1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

just replacing my 4x 36g raptors with vr 300 x4 (speed test) day 30

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by issa2006, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    $1460 aus ? i need a another job, just got in in before tax time


    some speed results on a pci-e 1x high point card

    9550 (4g 800) all default xp pro


    1) single drive (quick) single drive

    [​IMG]
    quick test (read ahead=on/write cache=on/ncq=off)


    2) long test single drive

    [​IMG]
    long test (read ahead=on/write cache=on/ncq=off)


    3) quick test single drive (ncq on)

    [​IMG]
    quick test (read ahead=on/write cache=on/ncq=on)


    4) quick test single drive read ahead off + ncq off

    [​IMG]
    quick test (read ahead=off/write cache=on/ncq=off)


    5) raid 0 on (hp card 2300) hit a 180mb/sec limit on card?

    [​IMG]
    quick test raid 0(read ahead=on/write cache=on/ncq=on)


    [​IMG]
    turn off read ahead

    [​IMG]
    ncq off (read ahead on + write cache on)


    6) raid 5

    [​IMG]


    7) 2 + 3 hdd in raid 0 (180mb/sec bottleneck?

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    will try on intel x38 board as well


    :D:thumbup::p:leet:
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  2. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    best way to max out speed?

    any ideas (on x38 chipset)
     
  3. manabu

    manabu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    $1460 seems abit excessive to me? why dont you get em all from netplus with free freight? $1316 delivered
     
  4. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    i work at a pc shop (credit) warrenty no probs (act it was $1430), local inst replace if faulty etc...buy now pay later, and its 30/6/08 last day (tax)


    its late

    ill do a 2 and 3 hdd test on the hp card then try the inter raid?

    i wonder what it will to on a port multiplyer
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  5. Sniper

    Sniper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,679
    Location:
    Mid North SA
    will be interested in how they go on the X38 intel board.
     
  6. MetalPhreak

    MetalPhreak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    Perth
    PCIe x1 slot will be limiting your bandwidth to 180mb/s. Still beats the good old PCI bus with 133mb/s shared across all slots :tongue: Intel onboard raid should give you atleast 250mb/s. Proper full hardware raid would be even better :)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    migh go down that way ... depends on speed, trying to get 400+


    dream card (yes works with vista)?


    Mfgr's part number ARC-1231ML
    BUS (connection) 8X PCI-Express (PCI-E)
    Rated R/W Performance >850MB/s read / write, >1200MB/s burst
    Dimensions 98.4(H) x 237.5(L) mm
    Interface SATA and SAS (serial attached SCSI) capable
    Number of drives supported 12. 3 cables INCLUDED. 4 drives per cable.
    Unique feature(s) Fastest RAID controller we have tested with SSDS
    Operating System support Windows 2000/XP/Server 2003, Linux, FreeBSD, Novell Netware 6.5, Solaris 10 x86/x86_64, SCO UnixWare 7.x.x, Mac OS X
    Our benchmarks RAID benchmarks show MTRON SSD test results using this card (use drop-down box to select)
    Manufacturer's site link
    Manufacturer's PDF link
    Quantity Discount available No
    INVENTORY IN STOCK
    Warranty Manufacture's standard warranty
    * CLICK HERE FOR OUR PAYMENTS, AND RMA POLICY *

    http://www.areca.us/support/photo/ARC-1231MLs.jpg

    $799.00



    SATA CABLES INCLUDED--FREE!

    Cache RAM upgrade::
    Comes with 256MB. No extra [+US$0.00]
    Upgrade to 2GB [+US$120.00] yes better be error checking

    Onboard Backup Battery:
    (allows use of write-back cache feature;
    won't lose cached data during short power outage):
    Not included [+US$0.00]
    Backup Battery [+US$120.00] yes





    Cart supplied by King Cart Services
    get from us 1000 us (2000 here in australia)



    just for the reccord im going to try it in a pm sil box hooked up to a sil 3132 / jmb 363 pci-1 card
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
  8. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    res..

    done the test using a sil pm box + jmb363 + sil 3132 cards (using 1 channel) xpm +4 hdd/3/2/1 etc..will work on x38

    it seams pm run of these card are limited to 80-90mb/sec per channel



    [​IMG]
    jmb 363 on sil pm raid 0 4xhdd 300 vr64k size



    [​IMG]
    mb 363 on sil pm single 1xhdd 300 size quick


    [​IMG]
    sil 3132 on sil pm raid 0 4xhdd 300 vr64k size quick


    [​IMG]
    jmb 363 on sil pm raid 0 2xhdd 300 vr64k size quick



    [​IMG]
    jmb 363 on sil pm raid 0 3xhdd 300 vr64k size


    [​IMG]
    jmb 363 on sil pm raid 0 4xhdd 300 vr16k size
     
  9. 3five1

    3five1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Anywhere fast!
    Can't pull Ultra320 speeds then purchasing 4x seems a waste too me?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    need to try on the on-board raid, or go raid card x8
     
  11. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,794
    Location:
    Sydney
    dell perc 5/i for $100 does 300mb/s
     
  12. MetalPhreak

    MetalPhreak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    Perth
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Thats three WD6400AAKS drives with the first 100gb of each drive in raid0. Its being used as my OS drive which was folding etc when I did that test (hence the dropouts). If i can get 300+ mb/s from only 3 slower drives, surely 4 new VR drives can beat it :)
     
  13. scragley

    scragley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    Adelaide
    What raid controller are you using MetalPhreak?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    prob a intel chipset , it knocks up the burst...
     
  15. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    x38 tests

    just puuled out my 4x 36g raid (raid 0)



    set up the same " raid 0 4x hdd stripe 16k write back = on"

    [​IMG]
    x38 raid 0 16k long test 1 4 x hdd


    [​IMG]
    x38 raid 0 16k quick test 1 4 x hdd


    [​IMG]
    x38 raid 0 16k quick test no 2 4 x hdd


    2 quick tests diff results ... high cpu usage?



    will test other stripe + 3x 2x setups




    [​IMG]
    hd tune 2.55



    same test write back off...(quick/long) raid 0 = 4 hdd 16k stripe ncq on + read ahead on.



    [​IMG]
    long



    [​IMG]
    quick


    cpu usage is high???
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2008
  16. MoMaN69

    MoMaN69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    YouTube / Merrylands 2160
    do the raptors really make a differance, ive toyed with the idea of getting some for along time.
     
  17. MetalPhreak

    MetalPhreak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    Perth
    Yeah mine is setup on an intel ICH9R chipset. 100gb each drive in raid0, and the other 540gb as raid5. Turning Write Back Cache on improved the raid0 performance a bit, but the biggest increase was the raid5 write speed.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    more test 40+

    will get org


    [​IMG]
    raid 0 4x vr 80 g size write cache on x38 128k stripe long test



    [​IMG]
    raid 0 4x vr write cache off x38 128k stripe long test



    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    raid 0 4x vr write cache on x38 128k stripe test


    [​IMG]
    raid 0 4x vr write cache on x38 128k stripe quick test
     
  19. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    mul vol on the setup

    [​IMG]
    80g raid 0 mraid on hdd 128k stripe wback on long test



    [​IMG]
    835g raid 5 mraid on hdd 128k stripe wback on long test


    Need to test if raid 5 broken cn be rebuilt like this? ill test with 3 drive setup
     
  20. OP
    OP
    issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    jusr rebuild r5 on 3 hdd , very very slow

    humm if faild to rebuil, and the spare has disapired?

    more testing of plain raid 5
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2008

Share This Page

Advertisement: