keeps going to bios

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by fluxxr, Aug 8, 2019.

  1. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Found it. All the uefi options are on
     
  2. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,330
    Location:
    Sydney
    Try drive isolation. Have only 1 connected at a time. Sure, the non-OS drives won't boot, but the system will tell you that no OS detected (by design), as long as it gets past the BIOS then that route should help establish your OS drive may be faulty or corrupted.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Man just looking at new pc parts online. Sorry for the delay

    I only have one drive. A samsung 500g ssd
     
  4. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Maybe the pc maker put a partition in it. But still i pnly have one drive
     
  5. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,330
    Location:
    Sydney
    Partitions are an OS thing. BIOS sees only physical devices. Take a photo of your BIOS/boot config and paste them here.
     
  6. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
    Hey mate, sorry this has happened, it's a bugger when your primary rig isn't functioning.

    The BIOS indicates the 500GB SSD is there but the Windows Boot Manager is gone.
    Before you do anything, if you have access to another computer, pull the drive and back it up.

    We used to be able to press F8 to get to Windows boot troubleshooting but that is gone.
    I've had some luck getting to troubleshooting by forcing power off while it tries to load Windows.
    Around the third time you get to the Troubleshooting options, then you can repair the startup.
    If you can't get to the built in boot troubleshooter, then boot off a windows USB/CD and do a repair.
    If possible, now or later, separate your boot disk from your apps/data, either separate disks or separate partitions.
    Then you can always reinstall Windows with little impact.

    Once all is working again, clone the drive to a spare 500GB HDD and leave it in a drawer. Update the clone periodically.
     
  7. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    64,944
    Location:
    brisbane
    yeah there's something weird going on if the boot manager has dropped.
     
  8. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,330
    Location:
    Sydney
    MBR issue is the first thing I suggested ;)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Mama mia. So i should stop messing around and turn it off?

    Its my primary and only rig.

    How do i force power off when its loading windows? If i turn power of it goes off :)

    I have found my windows cd so thats nice
     
  10. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,330
    Location:
    Sydney
    You don't. You can potentially corrupt it.

    Can you show us a photo of your boot order in your BIOS?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Anyway i might put an add in wanted to buy. I actually planned to buy a new pc in the ebay sales but got distracted and waiting to see the max b450 boards to come in stock and fluctuations in gfx card prices when the supers came out.

    Currently just have i56600 750ti so not worth too much to stuff around with. I got an evga ps, 3600 ram and case. Perhaps i just buy a amd 2600 and board to tide me over.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    This is my boot order
    Sata6g_3: dvdram 282mb
    Sata6g_6: (evo ssd 476gb)
    Hard drive .. Of which i have none

    My screen actually went off so the pc went into some sort of hibernating. Pressing arrows and shaking mouse does nothing to wake.

    Cant take a pic but above is my current boot order
     
  13. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,039
    Location:
    South East QLD
    First boot order is usually "windows bootloader"

    Also make sure there is no disk in the actual drive
     
  14. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ok there was a cd. Just took it out.

    Yes the bootloader is gone.

    Shall i turn of pc at the back switch and try without the cd?

    That cd been in there for a year and had no effect on the boot previously
     
  15. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,039
    Location:
    South East QLD
    I've had music CD's stop computers booting back in the day. I'd change the boot order to have ssd at the top. If windows bootloader isn't showing it does sound like a uefi problem as previous posts suggested
     
  16. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,195
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Boot linux from USB stick, then do some diagnostics like ram and disk checks. Sounds like a bad drive.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thabks for the help guys. I decided to take a break from it and just turned it off. Ill look into how to do linux on usb. Also the windows boot too. Should i try to boot from windows before linux?
     
  18. OP
    OP
    fluxxr

    fluxxr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    Windows cd boot i mean
     
  19. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    64,944
    Location:
    brisbane
    which version of Windows is this?
     
  20. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,330
    Location:
    Sydney
    fluxxr
    No offence, but I think that every time you make a statement, you should start giving us more information of what you've acquired/discovered. We're 40 posts in, and IMO it's been a drip-feed resulting in not much progress. Too much detail is better than not enough.

    How precious to you is your existing OS install? Any recovery attempts you do from here has the potential of loss of data/wiping the disk.

    As I asked earlier, could you please upload a photo of your BIOS? All views, particularly your boot config.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: