Is it possible to download a steam game on my laptop at work then transfer to home rig?

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by lawrencep93, Nov 18, 2017.

  1. lawrencep93

    lawrencep93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,791
    Location:
    Melborne, VIC
    Is it possible to use the internet at work to download a game via steam then copy it to my PC at home?

    I want to download 2-3 games so around 100GB which will take 1 week on my connection at home but I have 100Mbps internet at work, so was going to leave my laptop there and download outside work hours over night then bring my laptop home the next day or put the content on my external drive.

    Is there a way to do this?
     
  2. Rubberband

    Rubberband Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,252
    Location:
    Doreen
    Yes, just copy the files over into the same folder on your PC, install the game and it should find the files and complete the install.

    If it doesn't work, delete the install from your PC and re-add.

    However, there are a couple of online games I have found which will insist you download them.
     
  3. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    Ask your boss / IT department
     
  4. OP
    OP
    lawrencep93

    lawrencep93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,791
    Location:
    Melborne, VIC
    I am the CTO, I set up everything there and am part owner of the business
     
    Rubberband likes this.
  5. Pinkeh

    Pinkeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    10,578
    Location:
    Sydney
    usually u can just copy the whole game directory and then overwrite it in the same location at home, and then run a check on local files/cache to bridge the missing links/files
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
    lawrencep93 and ni9ht_5ta1k3r like this.
  6. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    31,413
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Same for uPlay and Origin really.
     
  7. Penfold

    Penfold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    261
    You can usually just copy it from the "/Games/Steam/Steamapps/Common" folder to the equivalent folder on the other PC. The other way you can do it is to just right click on the game & select steam "Backup Game Files ..." then copy this to the other pc.
     
    lawrencep93 likes this.
  8. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,444
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Has Origin fixed theirs so it works now?
    Used to be it would only work for about 1/2 the games
     
  9. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    31,413
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    All you do for origin is copy the game files into the specified directory and reinstall it. it'll skip the download process and just go straight to installing.

    Uplay has an option to let it detect if the game files exist.
     
  10. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,444
    Location:
    Adelaide
    in theory... last time i tried, like i said it only worked for about 1/2 of them.. had to download heaps when i last did windows...
     
  11. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    31,413
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Most of the games I've tried worked like BF4, Titanfall 2, Mirror's Edge Catalyst. So it could be the more higher tier games I guess.
     
  12. metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    ? That is NOT the way you do this guys...

    Download the game, then backup from the file menu, choose external drive as location,
    when you get home, steam, file->restore game, choose the location, done.

    No need to do weird stuff.
     
    lawrencep93 likes this.
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    31,413
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Technically you can copy the game files and the manifest file if you get the right one.
     
    Wozzernux likes this.
  14. Wozzernux

    Wozzernux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Some Steam titles are really picky about Steam backups vs. direct folder copies, I had issues copying Doom (2016) between two machines where the Steam backup would install just fine, then the next time I opened Steam the bastard thing would start downloading all 68GB again :Paranoid:

    My solution for that was to find the appmanifest*.acf file (where * is the Steam appID of your game from the Steam Database), open it in Notepad and change the "StateFlags" value to 4 which tells Steam the game is fully installed and up to date.

    Relaunched Steam and Doom worked first go :D
     
  15. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Typical CTO believe just because they say it so it should be ok.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    lawrencep93

    lawrencep93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,791
    Location:
    Melborne, VIC
    If I am in charge of technology and make the policies who do I ask?

    If I ask the owner I will get a blank look and they will say it's your area do what you want
     
  17. AERO

    AERO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,209
    Location:
    corowa 2646 nsw
    and the fact you are *part owner of the business* part :) not like data is all that expensive anyway, hell if you were close to me id say bring the rig over and get leeching lol
     
  18. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    <SARCASM>Typical CTO believe just because they say it so it should be ok.</SARCASM> hope that helps.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    lawrencep93

    lawrencep93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,791
    Location:
    Melborne, VIC
    My bad early morning reading haha, I re read it and was like I'm such an idiot!

    But yeah unlimited links are the best. I would leech heaps but got to keep it legal at work obviously so steam games are a good one and I guess loading up netflix offline files for when I travel
     
  20. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    51,439
    Location:
    brisbane
    yes you can, it's easy to do. with a 100 line why bother doing it out of hours? you'd be surprised at how minimal the impact will be.
     

Share This Page