Is an Athlon X2 4600+ enough for 1080p playback?

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by benjagan91, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. benjagan91

    benjagan91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    QLD
    Hi guys.

    Is an Athlon X2 4600+ enough for 1080p playback? Socket Am2 if it matters. I'm just curious as to whether the CPU alone is powerful enough - without assistance by GPU offloading.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    yes

    what bitrate and codec?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    benjagan91

    benjagan91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    QLD
    Ahh no idea just random (legal) torrents. Have never bothered to check since my C2Q doesn't have issues regardless - but i might be using the 4600+ for a bit.
     
  4. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
  5. OP
    OP
    benjagan91

    benjagan91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    QLD
    Cool. Thanks for link :)

    It's quite interesting to see the ones that say 'not possible' since some people have run 1080p on their 3.Xghz Socket 478 systems. Anyways.

    Haha yes linux iso at 1080p :thumbup:
     
  6. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
    YMMV.

    I struggled to get 1080p consistently on the 4200+. Some 1080p content with lower bitrates was fine, but others struggled and dropped frames/lost sync. That said, codecs have improved significantly since I last tried, and you're talking about a slightly higher clock speed on the 4600+.

    Give it a crack anyway!
     
  7. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,814
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    all else fails, the cheapest video card at msy will decode 1080 in gpu.
     
  8. pongie

    pongie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,050
    Location:
    Sydney 2166
    I run everything fine on a x2 4400+
     
  9. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,814
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    i do 1080p with a 2.6ghz celeron (netburst), thanks to the cheapo video card :)
     
  10. jamieyn

    jamieyn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Overclocked x2 3800+ to 2.5Ghz -so similar to your X2 4600+ > runs all 1080p fine with an ATI 4550 and GPU offloading.

    ATI 5450 passive cards are under $40
     
  11. armbarcrash

    armbarcrash Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    It's close in spec (so worth mentioning), but I've run straight rips of my own HD-DVD's at 1080p on a X2 5000, 2GB DDR2-800 and a 3450.

    No problems at all.
     
  12. Ethan W

    Ethan W Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,744
    Location:
    NSW, 2155
    Plus, if you have a passive GPU, the whole system is going to run quieter than CPU-only.
     
  13. OpTiC Moose

    OpTiC Moose Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Queensland - Rockhampton
    x2 3800 on my media pc. GeForce 6600 GT video card (ancient). It plays some 1080p OK but not all. 720 is no sweat. Thinking of getting a cheap ass video card or a zacate mini pc :) Not decided which way to go yet. I'm leaning to the later because ill be able to sneak in a few ssd's past the missus.
     
  14. jamieyn

    jamieyn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Melbourne
    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=193_877&products_id=15184

    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=193_877&products_id=16655

    http://www.netplus.com.au/product/VD5/VDAT5450/Graphics-Card/ATI-Radeon-HD5450-512Mb-DDR2-16X-PCI-E-DVI-HDCP-HDTV-HDMI-5450-LOW-Profile-Bracket-Inc


    I've had great success with the last card in 2 media centre builds for friends - cheap, silent, easy to scale the HDMI output to fit the whole screen, and the HDMI audio output is very convenient.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: