Japan To Get 1Gbps Home Fiber Connections

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by hate-xfiles, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. hate-xfiles

    hate-xfiles Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    3931
    One day downunder
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  2. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    9,619
    Location:
    Melbourne
    meh.

    there's simply no need for such a network. it's like being given a ferrari then being stuck in a traffic jam, what's the point?
     
  3. phreeky82

    phreeky82 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Townsville
    For typical internet, yes. But it opens the doorway to use the internet just like you would a LAN. Not much storage at home? Meh, setup a VPN and store your files on your mates server across the net.

    Firstly though, for us, I'd just like to see Aus getting at least 5Mb or so to each house (exceptionally regional cases aside etc) for a fair price.
     
  4. Drunkmunky

    Drunkmunky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Hobart
    Can Japan's backbone infrastructure actually support 1Gb connections to the home??? Certainly sounds like over kill to me =\
     
  5. MrSmoke

    MrSmoke Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,368
    Location:
    NSW, Blue Mtns NizzleBiX
    so they are getting 1gbps connections and i still only have 8000/384?
    ffs i cant even get adsl2. How much would a 3km cat6 cable cost so i can patch it in down in the next town that has it?

    but with more people uploading at this speed it SHOULD even out imo.
     
  6. phreeky82

    phreeky82 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Townsville
    Have you looked at the difference in population density?

    Plus all the required repeaters you'd need ;)

    While I'd love greater speeds myself, comparing us to Japan is like one extreme to the other. At least compare our service to Canada or something.
     
  7. dakiller

    dakiller (Oscillating & Impeding)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,729
    Location:
    Gippsland
    Doesn't their international links have very poor capacity? You might get 1Gbit in the country, but if you try to send data overseas, you'll only get half a Mbit at best, going out of Japan. Even I can saturate my 24mbit ADSL2 connection (sync@22.5) downloading some stuff from the US, I doubt I could do that easily in Japan
     
  8. ewok85

    ewok85 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,074
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    Err, we already have 1gbps to the home in Japan.

    The actual news is that KDDI is going to do it too, not that its new.

    No, it won't be able to handle this, Japanese BB infrastructure is already being pushed hard by bittorrent usage which has resulted in a number of Japanese companies creating limits to how much you can download and upload - still very high by Australian standards (15gb/day upload for me) but its not "unlimited".

    Whats this supposed to mean????

    Anyhow, the city I live in was lit up in 2006 - we have a population of 496,000 people in a 55km/2 area - thats about 8,900ppl/km/2. The best you can expect from Australia is around 3000ppl/km/2 in the densest parts of the CBD.

    Fiber connections are very, very expensive to setup - a typical new connection costs around $400-500 to setup here, and I'm sure the ISP pays more. If you really want speed like this in Australia you can get it where there is fiber laid down, you just pay megabucks for it.
     
  9. Lardman

    Lardman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,277
    Location:
    ACT 2607
    TransACT offer 10GBPS here in canberra.

    It costs an unholy shitload though.
    (Currently I believe schools are linkedf by 1GBPS)

    But yes, it is available.
     
  10. MaximusSmurf

    MaximusSmurf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's what I though. There was 1gbps fibre in the cities when I was over there 2 years ago. I lived out in the sticks and I still got 100mbps.

    Not sure how unneccessary it is.... I maxed the 100mbps connection out regularly (9-10mb/sec). That's not hitting anywhere near HDD speed limits. As long as you have multiple connections (ie torrents / dload manager) you should be able to still hit some pretty impressive speeds.

    Anyone got 1gbps at the moment? Whats the max speed you've hit?
     
  11. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    we are talking residenital, most carriers offer 10gE or stm-64 links
     
  12. Drunkmunky

    Drunkmunky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Hobart
    I doubt schools have 1gb connections... I don't even know any schools that have 100mbit connections anywhere in TAS, the Uni is the only possibility. Most high schools are on 10mbit connections and those generally aren't saturated.
     
  13. Dopefish

    Dopefish Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    State of confusion
    err they've already had them in kansai for ages.
    kansai power company provide it.
     
  14. JamalH

    JamalH Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,205
    Wish we could just get half of this here.
     
  15. anthony256

    anthony256 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    10,781
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Even if we did, we'd have ridiculously low limits per month. You'd want some insane monthly limit for that connection cos you'd be just getting what you want, when you want it.
     
  16. JamalH

    JamalH Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,205
    Yeah for sure, but even thats gotta be better than what we have.

    When it comes to our internet access we are really falling behind the rest of the world.
     
  17. jimboh2k

    jimboh2k Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Just shows the technological extremes though, we're still talking about FTTN and they've got FTTH.
     
  18. leighr

    leighr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Richmond, Melbourne
    But they've got the population densities that support that sort of infrastructure. According to wiki:
    Japan: 339 people/km2
    Australia: 2.6 people/km2

    So, if we assume an even population density (never going to happen, but makes the calculations simpler), if a Japanese telco cables up 1 square kilometre they have a potential 339 customers to try to recoup their investment cost. An Australian telco investing in the same coverage would have to try to get their money out of 2.6 people.

    I'd love to have gigabit to my home, but I'm realistic enough to not look at somewhere like Japan and then start complaining about what we have here.

    I'm really quite surprised that nobody has started blaming Telstra yet. :)

    Leigh.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  19. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    ok you asked or it.. it's telstras Fault.. Not...


    if anyones fault it is the Goverment and our lack of rooting that is at fault.. also lack of population in smaller towns to warrant "high" speed internet out there




    considering our population we have fairly good telco infrastructure.... i'm not saying it is the best but it is hardly the worst.

    ther eis at least one trail going on in SA at Mt barker of fibre to the node and home... it is a new estate so they can easily justifie the expense to see if it is viable for rollout else where
     
  20. Lei

    Lei Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,807
    4-8mbps unlimited ADSL for $60/month is all I want.

    :(
     

Share This Page