List your crappy home servers!

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Roscoe, Jul 28, 2001.

  1. Roscoe

    Roscoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    842
    Location:
    Earth.. I think
    List your crappy home servers... Nice servers need not apply :)

    Server name - Cartman
    Domain - Santuarie
    Up time - 29 days

    ... Windows 2000 Server SP2
    ... Intel Pentium 166MMX on AT Intel TX board
    ... 128MB RAM (1 x 64MB SDRAM & 2 x 32MB EDO)
    ... 2 x 2GB IDE HDD (software mirroring)
    ... 1 x 1GB IDE HDD
    ... 1 x HP 4/8GB DAT Tape Backup
    ... 24 x CDROM Drive
    ... No FDD cause the controller is dead :)
    ... 2 x 3com 905b NIC's connected to Neatgear 8port Switch + 5port Switch
    ... Cirus Logic 2MB PCI Video Card
    ... 15" Monitor
    ... Active Directory
    ... DNS
    ... DHCP
    ... NAT via 56K modem (none of that cable crap :)
    ... Terminal Server in Admin mode for remote administration
    ... Holds roaming profiles
    ... Does nightly backup of 3 Win2000 Pro clients
    ... APC Backup UPS 300 (holds for around 20 mins with monitor on)

    That's my server. I also have another Win2K Adv Server with 768MB RAM running VMWare to use as my lab for MCSE.

    Bye for now...
     
  2. Dr Kildare

    Dr Kildare Medic!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,898
    Location:
    Melbourne
  3. Epoch

    Epoch 41p4x0r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    758
    Name: Tank
    Uptime: 11 days, 12:43, 1 user, load average: 0.08, 0.02, 0.01

    OS: Redhat 7.0 server.

    CPU: P120
    RAM: 2x8mb EDO
    HDD: 1.2gb Quantum IDE
    CD: 6x Creative IDE
    FDD: 2x 1.44mb 3 ½
    Video: 512kb trident PCI (no monitor)
    No keyboard, no mouse.
    Network: 1x Realtek RTL 8019 ISA

    Functions: NAT, DNS, firewall. Shares a 56k modem. Will add proxy / print sharing / DHCP later, if I can be bothered.

    Edit: Running a Squid proxy now. I so need another 16mb RAM for this box. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2001
  4. mpot

    mpot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,372
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Name: THAIN
    OS: Win2K Server
    CPU: dual P2 300
    mobo: made by MSI, badged as Motorola, produced for Honeywell...
    RAM: 1x128Mb, 2x64Mb SDRAM
    HDD: 2.4Gb IDE, 4.3Gb SCSI, 2.1Gb SCSI (on Adaptec 2940UW), 30Gb Quantum Fireball AS
    network: 10/100 Intel (onboard)
    video: Matrox Millennium II AGP
    no monitor, keyboard, mouse
    functions: print server, file server, DNS, WINS, DHCP

    Name: SMOOTHWALL
    OS: Smoothwall
    CPU: Pentium Pro 180
    mobo: Intel VS440FX
    RAM: 4x32Mb EDO
    HDD: 2.1Gb IDE
    network: Genius 2500 (RealTek chipset)
    video: S3Virge
    no monitor, keyboard, mouse
    functions: NAT, firewall, DNS, proxy

    and both servers are running RC5...

    Cheers,
    Martin.

    edit: added 30Gb HDD, just installed yesterday
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2001
  5. Poddy

    Poddy Rainman Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    In The Mix, Sydney
    Name: Lil Buddy
    Specs: 200 MMX 64 Meg EDO RAM
    540 mb HDD
    Running Smoothwall/Clark Connect i change em round just for the sake of it.
    2 X 10/100 Skymaster Nic's
    S3 Virge - Piece of Shit
    Functions: Bit of a gateway firewall pc.
     
  6. Gandalf

    Gandalf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Beaudesert, SE QLD
    Pentium 75, 32MB RAM, 1.2G hard drive, video card that doesn't work, no monitor, no keyboard, no floppy, no cdrom drive, clark connect, Generic 10/100 card to cable modem, 10Mb card for localnet, uptime 42 days, 7 hours, 17 minutes. Firewall & File server.

    hmmm - should I try w2k on it?
     
  7. Kazashi

    Kazashi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Blue Mountains, NSW
    Colossus

    K6/2-400 (waiting for some better case cooling)
    GA-5AA
    256MB RAM
    20GB Seagate Barracuda III
    8MB S3 Trio 3D/2x
    56k Lucent Winmodem
    10Mbit RTL 8029AS
    A case
    Some fans
    Win2k Pro SP2

    Mostly used for gateway/firewall, as well as remote hard drive backup, LAN game server, crunching rc5 blocks, practise for remotely administering systems, learning experience etc.
     
  8. edd91

    edd91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,332
    Location:
    syd.nsw.au
    wouldnt it be better using the 10/100 for the local net and the 10mb for the cable, seeing as it isnt gonna go over 10
     
  9. Thrawn

    Thrawn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,072
    First Server (dial-up, now retired)

    486DX50
    16Mb RAM
    4 ISA Network Cards (no Hub :)
    16550 UART Card
    Adaptec ISA SCSI Card
    600MB Double-height 5.25" SCSI Drive (Size of 2 CD-ROM drives)
    1GB Seagate Hawk SCSI
    External 56K Modem

    Running Redhat Linux with mainly just IPCHAINS


    Second Server replacing the 486 (now retired also).

    Compaq Pentium 100
    48MB RAM
    Quantum Trailblazer 860MB HDD
    Built-in AMD Network Chip
    Realtek 8139 10/100 (connected to 8 Port 10/100 switch)

    Running Vector Linux 1.8 with lots and lots of services going.

    Current Server, replaced the P100

    Celeron 466
    128MB RAM
    3GB IBM HDD
    Realtek 8139
    SMC Realtek 8019

    Running Vector Linux 2.0 running:

    DHCP Client
    DHCP Server
    BPALogin
    Sshd
    Telnetd
    Ftpd
    Oidentd
    Samba
    Apache/PHP4
    MySQL
    DNS Server
    IPChains

    Also used as a Unix software development server (through X-Win32).
     
  10. Chicko Man

    Chicko Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Hobart
    Digital Video Server
    OS: Win2k Server
    CPU: Dual PIII 1000Mhz
    MOBO: MSI
    RAM: 2x 512Mb Kingmax
    HDD: 2x 30Gig Quantum Fireballs 1x 60Gig Quantum Fireball 1x 20Gig WD 1x 4.5Gig WD
    CD: 2x 40x Panasonic 1x pioneer slot 16x DVD 1x Yamaha SCSI Burner (on a AOPEN controller)
    Network: 3com somthing!
    Video: 2x Oxygen VX1's
    PS: 2x 450watt

    Smoothwall Box
    OS: Smoothwall
    CPU: Pentium 166
    MOBO: Intel somthing
    Ram: 2x 16Mb
    Network: Realtek
    Video: NONE
    HDD: 1gig WD
    Modem: Us Robotics
     
  11. mesh

    mesh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Perth
    Linux router project sharing dialup between a couple of boxes (and keeping the connections up), 100% silent once it boots.

    It loads off the hdd into a ramdisk, then powers down the hdd. PSU fan removed, no cpu fan.

    p75 (or 100@75, can't recall)
    16 ram
    170 hdd (160 mb free)
    2x 3c509 NICs
    lucent winmodem
    no vidcard
    asus p55t2p4
     
  12. alchemy

    alchemy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    542
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Name: cupakup
    OS: debian 2.2
    System: Digital Venturis FX133A
    CPU: single pentium 133
    mobo: digital/sis thing. socket7, 6 edo slots, vrm.
    RAM: 32mb edo
    HDD: 2.5Gb IDE, mmm, bad sectors
    network: 2 x intel etherexpress pro 10/100 pci
    video: 2mb sis onboard
    no monitor, keyboard
    functions: firewall/nat server for sloptus cable. samba file server, remote network access server.
     
  13. Gandalf

    Gandalf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Beaudesert, SE QLD
    Probably, but I thought that the cable modem required a 100MB connection, and my switching hub is an old HP 10MB unit.
     
  14. M0r4h3us

    M0r4h3us Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,023
    Location:
    Brissie/Gold Coast [4205]
    servers :

    *1st server
    1 x bp6 mobo
    2 x celeron 366's @ 95bus ; 523mhz
    2 x 128mb kingmax tiny bga pc133 cas 2,2,2
    win 2000 pro sp2
    etc

    *2nd server
    1 x bp6 mobo
    2 x celeron 433's @ 82bus ; 533mhz
    2 x 128mb kingmax tiny bga pc133 cas 2,2,2
    win 2000 server (goin to server advanced)
    etc

    thanx
    aLan
     
  15. Samdawg

    Samdawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Bendigo
    Is it really advisable to run your AD on the same box connected to the net? I was in the same situation but got another router and put my AD behind the firewall.

    Anyway here's my servers

    \\hercules has been up for: 93 day(s), 19 hour(s), 44 minute(s), 22 second(s)
    2 x 400mhz celerons @ 500mhz
    256mg ram
    4gb hdd
    BP6
    Win2k AS
    AD
    DNS
    DHCP
    File server
    Winproxy (Only for cache, no NAT)
    Terminal Server
    Print Server
    CS Server


    And my firewall running Smoothwall
    4:17pm up 93 days, 19:45, 0 users, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
    Pentium 75
    16mb ram
    800mg hdd
    Ext 56k Modem

    Finally my main fileserver running Mandrake 7.1 (i think)
    Under going upgrade as we speak
    Pegasus
    Pentium 200
    32mb RAM
    6.4gb Boot Drive
    2 x 40gb 7200rpm IBM HDD

    EDIT: Oh and all these are running through two 420VA UPS'. I usually get around 30mins of runtime with 2 Monitors going. Note the uptime of the first two servers, that's when I introduced the UPS' into the system.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2001
  16. deanx0r

    deanx0r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD
    Cable Gateway PC

    Windows 2000 Professional SP2
    Intel Celeron 433Mhz
    96MB PC100 RAM
    El' Cheapo 8MB Video Card
    SBLive 16 ISA
    Samsung 2.1GB HDD
    Sony FDD
    No CD-ROM
    Surecom 10/100 Network Card (Connected to Optus@Home)
    Cnet 10/100 Network Card (Connected to network)
    Nortel CM100 Cable Modem
    Some 15" Hyundai Monitor, was a LG Goldstar but that sort of caught on fire!


    -=deanx0r=-
     
  17. driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Server 1

    Pentium 166MMX
    64MB SDRAM
    1.7GB Seagate UDMA
    540MB Seagate PIO3
    Creative 6X CD-ROM
    3.5" & 5.25" FDDs (collecting dust)
    Some Intel-based 10/100 LAN
    Acer 10Mbit LAN (unused)
    Netcomm Roadster II 56 Ultra SVD external Modem
    Voltage Regulator to run the external modem off the PC's PSU.
    Diamond 2MB S3 Virge Video Card
    No Monitor...Remote Controlled
    Windows NT 4.0 Server + WinRoute
    Does PDC, DHCP, DNS, WINS, NAT, Proxy, Firewall, overnight downloading & the occasional NT server experiment.

    The specs aren't crash hot, but the machine does it job!

    and...

    Server 2 - for Testing
    Pentium II 400Mhz
    Abit BX6rev2 Motherboard
    128MB PC-100 RAM
    13GB Quantum EX HDD
    2.6GB something HDD
    Netgear 10/100 LAN
    Sound Blaster AWE32
    Trident 9440 Video Card
    14" POS monitor
    And runs whatever i want to play with.
     
  18. lucaz

    lucaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Nimbin
    at home iv downgraded...to

    smoothwall
    bootup reads as (120+pro) 100mhz, cyrix maybe?
    a mobo (next time i open will check)
    48meg 2x16+2x8 edo ram
    1.2gig quantum
    sn5200 pci fast adapter
    disconected fdd and 24x cd rom
    herc 1meg vid
    crappy keyboard cant use E key for passwords cause it gets stuck
    roadster ll 56 ultra

    this setup (the mobo) wont boot to cdrom so i install smoothwall onto the hdd on another machine

    desregarding a few niggles (dialup dl speeds included) its serves internet to a 4 user workgroup very well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2001
  19. BurnFEST

    BurnFEST Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    NE Suburbs, Adelaide.
    name: none, just 192.168.0.1
    cpu: Cyrix 5x86 100 (486)
    ram: 24mb
    Hard Drive: none
    eth0: PCI NE2000
    eth1: Realtek 8123 10/100
    Floppy drive

    Running CoyoteLinux and running as my NAT server/Firewall
     
  20. Dr_Ben

    Dr_Ben Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Name: Bob (or Bobstone)

    Specs:
    Pentium 100 (soon to be upgraded to dual P100)
    32mb edo ram (soon to be 48)
    3.2Gb Maxtor hard drive
    built in 2mb video card
    realtek 10mb network card
    no keyboard mouse or monitor
    no cdrom drive
    removable hard drive caddy
    floppy drive (yay!)
    external LED CPU usage meter
    Soundblaster vibra 16

    Running Redhat 6.2 (going to 7.1 soon) as my firewall etc etc
    Lives under my monitor for now until I find somewhere out of the way for it, or put it in a case too big to fit there!
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: