KOGAN 27" CURVED QHD 144HZ FREESYNC

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by 2_stroke, May 31, 2019.

  1. 2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    cranbourne 3977
  2. CrazyDez

    CrazyDez Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    Hockeystan
  3. OP
    OP
    2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    cranbourne 3977
  4. DangerMaus

    DangerMaus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    969
    Curious to see results and feedback for the monitor.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    cranbourne 3977
    Me to look it’s a dam cheap monitor for the price, if it lives up to it’s specs and works with gsync I’ll be happy as hell. Will post back results for others and what else I can dig up, says it will be sent out on the 3rd of June. I’ll grab a display port cable this weekend which is needed for gsync so it’s ready to go. I will see if there is a display driver about for icc profile ect also.

    Its sold under the name VIOTEK GN27D 27" also. Some reviews on newegg look really positive with adaptive sync working perfect with nvidia drivers and gsync. https://www.newegg.ca/p/N82E16824736004?reviews=all The model was also sold at walmart. There is a thread on whirlpool also but with next to no info, looks like it comes with a DP cable also

    After much searching around its seems to be a B grade Samsung C27JG50 hopefully i can use the icn profile will test also extracted from the download at https://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/LC27JG50QQUXEN/ using winrar.
    :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
    DangerMaus likes this.
  6. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,030
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    Yall keep saying muh b grade but mine hasnt had a single issue no flashing or other weird stuff no dead pixels
     
  7. DangerMaus

    DangerMaus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    969
    It's in reference to using a Samsung panel that didn't meet Samsung's QA testing I guess. Speaking of which the Samsung monitor that seems to use the same panel can be found cheaper than this one with current EOFY sales.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    cranbourne 3977
    That sums it up, most people have 1 dead/stuck pixel and there pixel policy is 2 max this is from reviews.
    https://help.kogan.com/hc/en-us/art...or-LED-TVs-Monitors-and-Digital-Photo-Frames-
     
  9. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,030
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    i cant see anything wrong with mine tho even freesync works perfectly
     
  10. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I have the same monitor. I didn't go through Kogan however, I got it through Alibaba (where Kogan source their monitors). Exactly the same design, minus the Kogan logo on the front. I just successfully installed the Samsung drivers, so thankyou for that link. I have had issues with G-Sync. Tried the various work arounds with CRU, but no avail.
    OP - let me know how you go.
     
    nope likes this.
  11. OP
    OP
    2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    cranbourne 3977
    Will do, the Samsung doesn’t have FreeSync it’s done with the Kogan with an added adaptive sync module just to let you know. You’re monitor may not have the module, I will test tonight when I get home because it only got to my place at 5:30pm lol
     
    the_antipop likes this.
  12. OP
    OP
    2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    cranbourne 3977
    Well its not being picked up by mine as well, will have a play with it on the weekend :( On the good side zero dead stuck pixels, 144hz and 2k plus a very nice panel XD. I will keep reading into the gsync issue and see what i come up with, I will also try freesync when i can get my hands on an AMD gpu, google google google lol
     
  13. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,030
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    weird how gsync (freesync) works perfectly on mine
    exchange them for it maybe?
     
  14. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    So does your monitor have a Freesync option? Are you able to enable G-Sync compatibility? Mine effectively works, Black Ops 4 and Apex Legends work fairly well, but when I go into Battlefield V, artefacting is everywhere - it's hardly playable. Are you in a similar situation? Weirdly, the G-Sync Pendulum demo lists that G-Sync is functional, and I get no artefacting during that demo...

    EDIT: I believe installing those Samsung Drivers changed the monitor's name, and also added Samsung's Colour settings. No real difference in the G-Sync compatibility.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
  15. OP
    OP
    2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    cranbourne 3977
    Yer it has FreeSync but it’s not being detected to enable in nvidia drivers. It should work I will change the dp cable around to another dp out on my rtx 2070 and see. There are people doing it on the gn27d so hopefully I get it working, people are saying under 48fps there getting issues though and using your cru can help a bit, have you checked your FPS and when it’s happening?
     
  16. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I reckon that under the 48fps might be my issue. Got a thread?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: