Kaby Lake/Skylake Overclocking, Info, Delid Guide and Owners thread.

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by headin2001, Dec 31, 2016.

  1. AstinGC90

    AstinGC90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    FNQ
    Strange results with higher cache clocks, I ran 5.4Ghz/4.8Ghz but scored higher in Cinebench then Wraiths 5.2Ghz cache. I needed a voltage of 1.56v to get 5.4/4.8 to run stable. Why does a 600Mhz higher cache clock not result in any performance increase? Is it because my ram timings are tighter? Cas is 2 lower and tras is 1 lower?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mr_mordred2095

    mr_mordred2095 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,891
    Location:
    Brisbane
    1000mhz on cache is equiv to ~100mhz on core in terms of performance gain.
     
  3. mozmo

    mozmo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Sydney
    For those wanting to stress gaming clocks, I recommend using Crysis 3 and the sequence "welcome to the jungle" where you start out looking at the grass.

    I had tested stable at 5ghz@1.32v in prime/real bench/x264 etc, I could game great(BF1/Division) but as soon as I ran this stress test it would fail, I had to raise my voltage to 1.34v. I noticed this test really stresses your L3/memory, I found this test to be sensitive to the uncore setting and voltages.

    I've pretty much finalised on 24/7 clocks now.

    7700k with c states enabled.
    5.0 / 4.8 avx / 4.6 uncore @ 1.34v high LLC
    3466x4 1.35v
    VCCIO 1.2v
    VCCSA 1.15v
    VCCPLL 1.02v
    VCCPLL_OC 1.21v

    My temps peak at 85 degrees on air with a cryorig R1 universal, no delid. Still waiting to hear back from the place I returned my other dud cpu.
     
  4. wraith.50

    wraith.50 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    When I did that Cinebench pass, I had a lot of other things open and running in the background including my antivirus, as I ran it on my normal Windows install, not a streamlined version of Windows.

    Here is the score after not having the other apps open, but my antivirus is still active.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. AstinGC90

    AstinGC90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    FNQ
    So 600mhz extra on the cache equates to about 12 points increase, roughly, due to slight software and hardware differences. I'll be far less worried about cache clock in future :thumbup:
     
  6. wraith.50

    wraith.50 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    It's only a 400mhz cache difference not 600mhz. From what I have seen of other scores, 12 points in Cinebench is a considerable difference as it takes a lot to increase your score in it.

    Even going from 5.3ghz to 5.4ghz core frequency, is about a 20 point increase, so for the cache to add another 12 points is substantial for Cinebench.
     
  7. AstinGC90

    AstinGC90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    FNQ
    Wow, that's embarrassing :Paranoid:. 400mhz it is :thumbup:. I gained 97 points going from 5.3/4.8(1087) to 5.4/4.8(1184), That's why 10-20 points for a 400mhz jump on the cache clock didn't seem worth the effort.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. wraith.50

    wraith.50 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    7700k 5.3 core /48-49 cache in Cinebench, gives a score of about 1150-1160 not 1087.

    Even 5.2ghz gives an 1140 score. If you were getting 1087 for 5.3ghz, then there is something wrong with your setup.

    Cinebench score does not jump up by almost 100 points for a 100mhz core increase alone.
     
  9. AstinGC90

    AstinGC90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    FNQ
    It might have been the tightened ram timings then? Thanks for this info to mate, still learning here :thumbup:
     
  10. wraith.50

    wraith.50 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Yes tightening your ram timings does help your score. What timings were you running, do you have a screenshot of your timings ?

    I am just running my XMP default timings.
     
  11. AstinGC90

    AstinGC90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    FNQ
    In those screen shots you can see the timings in CPU z :)
     
  12. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    364
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2017
  13. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,220
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    how are you guys delidding these cpu???

    are you using some sort of delid tool???
     
  14. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,825
    Read back through the thread. Or at least try the first page.
     
  15. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,220
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Ah, thanks for that :o :thumbup:
     
  16. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,997
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Thanks guys regarding my mashed board.. this is what happens when you get careless, I have nobody to blame but myself.

    The DDC pump is part of an X3 combo. Its a few months old, gave no warning of its dying at all. I could probably RMA the whole thing but I CBF. I haven't tried firing it up since I removed it and put the D5 setup in there, I should probably investigate I guess.

    I still don't have any more Thermal Grizzly, waiting on stock at PCCG :thumbdn: but cooling isn't bad using my NTH1 on both inner and outer. I haven't seen temps hit 80 on any test, at any volts so far. That might change of course once I get a GPU back into the loop.. currently running a passive GT710 just to save a few resources on the CPU by avoiding IGP.

    I've resigned myself to the apparent fact that my chip is ok at 51x101, but thats about all I am going to get out of it. I need about 1.4V to achieve that, more volts doesn't help but also doesn't push temps up much at all. I've even tried a run at 1.52V, temps hit 78 on some cores but I just can't get past that 5150MHz wall. At 1.45V temps are in the high 60's and the machine is utterly stable at 5150MHz, regardless of what benchmark I throw at it and for how long.

    I'm thinking 50x100 @ 1.35v is going to be my 24/7 number, with temps in the 50's (Delta = ~25)

    I've heard that the liquid metal can actually make a difference even if you aren't having thermal problems though, so hey, when I can get some more I *might* get lucky and manage 5.2GHz I guess.

    I guess I'm disappointed when I see others hitting 5.3 and 5.4. OTOH, I have a 24/7 5GHz i7.. something I could have only dreamed about a year ago. On balance, I'm happy with my chip.

    Of course, I shall continue to try and tweak it as much as I can, see how fast I can make it go.

    Kaby has taken the world by surprise I think.. we all thought it would be another incremental jump but fuck these chips are good.
     
  17. MortarArt

    MortarArt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I print these tools for some people.
     
  18. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,997
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I bought one of MortarArts tools. Works very well.
     
  19. bennyg

    bennyg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Melbourne, Oztraya
    Seconded, the kaby lake version works fine on skylake too
     
  20. DNX

    DNX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Hobart
    Ordered a Silicon Lottery 7700k @ 5ghz + Delid yesterday to try out.
     

Share This Page