Is anyone out there using the Telstra Smart Modem - Model Arcadyan LH1000

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by d-dave-b, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. d-dave-b

    d-dave-b Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    I just have a question for anyone who's using this model. If you're using it can you please log in to the modem locally and check the log in advanced settings.

    My Log has my modem constantly connecting and disconnecting with the following info (I have starred out the Mac Addresses.

    15.06.2019 11:04:32 WiFi_Booster-(mymodem)IF[5G]**:**:**:**:**:**):STA(**:**:**:**:**:**) disconnected.
    15.06.2019 11:04:47 WiFi_Booster-(mymodem)IF[5G](**:**:**:**:**:**:**):STA(**:**:**:**:**:**) connected.

    I'm having some connectivity/dropout issues while streaming from the internet and trying to figure out if this is normal behaviour for this model.

    I know it's probably not the right place to ask this but I thought I'd see if anyone here can help first before I go to Telstra tech support.
     
  2. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    Frankston
    They are pretty terrible from experience, but that’s just encountering a few at clients houses. Regularly outperformed by 10+ year old Telstra cable modems
     
  3. money_killer

    money_killer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Tried a hard reset
     
  4. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,471
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
    First thing I usually do is replace them twith a Mikrotik Hex, add Unifi for wifi, and plug it in from one of the Hex ports if the phone is needed.

    They are an absolute horrific piece of shit.

    Z...
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2019
  5. OP
    OP
    d-dave-b

    d-dave-b Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    This is sarcasm right?

    Nuts. That’s really not cool to hear. Do Telstra have other options or is this all they’re using at the moment?
     
  6. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,471
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
    I'll put it this way - got sick of wasting time on jobs that don't work properly due Telstra routers. My field is home automation, and it's very network reliant these days. Those routers simply can't be trusted. Luckily, Mikrotik HeX routers are literally plug and play when it comes to the cablenNBN HFC gateway boxes. they are $100, and are the most stable routers I've ever used. I'm sure the proper network guys will give you examples of better routers, but nowhere near the ~$100 price tag.

    A Unifi AP AC xxx (choose the model of your desire) will finish it off with decent and solid wifi. My home system has been running without a reboot for over 3 years. Oh, and changes are applied on the fly with Mikrotik - no pesky reboot when changing IP ranges, ip address reservations etc.

    Z...
     
  7. Vo0do0

    Vo0do0 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I second that.
    Ours is sitting on the shelf not plugged in and has been replaced with a Ubiquiti USG. If our internet goes down for any great length of time (scheduled maintenence etc) i will plug it in for the 4G fall back, other than that it doesn't go near our home network.
    Regarding the Modem, how long have you had it/been connected? .. from what i read really quickly there has been several updates to the firmware to fix stability issues, it looks as tho 0.07.05r is the current version. You cannot manually update them yourself, you have to wait for Telstra to update it from their end. Also there is no way to trigger it .. if you check your logs you may find several entries for TR-069 managment. Usually if these are in the logs from memory there's a brief interruption of service and a firmware transfer is done ..

    The wifi booster thing is a Telstra thing - i remember seeing that in the menus of the modem, i never used the wifi on the box, i turned both 2.4 and 5ghz radios OFF and used external wifi. (Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR)

    "Do Telstra have other options or is this all they’re using at the moment?"
    They have another model of Smart Modem from memory i believe its the same thing just instead of Arcadyan its Technicolor

    As others have mentioned above, it really is a P.O.S. - There is one thing its probably really good at .. -- being a doorstop on the computer room floor. :)

    Save yourself some grief and replace it.

    Goodluck
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  8. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,146
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I would not use one myself at the moment. potentially there may be a firmware fix in the future.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: