Linux Mint RC 13 Mini Review

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by Psychotria, May 17, 2012.

1. Psychotria

Psychotria (Banned or Deleted)

Linux Mint 13 Release Candidate - Mini Review

1. Introduction and background

I've never used Mint before so now seemed like a good time to see for myself how this distribution (distro) stacks up (this thread prompted me to download it). Downloaded the ISO (linuxmint-13-cinnamon-dvd-64bit-rc) and installed in a VM. I chose the cinnamon version of the distro because I've never used it either; I prefer KDE (although I had to take a long vacation from it until 4.x stabilised, but that's another story). Since I've gone to all the "trouble" of downloading and installing the Release Candidate I thought I'd share my thoughts and impressions.

First, let me state that I am not a "typical" (whatever that is) desktop user, especially when it comes to Linux. What I mean by that is I don't use Linux to do the typical things an end user might often do (like word processing, photo editing, playing movies, etc); my usage of Linux leans more towards a software development environment or as a server. Mint is aimed squarely at the "desktop" market so I've tried to look at the distribution in that light.

2. Installation

Mint comes on a LiveDVD and once booted you can use the live environment to explore the distro, use it as a rescue disk, or use it to install Mint onto the HDD. Obviously installing it onto a HDD will be the primary use of the DVD for most users (settings and everything do not persist when using the "live" environment). So the first thing I did was start the install process.

[​IMG]
    Figure 1 The DVD "live" environment