Kayls Xtreme Journey

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by kayl, Jan 12, 2005.

  1. OP
    OP
    kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth
    no biggy, but guys can we keeps prices out of threads please, best pm me for this stuff hey, its against forums rules and dont want to get my thread closed.
     
  2. Gaidin

    Gaidin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,952
    Location:
    Vic
    no worries, youre right mate. The sponsors here do a great job and wouldnt want to detract from them :thumbup:
     
  3. Stumbling Goat

    Stumbling Goat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Perth
    Corrrrrrect! :D

    I saw you at Live..

    You were pourin' pretty well.

    You need to work on that wrist action, though. Jokes :p

    In all fairness, i need enough money to afford to be able to lose a mobo before i sart with LN2/dice :D

    Goat
     
  4. OP
    OP
    kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth
    Filled the cascade last night, initial pull down the cascade pulls around 2000w from the mains both stages running. Once both stages are down to temp the meter flicks between 1277w and 1600w.
    First stage was filled with r290/r507 and a fair amount of r410a. Idle I got -51c on the second stage liquid line leaving the 20plate HX. Pressures were about 1Hg low and 230PSI high. At load the first stage was around -48c.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    When I turn on the load tester the cascade will run for 5mins or so and then the mains trips out at the power multi board. This happen 3 times before I decide to just slap it on the computer. It happened again soon as I loaded the PC, so I guess next run ill have to run an extension power cord and power the PC off a different mains circuit to the cascade :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2007
  5. Stumbling Goat

    Stumbling Goat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Perth
    HOLY *********************

    Thats like running an extra 2-3 computers!!!

    Man thats alot of power.

    Defintley not a permanent cooling solution.
     
  6. H[]R3NDUS

    H[]R3NDUS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    962
    It is if your Xtreme enuff...thats why he is getting this built.
    he dont wanna sit on the Pc to chat on msn just Crank those Cpu's
    Hori
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  7. tuchan

    tuchan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Nice Kayl very nice!
     
  8. Stumbling Goat

    Stumbling Goat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Perth

    Sif not =[

    Wonder how it would go for games?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth

    the next cascade im making is 24/7 cascade for a gamer :thumbup:
    1/2hp compressors though


    New tubes with the 2900 face ;)
    Also new cpu tube copper base slightly taller with added base surface area, and total length of tube reduced to 200mm.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. jebz

    jebz Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    969
    Location:
    brisbane
    :eek: I may have to revise my plans Kayl, that is looking phenomenal!
     
  11. Stumbling Goat

    Stumbling Goat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Perth
    Sorry, what are those tubes for??? Are they pots or evap heads...?

    Loving the surface area on them though!

    Let us know how the 24/7 gamer rig goes as you may have another order if it turns out well ;)

    Goat
     
  12. B@Aclownius

    B@Aclownius Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Hmm very nice looking :) I get more tempted daily :)
     
  13. OP
    OP
    kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth
    Goat these tubes are used with dry ice and Ln2.
    THey should work quiet well:thumbup:

    Interesting, these gigabyte mobos are turning off weaek cores as i push the MHZ on the QX6700.
    At around 4784Mhz Its running 3 cores. At 4850Mhz it started running just 2 cores.
    First hour cooler sat on -105c loaded then after that droops some time to-102c
    Vcore set in bios was 1.85 which droops to 1.76/1.74vcore at load with die temps at -72c on speedfan.

    Heres the lowest temp i have seen with pc off ;)

    [​IMG]


    Case loaded shot
    [​IMG]

    running 3cores.
    [​IMG]

    Insulation done
    [​IMG]
     
  14. OP
    OP
    kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth
    together

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Stumbling Goat

    Stumbling Goat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Perth
    Very nice.

    No Gfroster included???
     
  16. Goth

    Goth Grumpy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,228
    Location:
    /dev/null
    What about that big fat rectangular hole? I'm guessing something has to go there - maybe a controller?
     
  17. Gaidin

    Gaidin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,952
    Location:
    Vic
    display for the controller :thumbup:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth
    No controller for this unit, just a k-type temperature meter.

    Goth Gaidin is correct, when I had these cases made the gfroster controller was in the design process and was planned to come in a metal box. When the finally finished it, it only controlled the running of the cascade and not the pc. SO I just use a normal k-type gfroster controller to control the PC and do my own little tricks to control the cascade old fashion way.
    Ill stick a sheet of perspex in there much like I did with a previous cascade seen here
    http://img237.imageshack.us/my.php?i...sefrontzw9.jpg
    Just have to get around to getting some perspex now ;)
     
  19. youngpro

    youngpro Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451
    yeah as discussed with kayl i didnt want a gfroster controller in my unit, id rather control my own boot and monitor temps with a thermometer,

    unit looks great kayl, cant wait to get it home, should allow me to prepare for extreme benching sessions alot better, hopefully will push my qx9650 hard enough that i wont need ln2 on cpu most of the time ;)
     
  20. tuchan

    tuchan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    Adelaide
    ....and to add to that James, will make benching a lot easier and cheaper!!:thumbup: I can see you doing a lot of very late nite and through till the sun comes up with this unit! Heck you do that almost with Ln2:lol: I can't keep up mate lol
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: