3GS 8gb

    I found some but they say they only suit a 3GS 16gb or 32gb ??

    Thanks.
     
  5. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,015
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    easy to chage they sell them on ebay complete piece. Remove the facia and put on replacement

    very easy to do :thumbup:
     
  6. arytel

    arytel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Got a replacement front end from an Aus distributor which should arrive monday. I'll let you know how it goes.

    I've replaced the digitiser and glass before and considering the effort, for a few $ more I think the front end set me back $80 it willtake me 5mins to replace not 1hr.
     
  7. iMomOx3

    iMomOx3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,344
  8. OP
    OP
    PodgeSSS

    PodgeSSS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    The Moon
  9. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,015
    Location:
    Craigieburn
  10. gumdrops2006

    gumdrops2006 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Here's a tutorial on how to do it. :thumbup:

     
  11. KrAzEe

    KrAzEe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,433
    Location:
    2220
  12. OP
    OP
    PodgeSSS

    PodgeSSS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    The Moon
    So i wouldn't need to worry about the heat gun for that one Wookie ?

    shame about the delivery time.


    http://www.macfixit.com.au/shop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=955

    Shame it so much more expensive than ebay.
     
  13. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,015
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    No heat gun mate, stuff the heat gun crap its a waste of time dude and not worth the hassle.

    Its alot easier this way, within 10 min u have changed your whole front facia. I have one here that has a few scratches on it if screen you want to buy of me..:D. if your desperate anyways
     
  14. OP
    OP
    PodgeSSS

    PodgeSSS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    The Moon
    Yeah that's what i'm thinking no screwing around with heat guns for not much more, i just need next week or two, and worried about the shipping delay on that one, wondering if there is somewhere else i can get one from ?

    I really just need to very from facia, as it has scratches all over it, the actual LCD screen is fine.
     
  15. arytel

    arytel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    Adelaide
  16. roobarb

    roobarb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Whyalla S.A
    Bought 3g version of this screen, installed it and worked fine for about 4 days.
    Now touch screen does not work at all, tried reinstalling again/restore checked cables a few times still no joy. Any ideas ? thinking maybe dodgy screen ?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: