KT400 chipet r they worth it ?

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by Hardwired, Sep 15, 2002.

?

do you think the new kt400chipset betterr than kt333

  1. Yes, kt400 is worth it from reviews i've seen

    21 vote(s)
    25.6%
  2. No,

    16 vote(s)
    19.5%
  3. Buy the Kt333

    25 vote(s)
    30.5%
  4. Im not sure

    20 vote(s)
    24.4%
  1. Hardwired

    Hardwired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    KT400chipset r they worth it?

    I was just wondering what every1's thoughts were on via'z new Kt400 chipset.

    Cause from what I've seen from the reviews the kt400 chipset doesnt seem to perform as well, as the kt333 chipset.Also another thing i would like to say is the only being able to use 1 or 2 if your luky of 3200 ddr-ram seems pointless.

    :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2002
  2. MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    da kt400 is SHIT!
    except its the only chipset for amd now that support 8xAGP
     
  3. Tech Guy

    Tech Guy (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    504
    Just stick with the KT333 for know, its more then fine... the asus a7v333 or the epox 8k5a2+ or 8k5a3+ these are all KT333 boards very nice...
     
  4. T101

    T101 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Sydney
    i just got a new mobo ga7vrx+ & its the kt333 chipset. Why? because the kt400s are first gen mobos and are benchmarking slower. So there's no point spending more money and getting the slower performing board. this board also supports 400ddr so its as good as it gets.
     
  5. MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    i don't really see the point of upgrading to kt400 even if you have a radeon 9700
     
  6. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,234
    I'd say that if you have an unlocked cpu and 3200ddr then yes.
    an FSB of 200 should be guaranteed maybe even much higher.
    that should improve performance a little
     
  7. Punk

    Punk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,058
    Location:
    Walking on Sunshine
    333 better than 400


    Until they make better 400 chips

    :p :D :p
     
  8. Sayajin

    Sayajin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    795
    KT400 is alot better for overclocking..

    sure at 133FSB and 200Mhz memory the scores are shithouse..

    but there is also a 1/6PCI divider, that makes running at 200Mhz easy!...

    so im thinking 230+Mhz FSB shouldent be too hard..just gotta wait for some good 5ns or even 4.5ns ram chips to come out first..
    looks like winbond 5ns can do 220Mhz+ quite well...


    but over all the KT400 isnt any faster than KT333...it will just be able to overclock more,
     
  9. MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    no
    kt400 doesn't officially support 1/6 pci divider
     
  10. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    108,709
    Location:
    Tokyo
    newer is almost always better. But why getting a KT400 board now? AMD has announced the move to 166 Mhz, and then you are screwed with a KT400
     
  11. MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    newer is almost better
    but its doesn't mean it is better
    i don't really think kt400 is THAT good
     
  12. VooDoo

    VooDoo Large Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    11,238
    Location:
    Drag Rehab Center
    The KT400 fully supports 166mhz CPU's

    I know someone thats testing them on the KT400 platform and they work perfectly. Remember the hoo-harr a few mths ago with the dividers on the chipset that were dropping the AGP/PCI speeds when overclocking at 166mhz or over. You can manually set them higher now with the new bios's but for stock settings the FSB sits at 166mhz and AGP/PCI at 66/33mhz keeping within spec.

    As soon as better ram is made available the KT400 will take off a bit more. Getting any ram to work at cas2 and agressive settings is still pretty hard and then the added latency brings the performance down (an all chipsets that can do 400mhz)

    Quadband DDR should be the savoiur for this (P4X600 and KT600) before DDRII in 2004/5
     
  13. Bion1c

    Bion1c Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Why do you say that CB? The KT400 seems to support it easily enough ?
     
  14. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    108,709
    Location:
    Tokyo
    my bad, I thought KT 400 was meant for a 133 Mhz system bus.
     
  15. OnslaughT

    OnslaughT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Earth
    well none of u actually have a kt400?
    well i got me one and they bloody rock!
    new asus a7v8x. and the rumours about kt400 not supporting ddr400 are false! i can use 400mhz ram in 2 slots. agp 8x, sata, gigabit lan!!! this board bloody rocks and i wouldnt accept any substitute for a kt400.
     
  16. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    108,709
    Location:
    Tokyo
    so, which DDR 400 RAM are you using with this board?
     
  17. VooDoo

    VooDoo Large Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    11,238
    Location:
    Drag Rehab Center
    Ive tested TwinMOS and Corsair. (together as well) in a KT400 board. Works fine.

    you wont get cas2 from it but it does work at 2.5 no probs. cas2 333 is still faster :)
     
  18. MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    but have anyone try comparing kt333 and kt400 both with CAS 2 DDR-333?
    since the kt400 don't like the DDR-400 at CAS 2 then whats the point of comparing it with DDR-400?
     
  19. Bion1c

    Bion1c Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Melbourne
    whats the story there?? the kt400's dont like running @ 200mhz cas 2?

    onslaught: have you successfully run the twinmos or corsair at these settings?
     
  20. OnslaughT

    OnslaughT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Earth
    dont know where u get your info from ey
    mines runnin at 400 / cas 2.
    256mb corsair xms3200
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: