Lighting for Display Cabinet

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Frontl1ne, Dec 2, 2010.

1. Frontl1ne

Frontl1ne Member

Hey peeps,

I've got no experience with electronics so I've come here seeking advice!

The situation is: I've bought this display cabinet and built it up etc looks very awesome. But, it looks really dull because there's no lighting.

Now I'm thinking about hooking up some kind of lighting for the cabinet however I'm not sure how to go about this. I have one idea of using LED strips down the back of cabinet and since it's right in a corner, hopefully the light will reflect off the walls and give the cabinet a nice lighting.

What I'm not sure on though is how to power these things. In computers it's just a simple case of plugging the LED or cathodes to the PSU. But how do I power a lighting system without a computer? Do they use batteries or do they plug into outlet sockets?

Also looking for other options in terms of lighting... preferably something simple to set up :)

Thanks for any suggestions or advice!

2. Indiana08

Indiana08 Member

Adhesive/Flexible LED Strip is probably a cheap yet effective manner in which to do this. You can find the stuff online, and is quite easy to install (Peel off the back) and usually has a small amount of cabling that goes to a little controller, or even straight to a plug pack transformer, which you can plug into your wall socket.

3. Indiana08

Indiana08 Member

Oh, and there is a MASSIVE choice in colours, you can even get colour-changing ones. But IMO I think a cool white looks best.

4. OP
    OP
    Frontl1ne

Frontl1ne Member

Sounds good Indiana, I did a quick search on ebay and found this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/5m-c...ptZMotorsQ5fCarQ5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

And there's this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/12v-100cm-fl...AU_Boat_Parts_Accessories&hash=item4154ea79e9

How can I tell if it comes with a controller or transformer?