1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Kingston NV1 M.2 missing contact strips

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by epictetus, Jun 23, 2022.

  1. epictetus

    epictetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Turner, Canberra
    is it normal for the Kingston NV1 M.2 to miss most of the contact strips on the back like this?

    My laptop crashes when this kingston is installed, but the stock M.2 has all the contact strips and does not crash, I don't know if the missing contact strips has anything to do with it?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2022
  2. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    9,575
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    Doesn't look right at all...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]



    JSmith
     
  3. Audionut

    Audionut Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,529
    Location:
    4610
    There's no traces going to those areas where the contact strips are "missing".

    The stock one has the strips, but they're not actually connected to anything.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    epictetus

    epictetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Turner, Canberra
  5. OP
    OP
    epictetus

    epictetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Turner, Canberra
    If you look at the circuit pattern, my NV1 is complete different from the others.

    Are there different versions of NV1?
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2022
  6. OP
    OP
    epictetus

    epictetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Turner, Canberra
    I believe there are two types of NV1 at least.

    One is white Kingston on black canton label and only two holes near bottom left corner in horizontal format.

    Another has just black kingston font with two hole near near bottom left corner in vertical format and 12 mini holes on the top left corner.

    I have the latter.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2022
  7. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Location:
    Perth
    Does your M.2 slot have NVME support or just SATA? The green card you posted with it is an m2 Sata card while the nv1 is nvme so that might be your issue.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    epictetus

    epictetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Turner, Canberra
    it is thinkpad x390 so it should def support NVME.

    Just got my WD Black sn850 this arvo and it is running with no crash so far. Give me few days to test it out with the WD Black to see if I experience the same crash I had with the Kingston.
     
  9. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,422
    take a picture of the front (photoshop out any serial number stuff). where'd you buy it from?

    I wouldn't be surprised if this is a fake.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    epictetus

    epictetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Turner, Canberra
    I bought it from a fellow OCAU member through this WTB thread.

    He told me it is brand new but it came in with only clear plastic case like this and bubble wrapping with no Kingston retail packaging. So, it was already opened for some reason and retail package was discarded.

    There was no receipt or any other paperwork.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2022
  11. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,422
    Hmm. Does that hologram sticker in the top left look like a normal security hologram and not just a printed sticker?

    I found an article from a website in Kazakhstan that has reference to the "A01G" version and they put a picture of the rear and it looks identical to yours although the rear contacts on yours seem a bit scuffed.

    1_kingston_nv1_snvs-500g.jpg

    2_kingston_nv1_snvs-500g.jpg
     
  12. Iron_Horse

    Iron_Horse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    982
    Location:
    On the Borg ship...
    I'd suspect it's either a fake or faulty. If it is, hopefully the person you purchased it off wasn't aware of it before selling.

    Have you tried manufacturers diagnostic tools?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    epictetus

    epictetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Turner, Canberra
    Yeah, diagnostic tool says it is working. But it got two black screen of death on the second day and power button to hibernate would freeze the laptop instantly followed by blue screens of death after few minutes.

    Installed the WD black or the original Lenovo sdd, runs smoothly without any crash, any to power button to hibernate the laptop without issue. Been using the laptop on WD black for a week now without crash.

    I have already sent it back to the seller.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2022

Share This Page

Advertisement: