List your crappy home servers!

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Roscoe, Jul 28, 2001.

  1. Mac No Pickle

    Mac No Pickle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,268
    Location:
    Bendigo
    My print server is a 486 with 24MB of ram running a linux distro off a floppy. I plan to retire this and replace it and my printer with a proper network laser printer.

    My fileserver is in pieces and will be built next week or so (if Pluscorp respond to my emails (sent two last week and another today, looks like they dont want my $1300).
    Dual P3 1Ghz
    Abit VP6
    512 MB
    2RU chenbro case
    ----------yet to be ordered (as above I would have ordered last week if they responded)
    4*200GB hdds
    yumcha low profile video card


    Yeah it's overkill and kind of isn't in the original theme of this thread but still. :p
     
  2. kooliez

    kooliez Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    Brisbane - Qld
    Server name - DUALIE
    Up time - 15 days

    ... Windows 2000 PRO SP4
    ... Dual Intel XEON 400MHz on Intel MS440GX mobo
    ... 256MB RAM (1 x 256MB ECC SDRAM)
    ... 1 x 2GB IDE HDD (Windows)
    ... 2 x 4.3GB IDE HDD (Shared Files)
    ... 2 x 9.1GB SCSI HDD on LSI Express 200 SCSI RAID card (raid 0)
    ... 52 x CDROM Drive
    ... 1 x Intel 82558 NIC connected to Neatgear DG841 4 port ADSL router
    ... nVidia GeForce 2 MX400 64Mb AGP
    ... 15" Monitor
    ... Active Directory
    ... Does nightly backup of 4 WinXP Pro clients


    That's my server...
     
  3. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    Avocet

    p4celeron 2.4ghz
    512mb DDR 266 (2x 256)
    1x 80gb - windows 2000
    4x 80gb - data
    GeForce 2 MX400 64Mb AGP
    via 10/100 nic onboard

    also have

    Sarxos

    celeron 1.3ghz
    384mb ram (128 + 256)
    6.4gb - linux
    onboard 10/100
    onboard 32mb graphics
     
  4. deranged128

    deranged128 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    4,415
    Location:
    NFI
    Crappy Home Server

    My crappy home server, now only used when my BB connection is down and I need a dialup connection/router.

    AMD 386 DX40
    Unknown motherboard with AMI BIOS (Y2K compatible)
    8MB 30 pin RAM (8 x 1MB)
    2 x 10Mbit D-Link ISA Nics (bridged)
    Conner 170MB HDD for additional cache
    Legend ISA Vid Card
    External 56k modem
    Running Freesco 0.2.7
    Provides router, dialup and DHCP server functions

    And yes, it still works :)

    edit: File Server is Dual MP2000 so doesn't qualify for inclusion (yet)
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2004
  5. muzzy

    muzzy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    brisbane
    ~3 years later I have since upgraded to a Pentium 200mmx with 32mb SDRAM on a mobo with some (TX?) Intel chipset in an AT tower case! Both NICs are now 10/100 realteks (after some lightning strikes grr..) but that's alright because now internet throughput is up to ~700kb/s downstream.

    Since 2001 (I was in yr11 at the time), I had installed a harddrive and used Debian for about 2 years (so I could FTP/file/print/mail/web/ssh/misc serve), but in May this year I went back to a floppy based router distro (Dachstein) because I didn't need any server functions and its quieter and more energy efficient)

    I've had uptimes of over 6 months running debian - until a power outage. Debian never caused me any trouble and if you're considering using Linux as a server I couldn't think of a better Distro than debian, its so simple and robust.

    Dachstein is pretty awesome too, again great stability, but its not quite as versatile. However they're doing some pretty cool stuff with newer releases (Bering is the current development branch, check out LEAF).

    The other thing I have gained from this experience is Linux competance, (for a few months now I've been running Slackware current as the only OS on my main box), and some respect for PC hardware (3 years and the only hardware failures are due to Telstra having no protection on the client's end of their cable internet service). This is certainly an improvement on the dodgy 8086->486 machines I put up with as a kid.

    edit: speelintg
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2004
  6. nodabs

    nodabs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    melb
    now running

    hilly
    uptime 34 days
    PIII 800
    256Mb sd ram
    20G system and general disk
    60G network files

    win serv 2003 enterprise
    domain controller
    file server
    print server
    DNS
    trillian;)

    Tux
    uptime 198 days :D
    celey 333
    64mb ram
    4G drive
    redhat 8
    apache
    mySQL
    work backup
     
  7. sweathers

    sweathers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    133
    Your all using domain controllers on your home networks?

    Mind if i ask why (below 10 PC's)?
    What added bonus does it give you?
     
  8. ToranaGuy

    ToranaGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,375
    Location:
    ** In the Shed **
    I'm not using a DC on my home network, but i have my mcp and soon to be a mcsa as well so i do have a DC i play with, but it's not on all the time. Win2k server.

    The AD is a nice piece of software, and it makes managing even a small network rather simple. You get to push updates out to all the pc's, you can load up specified software, remote admin of passwords and so on. An example, hate IE? You can stop it from being used for the whole lan with AD. Love Netscape, you can push that out to every workstation on the lan. :D

    Compared to say my lan running a Esmith server, based on Red Hat linux. Admin for most of the lan is done at each pc, and server admin on the server. If i had say win2k and AD, i could admin the server from anywhere on the lan with the admin pack. I could also admin every workstation on the lan from each other.

    I know a fair amount about win2k server, exchange 2k server and the AD, why do i choose linux? Because of $$ mainly. I've only got an evaluation copy of win2k server, exchange 2k server and so on. Also, i've found my linux setup a tad more stable than the same hardware running win2k server.

    Cheers

    ToranaGuy
     
  9. blackrage

    blackrage Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Har my shiz server

    name Old and busted
    OS winxp pro sp2
    cpu p3 500mhz (Katmai)
    192 mb ram ( 1 x 128 pc133 2 x 32 pc 100)
    hdds
    1x 4.0 gig seagate
    1x 3.8 gig fujitsu
    1 x 40 gig seagate
    Rest of the normal shiz

    currently my file server mainly mp3's and game patchs/updates and any other random crap i dont want on my box :p
     
  10. MY12NV

    MY12NV (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Wollongong
    Got a

    P3 700 with 256Ram and 10gb and 2 dvd roms

    Runs 2000 Adv Server

    Exchange, AD, ISA Server, Tren Micro Office Scan

    also got a P3-500 with 64 Ram and 80 gb, Runing Suse 9.1 just acting as file server for now.

    REst is fed with Wireless Router and adsl modems
     
  11. ring wraith

    ring wraith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,120
    Location:
    A.K.A Frank
    Ive decided to do a little picture story for my server :)

    its a smoothwall box:

    P2 333
    64 MB PC100 SDRAM
    500mb HD
    2 10/100 net cards
    generic vid adapter
    blah blah

    to GET to the "server room" :p follow the staircase downstairs to our home theatre:
    [​IMG]

    Then turn the corner to the aboveground basement AKA server room:

    [​IMG]

    And there it is, the server workstation:

    [​IMG]

    the leather office chair wouldnt fit, so I had to settle for something a little less comfy, but its still quite adequate.
     
  12. Polkosity

    Polkosity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Canberra
    box name: iraqi
    cpu: 233 pentium MMX (at 266)
    mobo: p5svb (abit?)
    ram: 4x64MB EDO (256)
    nics: SMC etherezy 10Mb eisa
    Intel pro 10/100 pci
    Skymaster xi-626 802.11b
    hdd: 2gb seagate
    20gb western digital
    case : wooden box. Has"Choice dates, clean and sound, Grown in iraq" stenciled on the side. I found it in my grandads garage. This is why it's named iraqi, I was gonna call it Saddam, but no.
    OS : Slackware 8.1 kernel 2.4.25 with many program and kernel patches.

    has no keyboard monitor mouse fdd or cd, only user acces is via network.

    root@iraqi:/etc# uptime
    12:10:56 up 50 days, 19:01, 1 user, load average: 0.05, 0.07, 0.01
     
  13. ToranaGuy

    ToranaGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,375
    Location:
    ** In the Shed **
    Where's the uptimes for some server's that take a beating? Mine's not exactly a crappy one tho... :D

    Mine is taking a beating, running all it's services, and 2 x f@h clients. Also does a few gb's a day transfer's from the smb shares to the lan and back. Cpu loading is always 100%, day and night, gotta love the rock solid stability! No, i'm not running a UPS either!

    :D

    Cheers

    ToranaGuy
     
  14. Polkosity

    Polkosity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Canberra
    I used to run folding on that iraqi box, but it took a month to finish one WU and would always lock up after around 48 hours. It used to have other uses, but now it sits there routing, firewalling, proxing, add blocking, traffic shaping and logging with ntop. All these things are pretty light on the CPU, but ntop uses alot of mem, hence the relatively highg 256 ram on a crappy 266 proccessor.
     
  15. ToranaGuy

    ToranaGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,375
    Location:
    ** In the Shed **
    Your OC couldn't be totally stable then. I had ( have but not in use ) a p200mmx that could run 3.5x75 for 266 all day, every day, with 3.2v core and 3.6v io. :D Abit sm5 mobo and 2 x 32mb sdram sticks. I used to run it on 250, 3 x 83 for a little bit higher pci bus bandwidth tho.

    I was wondering about the ram, why so much. Ntop explains it. Looks like a very handy piece of software, i might give it a run on my e-smtih server and see what it does. Altho, it would call for a ram upgrade, as i've only got 8.8mb of 512mb actually free. :eek:

    Cheers

    ToranaGuy
     
  16. Prosper

    Prosper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Firewall:
    IPCop
    P166MMX, ASUS something-or-other
    72MB EDO
    78 days uptime.
    3 Intel Pro 100's
    3G HDD, 5400 RPM.
    Matrox Mystique 2MB

    Webserver/dev box:
    Debian 'woody'
    IBM Z-Pro
    Dual P-III 933 Xeons
    Quadra2, 64MB
    3 Intel Pro 100's
    1 3Com 100
    1GB RDRAM
    dual cahnnel onboard U-160
    AMI-438 LVD SCSI Raid controller, 3 channel, 128MB
    4 Seagate 18GB 10k RPM HDD's (U160)
    1 IBM 18GB 10kRPM HDD (U160)
    1 WD 120GB 7200 RPM 'BB" HDD

    Paperweight - Ex-Firewall:
    486DX4-100 @ 150 (50x3)
    64MB FP-RAM
    1.2GB HDD
    CL54xx VESA video w/1MB
    2 3Com 3C503 ISA 10MB NICS
    1 Novell NE2000 16-bit ISA NIC
     
  17. IRQQ

    IRQQ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Name: Defender
    OS: Smoothwall
    CPU: Celeron 333
    RAM: 2X64MB SD 133
    HDD: 3.5Gb IDE
    video: 3D Rage LT Pro
    up 1 day, 22:16, 1 user, load average: 0.02, 0.02, 0.00
     
  18. ridewitme

    ridewitme God of English

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    WPH, Sydney
    Name: Fusion
    OS: Smoothwall
    CPU: Celeron 400 w/ passive heatsink
    mobo: Compaq 440LX based mobo
    RAM: 2x128mb SD
    HDD: 4.3GB IDE
    network: Intel Pro/100+ & 3com "corkscrew" NIC
    video: Ati Rage 4mb
    functions: NAT, DNS, DHCP, Firewall and Net sharing.

    Also kudos to lwells for his Bigpond and Smoothwall guide :thumbup:

    10:51pm up 6 days, 15:32, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
     
  19. Rake

    Rake Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,342
    Location:
    Syd
    Name: Axe
    OS: Smoothwall 2
    Hardware (Copied from his little site):
    * Motherboard: Gigabyte 6BXC
    * CPU: Pentium 3 550mHz (Slot 1)
    * VGA: Some old AGP card with a few MB's of RAM
    * NIC #1: 3Com "Corkscrew" 10/100mbps NIC (eth0 / "Green")
    * NIC #2: Intel i82557/i82558 series 10/100 NIC (eth1 / "Red")
    * HDD: Seagate Medalist 6423 6.4GB (ST36423A)
    * CD-ROM: Diamond Data 40x
    * Modem: Nortel CM-115
    * Switch: XNet 8-Port NWay Switch (SH-9008A)
    * PSU: Forton 235W (FSP235-60GI)

    Does all the net sharing, firewall, like everyone else with Smoothwall :p

    11:29pm up 1 day, 8:43, 0 users, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00 (Its had heaps better uptime but the mod was only just completed the other day so :))

    Axe very recently went under a pretty big mod too!

    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?s=&threadid=285053
    http://users.communis.com.au/~rgrant/Axe/
     
  20. bigchris

    bigchris Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    WA
    Name: Server Oh, so original.
    OS: Gentoo

    * Some Unknown MSI Mobo
    * Celeron 600Mhz
    * 64MB SDRAM
    * Onboard VGA and NIC
    * 30 GB IBM HDD

    http://www.bigis.net/phpsysinfo-dev/index.php

    23:40:40 up 1 day, 7:06, 1 user, load average: 0.15, 0.32, 0.21

    Just installed actually, runs

    * Bittorrent downloading 24/7
    * Web ( bigis.net )
    * psybnc
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: