Litecoin mining LTC/FTC/DGC/ETC (Do not offer items for sale in this thread)

Discussion in 'Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Mining' started by ernie, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. Lordz

    Lordz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Mildura
    netcoins gone mad, wish i still had some :(

    0.00110350
     
  2. doubter

    doubter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Thanks for that PB. From a bit of research, I have put together the following setup (i will be buying from pccasegear and scorptec in melb):

    *****
    Silverstone Strider 1000W Gold Evolution ST1000G $219

    Intel Pentium G3220 3.0GHz Dual Core CPU $69
    ASRock Z87 Killer Motherboard, LGA1150, Intel Z87 Chipset, 4x 3050MHz+ DDR3 (OC), 3x PCI-E 3.0 x16, 6x SATA3 $189

    Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 280X OC (Base:870MHz,Boost:1020MHz), $379
    Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 280X OC (Base:870MHz,Boost:1020MHz), $379

    Corsair XMS3 4GB) 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 1.5V - free (already have)

    8GB USB for linux $10
    *****

    Thoughts/criticisms?
    Also anyone know where I could get some PCIE risers in AU for cheap?
     
  3. Lordz

    Lordz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Mildura
  4. paul8811

    paul8811 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,277
    wow, just saw...I sold some yesterday at 9, just wish I have the patients to hold onto them for longer.
     
  5. paul8811

    paul8811 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,277
    The Motherboard is overkill, try one of the H81 m-atx boards, I picked up Asus H81 pro ( 4 pcie slots) from msy for $75, I think most manufactures do similar boards
     
  6. gbh

    gbh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,175
    Location:
    Sydney
    are you a doctor?

    :lol:
     
  7. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,435
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )

    Epic, i love ghetto shit like that, makes me happy to know i am not the only dodgy fucker out there :D

    Let me down a bit by not hacking up the original cooler :p

    Now to try and crossfire that shit ;)



    I actually lol'd
     
  8. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,435
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    0.0013 now just to rub salt into the wound a bit more :p

    I bet the difficulty will shoot up with everybody switching back to mine them.

    Wondering when to cash in my 130k of them....... i want $$$ now but waiting for block reward halving :/

    Really sick of all the jumping between coins, might lock it in on netcoins from now on, they seem to have the most potential.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  9. Itanium

    Itanium Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I would expect Netcoin to keep rising beyond double what it is now, especially with the block halving due again soon, silly to sell now :D

    Does anyone solo farm them at current difficulty around 1mill? I farmed them at 35k-100k difficultly about a month ago and found 2 super blocks in one day, just lucky I guess :tongue:
     
  10. paul8811

    paul8811 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,277
    whoops, my excuse is its new years day & i need to sleep
     
  11. paul8811

    paul8811 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,277
    I need to look into solomining...i'm at 4mhs...wondering if its more profitable
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  12. Itanium

    Itanium Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    My setup was very minimal back then when difficulty was around 1-5, now it's at 20 for Netcoin. I had around 900k/hash, I've mined it since with 2500k/hash and find a block every 6-8 hours although it varies somewhat. I've literally opened cgminer and found 2 blocks within 2 minutes of each other before too
     
  13. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,435
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Or on teh other side you could mine for a week and not find a single block.

    That is the risk you take,i was mining on a pool early on and i was pretty much even on what i got and how much i would have gotten for the blocks that i found on the pool, it comes down to pure luck and i am extremely unlucky so i pool mine :D

    wish i could mine 1000 NET every 60 mins like the good old days
     
  14. paul8811

    paul8811 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,277
    Yep, still thought I would try for shits & giggles, followed this guide - https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1133-netcoin-net-information/

    But cant connect, get invalid username & server..I just put the same username & password in the config file. Do I need to do anything to ports on windows firewall or router?

    cgminer.exe --scrypt -o localhost:11311 -u paul8811 -p 1234

    edit-think I might need to wait for my wallet to sync...will try again once it has
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  15. doubter

    doubter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    the board is only overkill because of the price? it will work fine and wont pull anymore wattage than other chipsets/less featured boards?

    I have unfortunately been unable to find a cheap board in stock.. also the board will allow me to slot in the two cards with some distance between them for airflow without the need to buy extenders etc. can also go a third card in the future. - but I welcome further criticism, will prob put through the order tonight.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  16. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,435
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    I have been told to make a shortcut to your netcoinqt.exe and add -server to the cmd line, worth a try?

    foudn 50 Netcoins in an old pool i used to use... lol every little bit counts :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  17. GGG-2

    GGG-2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,627
    I've never had any luck with solo mining using -o localhost. I've always used the machines local ipaddress.

    also make sure in your .conf file to add
    This is assuming your local network ip range is 192.168.1.*

    to confirm your wallet is in server mode drop to a command prompt and type in this
    Then search the the listed ports to find the port number of the client. so in netcoins case 11311.

    If you need any more help on this. just PM me
     
  18. harrye30

    harrye30 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Rumours kicking around of Kitteh coin being added to some exchanges in the coming month or so as a direct competitor to DOGE. Worth looking into anyway, I mined a few 100k. Letting it sit atm, will see how it pans out and for 12hrs mining time I'm not loosing a whole lot even if it does die a painful death.

    Harry
     
  19. paul8811

    paul8811 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,277

    Thanks looks like I go it working after the wallet synced....I believe if I shutdown the wallet & get message like "Pool 0 not providing work fast enough" then its working? I reopened the wallet & it resumed?

    So if I solo mine from multiple rigs I just use my bat file to point to the main rigs ip? Also seems to be working - Assume A:0 is normal when going solo?
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  20. GGG-2

    GGG-2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,627
    You don't need to run the wallet on every computer.

    Run it in server mode on your machine machine, say it's local ipaddress is 192.168.1.2

    Then on each of your other machines. you just need run this

    As long as you added the below lines to your netcoin.conf. then every computer on your network will be able to solo mine to the main wallet.
    It makes no difference to solo mining if they use the same username and password as solo mining doesn't create shares like using a pool does.

    Let me know if you have any issues.

    I think it's going to be added first to CoinEX exchange, it now has Mooncoin on it already!
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014

Share This Page

Advertisement: