Labtech\RMM Software

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by ex4n, Dec 16, 2015.

  1. ECHO

    ECHO Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    Canberra
    We turn off most of the alerting for performance issues except for CPU.

    What we have is:

    Settings > Alerts > Alert Policy

    And for everything BUT processor utilization we have: "do no fail check, report only". So this means I can see if there is an issue quickly if I have to, but it won't fill our ticketing system or monitoring with giant red icons :)
     
  2. glimmerman

    glimmerman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Perth
    We use Labtech, connectwise and PRTG.

    I happen to be the "most knowledgeable" with labtech in my company and I can say that my frustration with the product has reduced dramatically after the move to screen connect.

    Given I also do a lot of other things I haven't had time to really delve into the scripting aspect of it - but from what I have done - the language seems needlessly clunky and complicated and the documentation for it is pretty bad. Documentation for Labtech itself is also lacking a lot of detail - even the support staff are aware of this. Speaking of support, if you have more a technical question that their lvl 1 support staff can't answer expect to wait a day for a reply - all the specialist staff are half a day out of sync with Australia. Either that or you can wait for them to call you at 11pm.

    Labtech has come a long way over the last year but the interface is still horrendous. Apparently that will be getting an overhaul later this year.

    The one thing I don't like labtech for is monitoring and graphing network devices and anything that uses SNMP. For that, we use PRTG which is miles ahead.

    The combination of Labtech/CW and PRTG gives us a pretty good overview of everything and we can manage multi-national companies with (relative) ease.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  3. OP
    OP
    ex4n

    ex4n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Perth
    Cheers guys, for those of you using labtech, how do you find the reporting features, say for a monthly report\health check on servers\workstations. I didn't spent too long on it, but all the reports I was generating looked like they were made in publisher '98. Same for the performance graphs etc.

    That's one thing I did like a lot more about some of the alternatives I've been checking out, the reports are much better right out of the box, better laid out and look more 'modern' for lack of a better word.

    Curious who you are working for now glimmerman, Perth isn't that big :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  4. glimmerman

    glimmerman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Perth
    some of the reports are "OK" in terms of content. I don't use them though and they can't be customised. We rarely present them to clients as they look very ugly.

    i believe the reporting will also be replaced in the future. When? Who knows.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016

Share This Page

Advertisement: