Learning about Linux : Ask/Answer A Quick Question thread

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by shredder, Feb 2, 2020.

  1. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,707
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2020
  2. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    43,806
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you want to do an in-place upgrade, as root from a physical command prompt (don't SSH in), get your existing 19.10 install fully patched up to date, then run:

    Code:
    do-release-upgrade
    Still worth sanity checking with "blkid". Signatures can exist at the device level (e.g.: "/dev/sda") and the partition level (e.g.: "/dev/sda1"). Your output above looked like both existed and was confusing ZFS/BtrFS.
     
    ae00711 likes this.
  3. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    probably the proprietary ones tbh
     
    ae00711 likes this.
  4. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,504
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Albeit you'll probably need to work out which major version you need, the gtx6xx cards probably wont be supported by the latest drivers as they're pretty elderley
     
  5. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,707
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
  6. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    43,806
    Location:
    Brisbane
    GeForce.com will also tell you the latest supported driver for any given card for Linux.

    https://www.geforce.com/drivers

    At time of writing, 440.82 are recommended by that site.

    There's also this regularly updated sticky on the Nvidia forums:
    https://forums.developer.nvidia.com/t/current-graphics-driver-releases/28500
     
  7. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,268
    Change to the desired view using the 'Details View Mode' button at the top left.

    Once this is done, right click on the file name bar, go down to Audio and select 'Duration'.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    Code:
    cryptsetup luksOpen /dev/whatever olddrive
    mount /dev/mapper/olddrive /mnt/whenever
    

    that's it unless you've got LVM or something
     
  9. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14,809
    Location:
    Canberra
    there's a GUI called 'zuluCrypt' that takes the guesswork and CLI out of dealing with LUKS.

    and the default GNOME file manager 'Files' shows and allows you to mount encrypted partitions too.

    shouldn't be hard.
     
  10. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    you gotta give us more than that, why didn't it work? what was the output of the commands? what did you type?
     
  11. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14,809
    Location:
    Canberra
    the first command (cryptsetup) will put your now-decrypting device sdh5 into /dev/mapper/olde (olde = the name you specified to crypt setup).

    you then need to mount the /dev/mapper/olde device (it's the decrypted version). trying to mount the encrypted device (sdh5) of course won't work.
     
  12. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    okay, work out the volume group and activate it

    vgdisplay --short

    get the name

    lvchange -ay volume-name

    mount it

    mount /dev/volume-name/root /mnt/somewhere
     
  13. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14,809
    Location:
    Canberra
    you'll need to work with it via it UUID then.
    run vgdisplay without --short, so you can see the UUID

    then you can use vgrename to change the name of the old one (not your current OS's) so then you can work with it without conflict.
     
    ae00711 likes this.
  14. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    Try pvdisplay, it should show the physical disk and give you a volume group name as well
     
  15. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,707
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Last edited: May 14, 2020
  16. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    why? what do you need in a newer kernel?
     
  17. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    43,806
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm seeing a lot of issues here where you're forgetting your layering concepts.

    Don't go into these things blind. Understand that Linux and most of the tools within will create layers. LUKS doesn't mount things, it's just an excryption later. LVM doesn't mount things, it's just a volume manager. Each one creates a layer (think of it like a filter) to the device below (could be real, could be virtual), creating a new virtual device along the way.

    Keep track of these layers and virtual devices. Remember where you are in the "stack". And always point to the right thing. Most of your problems will go away if you just stop and think about which part you care about at that instant in time, rather than trying to brute force your way through these commands.
     
    ae00711 likes this.
  18. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,967
    Location:
    4109
    Hi Team Linux :)

    I got a major case of the shits with Win10 update breaking (again) last night and blew away the ssd on my laptop.
    Didnt even keep the recovery partition, so now I'm truly fucked and need to make the big leap :lol:

    So now Linux Mint 20 is on and I'm hitting a few snags...
    1. firefox is stupid in the head - the laptop is a touch screen and the behavior of touch is not how I'd like it
    touch scroll appears to require jumping through hoops, and I'm not ready/willing to move to chromium (where I've tested and it works like it should)
    I've found this
    https://askubuntu.com/questions/853910/ubuntu-16-and-touchscreen-scrolling-in-firefox/994483#994483
    but I'm getting
    Code:
    cp: cannot create regular file '/home/mutlaptop/.local/share/applications/': Not a directory
    2. I really don't understand the user and home folders etc in linux, can someone point me to a good absolute newbie guide to the folders in linux
    and a possible win equivalent so i can wrap my tiny mind around this

    3. touch-pad sensitivity and acceleration - I've played around in the mouse and touchpad settings applet, but it's still very much a touchy thing and even moving fast i struggle to cover the 1080p screen easily
    Is there a 'synaptics precision driver' equivalent for linux ? or am i barking up the wrong tree ?

    4. Laptop is running HOT!. like cooking just sitting on the desktop.
    I've installed indicator-cpufreq from the software manager that seems to have cooled this a little. but it still feels a bit clunky compared to the power management under windows and the fan is still running at 100%

    What does work and I quite like
    1. snaps shots and updates are 'on and working' from what i can tell - I dont know where the snapshots are going or how I'd even rollback, but that's future mut's problem for now :)

    2. lappy feels much more responsive under linux. evem after installing the throttle it's still a champ.
    i'm loving this bit :)

    What was broken and is now working
    1. wifi doesn't work after install - worked on the live boot, but after install just nothing. it was like the adapter didn't even exist ???
    a few reboots and suddenly its decided it likes my wifi adapter now. all is well

    anyone want to go crazy helping me ??
     
  19. MagicMoose

    MagicMoose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3018
    Go to terminal and do "ls /home/mutlaptop/.local/share -a" and see if there's a directory named "applications.

    (The -a flag tells ls to show all files/directories, even if you don't have permission to write them.)

    Think of /home/ as C:/Users and /home/mutlaptop/ as C:/Users/Mutlaptop. You might find this video helpful.

    Is the CPU showing high usage? Not sure what Mint ships with, but there'll be some sort of system monitor app.

    Also, run "sensors-detect" and "sensors" in terminal to get CPU temps, then report back.
     
  20. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,967
    Location:
    4109
    Thanks MagicMoose
    the applications folder is in usr but not home. is it as simple as using mk (?) to make the new folder required ?

    Code:
    .   cinnamon   flatpak  gstreamer-1.0  icc   keyrings  recently-used.xbel
    ..  evolution  gnote    gvfs-metadata  inxi  nemo
    
    sensors-detect shows this at the end
    Code:
    Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
    Just press ENTER to continue:
    
    Driver `k10temp' (autoloaded):
      * Chip `AMD Family 17h thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)
    
    No modules to load, skipping modules configuration.
    
    Unloading cpuid... OK
    
    i had shutdown earlier and left this in a cool room, so these temps are at start up
    Code:
    iwlwifi_1-virtual-0
    Adapter: Virtual device
    temp1:        +38.0°C 
    
    amdgpu-pci-0400
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    vddgfx:           N/A 
    vddnb:            N/A 
    edge:         +42.0°C  (crit = +80.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)
    
    BAT0-acpi-0
    Adapter: ACPI interface
    in0:          16.08 V 
    curr1:       664.00 mA
    
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    Tdie:         +42.0°C  (high = +70.0°C)
    Tctl:         +42.0°C 
    
    acpitz-acpi-0
    Adapter: ACPI interface
    temp1:        +42.0°C  (crit = +120.0°C)
    temp2:        +44.0°C  (crit = +120.0°C)
    
    
    thanks for the vid. i'll watch this now
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: