Linux Gaming

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by GumbyNoTalent, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Every Newbie asks the question what is gaming like in Linux well this thread I invite people to put their money where their mouth is and post pictures, preferably with some indication of FPS and the settings being used.

    I'll start.

    WoW running on Wine with Nvidia drivers.



    Config
    [​IMG]
    Ingame
    [​IMG]

    I get 30-50FPS depending on how busy the area is, the biggest performance boost is to turn off player shadows and not run in fullscreen mode.

    I use this script to launch
    nvidia-settings --load-config-only
    cd '/home/<user>/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft'
    wine WoW.exe -opengl
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2008
  2. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    30,332
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Good idea for a thread. Make sure you post your system specs too. I know yours are in your sig, but if you change that in the future it might confuse folks.

    All my Linux gaming benchmarks are here. :p
     
  3. Fettrix

    Fettrix Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,400
    Location:
    Western, NSW (2750)
    Now how about showing a real game an not a crack substitute? :thumbup:
     
  4. TrennaHowar

    TrennaHowar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,499
    Location:
    Perth
    lol. Is wow a game ? It is a "lifestyle" choice :p
     
  5. OP
    OP
    GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Will be working on Steam next, TF2 and CounterStrike in particular.

    WoW is crack... yep it is a bit of a time sink if your addicted, but me and my mates play and we all use Ubuntu/WoW/Skype and it rocks... :)

    I still have a Windows Partition for games, and I use Windows to patch WoW, then all I do is copy the entire directory across and swap in my config.wtf, nice and simple.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    I recently purchased a couple of Gigabyte GA-PCV2-DSI-SI Motherboards with Via 1ghz cpu, 1 is for a portable NAS/Game Server for Lan Days and the Other to go into a MAME cabinet that I'm building.

    So far I have

    1GB DDR 400
    1x CF to IDE convertor
    1x 8GB CF card
    1x 80Watt power supply out of an old slimline Dell

    and

    [​IMG]

    So any advice would be much appreciated.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    OK had a quick play around with Steam, still no sound and the games are jerky but i haven't done any config tuning yet so we'll reserve judgment.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. phreeky82

    phreeky82 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    9,443
    Location:
    Townsville
    Anyone got BF2 working?

    I just have wine that came with ubuntu 7.0.4 still, configured as windows xp via winecfg, attempted to install BF2. Install worked but with left-over windows and strange things, and gave errors trying to run it.

    TBH I think I'll stick with dual-booting for games. What good OpenGL games are out there with a Linux binary available?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Any QUAKE or DOOM game, and any UT game will run natively, I'll be installing Quake Wars and Quake 4 later, along with the new UT.
     
  10. phreeky82

    phreeky82 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    9,443
    Location:
    Townsville
    Yeah long ago I used to play some games in Linux with a native binary.

    None of the newer games I have any interest in seem to give a toss about Linux which sucks. Medal of Honor: Allied Assault has a linux binary, I should grab it and go hunting for the game (wherever that will be, having moved house recently). It's old, but at least I'll enjoy it.

    edit: stumbled across this, dunno how up-to-date it is: http://icculus.org/lgfaq/gamelist.php
     
  11. cleary

    cleary Mental in the Face

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,244
    Location:
    Griffith NSW
    This is just openarena but it runs at a pretty decent rate (60+ fps average?) on this basic intel gfx chipset. After a hard days work I tend to get my frustrations out with a session before I go home ;)

    Note also, I have the most customised kde theme ever ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    30,332
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I could crap on for months about MAME and arcade systems. :)

    Any specific questions, and I'll do my best to answer them in verbose detail.
     
  13. phreeky82

    phreeky82 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    9,443
    Location:
    Townsville
    Code:
    elvis -v "mame"
    Seriously, it takes a true nerd to use the term verbose in a regular sentence :D
     
  14. OP
    OP
    GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Souldn't that be in a regular expression... :)
     
  15. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    30,332
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I use it many times a day! :Paranoid:

    Bah, who am I kidding. I wear my nerd badge with pride. :)
     
  16. the-enigma

    the-enigma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,728
    Location:
    BrisVegas
    Lord of the Rings Online (running fullscreen). Runs fine on a core2duo 1.83, and an 8400M GS with 2GB of RAM.
    [​IMG]
    And I also run it under compiz-beryl. So yes, I can actually see game stuff happening on this screen, and I can do spinny cube rotating stuff with the game running.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. OP
    OP
    GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,387
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Are you running DirectX9.0c, cause that is the next on my list to get running.
     
  18. mattidude

    mattidude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    244
    hah! Some crazy desktops there :)

    I think half the challenge is to get the game to work sometimes, after that it's pure elation playing the thing. Playing it well is another story :tongue:
     
  19. the-enigma

    the-enigma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,728
    Location:
    BrisVegas
    I .. don't think I'm running DirectX as such. Just installed from Windows machine, and copied the files across. Although with recent wine updates, we're able to just recently patch from under Wine as well :)
     
  20. f3n1x

    f3n1x Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Armadale, Melbourne
    Some flight gear screenies (not suitable for dialup):


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page