Killzone 3 Officially RELEASED!! (3D + Move Support)

Discussion in 'Sony Consoles' started by The Beast, May 25, 2010.

  1. mrthong

    mrthong Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,579
    Location:
    Geelong, 3215.
    what the ? we've got celebrity on this forum! :D does that mean you know the ps4 release date?

    itll be sweet if you could sign my copy of KZ:SF!
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  2. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
    *blush* I'm no celeb, we have around 20 designers on this game.

    The release date I have is pretty much the same one they have told everyone else (summer 2013) so unfortunately I can't help you there.

    I'll happily sign anyones copy of the game though, but you must remember I am in Amsterdam :)
     
  3. Foliage

    Foliage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32,093
    Location:
    Sleepwithyourdadelaide
    Oh I mean of it crashing etc? I'm guessing a bunch of game modes eg dying/not getting into the flying thing in time weren't implemented or something?
     
  4. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
    the part at the end of the demo where he is hanging from the rope shooting at the Helghast in the dropoship, there is a bug that if you use all the ammo in your pistol clip without hitting the HGH then the game will crash. When demoingthe game there was 1 round left in the magazine so 1 more miss form the game crashing.

    I was a massive rush to get the game ready for the demo and that was one serious bug that slipped through.

    We could have used a pre-recorded video of play of course but it was thought that if the game crashed at least it would clearly prove it wasn't a video.
     
  5. AMD64

    AMD64 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,982
    Location:
    NSW
    Just out of interest are all the assets final, nice work on the 1920x1080P btw :) is the framerate solid atm?.
     
  6. Foliage

    Foliage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32,093
    Location:
    Sleepwithyourdadelaide
    Also what is the reasoning behind being PS only title? This would rival crysis if releases on PC/xbox, the graphics and setting looks absolutely incredible.

    Any good reason why the investment to port wouldn't pay off?

    Cheers for your inside info btw, always interesting to hear.
     
  7. AMD64

    AMD64 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,982
    Location:
    NSW
    GG have been owned by Sony since 2005.
     
  8. Wink

    Wink Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    12,131
    Location:
    Hills District NSW
    Can't wait for KZ:SF

    Like I said before..
    But I hope they improved on the story
    By the end of KZ3 I really hated playing as the 'good' guys... The Helghast are a much more interesting mob.
    Kinda like in Star Wars, playing for the Empire is really fun (e.g. TIE Fighter)

    The MWNN: Glad you are here to give us 'insider' info on the game, it's really one of my favourite franchises of all time.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  9. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
    The demo shown has been dominating the attention of most of the team so the rest of the game doesn't yet look nearly as nice but some parts are quite close. Framerate is solid at 30fps but it took a lot of optimization work to make that so. Things will only get better now as the engine is increasingly optimised to take better advantage of the hardware.

    Now that the demo is done we can concentrate on the rest of the game thankfully.

    The demo is a bit cut out from one of the levels from the game so everyone will get to play it eventually.
     
  10. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    So, the game will be running at 30fps minimum when released?
     
  11. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
  12. MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    back to kz3 - just started playing it from my pile, and cant get online or even into the game with the 1.14 patch. needed to delete it and not install it when asked, to get single player working.

    anyone know when this will get fixed? i wanat some multiplayer action, and i'm not buying the standalone MP
     
  13. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
    Is your ps3 firmware up to date?

    I don't think your problem is common, give me some more details and I'll ask the coders if they are aware of the problem.
     
  14. MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Firmware is definitely up to date. Every other multiplayer game works.

    The problem is common, it's all over the kill zone forums etc etc.

    http://community.killzone.com/t5/Killzone-3-PS3/Patch-1-14-freezing-issues/td-p/1351164

    GG knows about it, but nothing has been done.

    You install the 1.14 patch and it installs fine. When the disc loads, you get the Move information, then the screen goes black. You can't do anything, only reset the ps3 and then it asks to do a database check to make sure it's still working.

    The only way to get the game to load is to delete the patch, and only play single player
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  15. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
    I just sent some emails,I'll let you know what they say.
     
  16. MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thanks for that
     
  17. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
    OK apparently its a difficult bug to fix because its not reproducible on a devkit, retail consoles don't have any debugging functionality.

    I'm not sure on an ETA I'll ask if there are any workarounds.
     
  18. MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    reading the KZ forums, it seems the problem lies with many people who have upgraded their PS3 HDD from the stock one.

    maybe thats the problem?
     
  19. FoBZY

    FoBZY Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,127
    noooooo...I was hoping the ps4 could easily stick to 30fps on everything

    thats all i want from the next gen, stable framerates!!


    Btw, loved the demo can't wait to get it, kz2 and 3 were awesome. Even the psp one was good
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  20. Zerstorer

    Zerstorer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    He said it was 30 though. :confused:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: