Lightroom 5: Is it worth the upgrade?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by birdie, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. ints

    ints Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    NSW
    Can't u just upgrade if u have LR?
     
  2. triggerpeg

    triggerpeg Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just started to use LR5 to process and I have to say the speed isnt that much of a difference.

    But what I found was that the lens correction tool. Esp the perspective and level options are bloody awesome.Dont know if they only work for cameras without a "spirit level" but it has saved me hours of work leveling and making every photo perfectly square :)
     
  3. Alfonzo

    Alfonzo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    13,150
    Location:
    4152, Brisbane
  4. Deftone2k

    Deftone2k In the Darkroom

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    15,439
    Location:
    Sydney
    Clone tool is the bomdiggity.

    Smart Previews are pretty cool as well (in a form of a backup if you are say, saving your catalogs to dropbox).

    I dont use the level options but might give it a try.
     
  5. Xang

    Xang Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,017
    I find the level tool to be a total POS.
     
  6. BluBoy

    BluBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hopefully this isn't derailing the thread...

    I would like to try out LR5 for some photo touch ups. Am I better going with a student subscription to CC (also getting PS etc), or just buy LR5 to keep?
     
  7. MickybD

    MickybD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Why not download the free 30 day trial to try it out?
     
  8. ToanIsAnIdiot

    ToanIsAnIdiot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Sydney
    Apparently you dont need CS3 to get the LR/PS Bundle. This in only till Dec 2 though I think... But, after their recent hack, can we trust adobe with our details?
     
  9. Deftone2k

    Deftone2k In the Darkroom

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    15,439
    Location:
    Sydney
    I always make sure I edit with a Tin Foil Hat.

    Just goes to show, risk is everywhere with personal information.
     
  10. triggerpeg

    triggerpeg Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Sydney
    I remember LR4.4 it was slow as snails and sometimes would hang the system. Never used it in L5 because of that. But whats major the difference?

     
  11. Deftone2k

    Deftone2k In the Darkroom

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    15,439
    Location:
    Sydney
    You can drag it around and do lines and not dots and its actually pretty good.

    Saves me taking stuff into PS all the time like I used too.

    LR is generally just crap performance wise :p
     
  12. GetSmart

    GetSmart Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If LR6 doesn't utilise all cores and GPU I am going to rage.

    I love LR for RAW grading, but the render times vs anything that utilises CUDA makes me :upset:
     
  13. triggerpeg

    triggerpeg Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Sydney
    That would be the best thing ever. I dont know why they didnt do this sooner. I mean this was around in the 2000s when I was still at uni transposing images with openGL.

     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2013
  14. GetSmart

    GetSmart Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Location:
    Brisbane
    And yet they probably won't.

    LR4 had crippling speeds (a tad exaggerated, but lots of complaints about the speed) and yet LR5 offered little to no optimisation.
     
  15. triggerpeg

    triggerpeg Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yet we keep upgrading....lol :Pirate:

     
  16. GetSmart

    GetSmart Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm still on LR4. It's actually more useful as I can render straight to mp4
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: