List your crappy home servers!

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Roscoe, Jul 28, 2001.

  1. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    that all depends on what you are used to working on..

    i consider the dual xeon 2.4's at work to be rather crappy compared to working on my dual opteron 248's
    they have the same amount of ram, mine has less DAS disk space.
    whereas im sure some people would jump through hoops for a p3 1ghz
     
  2. llamaboy

    llamaboy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Brunswick West, VIC
    I thought e-vectras/e-pcs only took 256mb RAM max.? I've got few, they work great, love their size. Only downside is their low RAM capacity.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Roscoe

    Roscoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    842
    Location:
    Earth.. I think
    I'm used to working on HP Superdome servers worth a few mill each... in fact the smallest server I currently work on has 6 CPU's and 32GB of RAM. :)
     
  4. freely

    freely Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Name: Power
    OS: Win 2k3 server
    CPU: 1.2Ghz
    HDD: 20Gb
    RAM: 128Mb
    Job: DHCP, DNS, Web server, runs games when at lans

    Name: IPCop
    OS: IPCop
    CPU: 300Mhz
    HDD: 4Gb
    RAM: 64Mb
    Job: IPCop with no internet conection

    Nether have Keyboard, mouse or monitor
    both have basic 10/100 network cards
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2005
  5. corvette

    corvette Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    melbourne
    mIRC server

    PIII 550Mhz, Slot 1
    256Mbram pc133
    1x6Gb hdd
    1x8Gb hdd
    Cdrom
    No monitor - Remote acess
    OS Windows server 2003 Enterprise

    Data Server / Main RIG

    AMD Athlon 3500+ 64bit
    1Gb DDR400
    1x30gb
    1x40gb
    1x80gb
    1x200gb
    Dvdrw
    dvdrom
    OS windows server 2003 Enterprise SP2
     
  6. FrankGrimes

    FrankGrimes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    Sydney
    Name: Homer.home.local
    OS: OpenBSD 3.7
    CPU: P3 866
    HDD: 20Gb
    RAM: 512mb
    Job: DHCP, DNS, Web server, Squid, DynDNS, NAT, Packet Filter, Photo Gallery etc
     
  7. danieln

    danieln Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Bondi Beach Sydney

    is this a home server? and is the windows 2003 original?
     
  8. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,684
    Location:
    Canberra
    Of course, listen to M$ and they'll tell you Windows Server costs less in the long run than Linux, you'd have to be silly to get linux. :rolleyes:
     
  9. danieln

    danieln Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Bondi Beach Sydney

    :D

    cvidler - what OS do you run on your server?n
     
  10. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,684
    Location:
    Canberra
    I'm silly according to M$.
     
  11. corvette

    corvette Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    melbourne
    um well wether i choose to run windows 2003 against linux is my choice and i really couldnt care with linux windows does what i want it to do



    EDIT : yes this is my home server, im the co owener of a company called Ausclans and i use my comps to hold alot of data accounts and updates and linux binarys, and backups in case our game servers go down
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2005
  12. cybergecko52

    cybergecko52 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,197
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Settle down, I don't think he was having a direct attack at you. More like a joke about M$ winblows.
     
  13. driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I reckon if it wasn't for all those copies of M$ Server in people's homes, they'd be a lot less people running fully licensed Windows on their production systems at work. Everyone would experiment with Linux instead, and that would make a BIG difference in what one recommends spending the work's money on!
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2005
  14. corvette

    corvette Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    melbourne
    i got nothing against linux personally we use fedora core 4 for all of our game servers. i dont have a personal hate against 1 or the other i just find it easier for me seen as i deal with a linux enviroment all day i just wanna dumb out on windows
     
  15. deepspring

    deepspring Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,601
    Location:
    Maitland, NSW
    Reckon these specs:

    P133, 128MB SDRAM, 2GB HDD (OS), 4GB HDD (data), 10MBit NIC.

    Would be fine for running Slackware with the following daemons/services:

    - HTTPD + SSL (PHP / C++, sqlite and xml for CGI)
    - IMAP v2.0
    - Postfix
    - FTP (local only)
    - SSH (local only)
    - BIND
    - PPPD

    Be gentle it's been ages since I've built a linux server...
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2005
  16. changlinn

    changlinn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,094
    I personally run linux for my webservers, mail and second stage firewall, yet still run a windows 2000 box(oem) for my active directory and file server and run windows 2003 120day trial for my MCSE lab.
     
  17. Oblong Cheese

    Oblong Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    10,587
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Celeron Tualatin 1000Mhz
    2x256MC PC100 CL2
    Intel i815 "EPT" chipset board
    Western Digital 200Gb 7200RPM 8Mb cache

    Gentoo Linux (Stage 1)

    It: serves files, web, stats pages, mysql, php, whatever random servery-type application I thought sounded cool is on it. It's for me to learn Linux. It's my toy, while serving a useful purpose.

    Edit: Just reading through this thread I can see that a lot of people have a lot of servers... I don't know why one person would need up to five machines serving various services, in the same house, but oh well. Also most of these systems seem to be total overkill. :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2005
  18. andrewbt

    andrewbt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Canberra

    I really dont want my internally facing boxes also serving stuff to the internet, and vice versa, I have two seperate boxes on seperate networks, and then my fileserver and my internal lan on another, then my wireless stuff on another again...

    Hardware is cheap these days and people make do with they have got, but yes i totally agree a P3 1Ghz is overkill for what your doing when a p2 266 could do it as well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2005
  19. nu11

    nu11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    S 33° - E 151°
    Added another member to my network ....

    PIII 533Mhz
    512MB RAM
    2 x 200G HDD RAID1 + JBOD
    DDS3 tape drive + CD-R ROM

    Its called 'silo' running Debian as a file/backup server.
     
  20. Oblong Cheese

    Oblong Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    10,587
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What's wrong with internally-accessed boxes also being available to the internet? NAT FTW. :p

    The reason I have a Celeron 1Ghz is because I'm using Gentoo. Gentoo is a source distro that has to be compiled; I didn't feel like waiting 5+ days for a P2 266 to do it. :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: