Is Dr Google keeping you employed ?

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Syklone222, Jun 13, 2015.

1. Syklone222

Syklone222 Member

Hi forum dwellers,

I am curious if there is an ongoing trend in the IT sector from staff/end users become experts and using Dr Google to 'fix' things and thus, making a simple issue, more complex or worse, just fucked (or fucking annoying).

While I am a field tech who focus's on Desktop/Laptops and all ye Windows SOE in business areas (I am not a fan of ma pa work - I leave that for harvey norman), I find that my extra workload comes from people who Dr Google something and then add to my day.

Examples are;

- "hi tech support, I just read on Google that Excel has a hidden game in it that I can play, can you show me how to play it (during work hours)"

- "Hi tech support, I read on google that we can speed XYZ up by editing the registry. Can I have access to edit the registry of the accounts computers."

And so on, but then I also get the add ons where its a personal laptop/PC that the user has at home to use when 'working from home' and they decided to Dr Google and fuck things over worse.

I know this is a grey area as we need staff working, whether at the office or at home and we try to stay well away from it too, but its amazing at what people google, and then decide that "Yep thats the answer for me" and the end result is, why does my webpage redirect to a Russian search engine / dating site? Or it was working fine and now it doesn't boot up. or some other thing.

With users becoming more IT aware, is it also becoming more common for them to try to self help and create a worse outcome, than asking for help?

Anyone here have similar issues or noticed it sometimes become more evident on a given day? Share away.

2. NSanity

NSanity Member

Most users are useless in my experience when it comes to wrangling the google search terms to do what they want.

3. scrantic

scrantic Member