1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

LIVE Old Computer LIVE

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by shane41, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Loop Goose

    Loop Goose Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    Sydney, 2077
    I'm still tired from helping you move that entertainment cabinet !
     
  2. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,662
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Any updates?
     
  3. mad_mic3

    mad_mic3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Nulkaba
    Hey Shane
    Tell me you didnt use a Belt sander:eek:
     
  4. mad_mic3

    mad_mic3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Nulkaba
    Go to you local farm suppler/s shop & ask for some phosphric acid
    ( the main ingredience in De-Oxidine, Old school Painting/Panel Beating)
    "Farmers use it to adjust ph levels"

    dilute it down with water,
    "all ways add acid/ chemical to water"
    than give the rusted surface a wipe with it, than rinse with water and dry it off, "Dont do it in the sun" or you will have trouble with painting it
    "any white powder left is just wiped off with a dry rag before undercoating

    An old wifes tale is that you have to get the surface sparkling, before all traces of rust are gone

    malasuse will remove rust to, but you need to leave it soaking for ages

    Rust converter is like a Dremel

    :( is all i can say
     
  5. mad_mic3

    mad_mic3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Nulkaba
    Sure you didnt pick up crabs on that road trip:p
     
  6. mad_mic3

    mad_mic3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Nulkaba
    Dam that sucker is big;)
     
  7. Ryno_89

    Ryno_89 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Caboolture
    Might have some more interesting bits for ya shaneo! Came into possession of some old nvidia cards!
     
  8. the3coopers

    the3coopers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Sydney 2151
    Well, I'd hardly consider a 3650 as "particularly much win". :Paranoid: :lol:

    Passmark 144 = like a 6800GT

    The fastest AGP were the 3850 and 4670 - about 3 times quite (passmark 430 or so)

    Basically they are PCI-e cards with a Bridge Chip to communicate with AGP bus. So a 3850 PCI-e did 542 and the AGP did 432 (25% less) but that wasn't the AGP Bus getting saturated, but the bridge chip not coping.
     
  9. the3coopers

    the3coopers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Sydney 2151
    It wasn't quite as good as that when I collected it... I spent about 1/2 a day cleaning and polishing that bloody thing. :tongue:

    Did you get all 3 of the LEDs in the front intake slots working? And that cylindrical temperature gauge thingy, did you notice that you can rotate it by pressing the lock button on one side or the other?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,419
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Happy with that video card Coops.
    Next best is a x800, so getting there. :)

    Plenty of early pci-e on ebay,good ones too & cheap.
    But the good agp are contested.

    Case is damn nice thankyou. :) Super happy with it actually.
    Put one of my best systems in it.

    But all a bit on the back burner while I sort this jungle & actually
    find what the hell is in here. :lol:
     
  11. the3coopers

    the3coopers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Sydney 2151
    I have one of those - it seems OK at least to 1024x768 in XP, but needs a good clean and new thermal pads or paste.

    What did you do about the missing 5.25" rails? Seller went quiet and I had nothing suitable even in my Antec cases of the same era. GRRR why do case manufacturers change things like rails... it's not like they need to revise the design every time they make a new "skin" :mad:

    Look at what I just bought...

    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!


    Now I have somewhere to store my shit, instead of piling it on top it more shit. Jelly?
     
  12. the3coopers

    the3coopers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Sydney 2151
    After seeing your Case de-rusting method, I'll just get you to come and fix it.

    HEY - since it was already half way there, how come you didn't go for a Komm Rust scheme on that AT case? :confused:

    Yeah, but you'd only need 1/4 that if you had some horizontal surfaces like I now have :tongue:

    BTW - the eBay shelving seems cheap at $170 per 2m x 2m bay, but I ended up spending $1100 on it (plus the $340 per month for the storage hire). Gosh it's costly having to make a safe home for all our old crap.
     
  13. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,662
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Interesting board - does the TNT2 have its own memory or does is use the SDRAM?

    Shame no AGP slot.
     
  14. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Melbourne
    TNT2 would have its own RAM.
     
  15. AgB deano

    AgB deano Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    It does, you can see the four ram ICs directly above the tnt2 chip

    The latest systems above look to be in rather good condition. I guess I am used to seeing them full of dust/rubbish/blown componenets haha :/
     
  16. AgB deano

    AgB deano Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    My personal favourites are mice/rat nests in the case :Paranoid:

    That said, some pcs have that much dust around the cpu, it may as well be a birds nest :D

    Also, I love the use of the $1.50 DC bucks you've used, they are handy ey :)

    That said, if you wanted a fixed RPM/voltage then I would have just put a power resistor in series with it TBH.

    A better solution than what you've got would be a linearised thermistor setup so the voltage/rpm is adjusted on the fly according to the cpu heatsink temps (similar to what the PWM signal from the motherboard is supposed to do, as heat/load rises from cpu load, fan rpm increases to compensate). You would mount the thermistor parallel to the 'voltage adjustment' pot and run the thermistor down to the heatsink and mount it with some thermal tape or thermal adhesive compound. I used this setup quite a lot as it is an extremely easy way to setup a thermal tracking fan controller with very minimal effort.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2014
  17. mad_mic3

    mad_mic3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Nulkaba
    Hey Shane, how tall are the trailer sides, only asking cause you need a step ladder to get in its:tongue:
    Looks the good nows:thumbup:
     
  18. mad_mic3

    mad_mic3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Nulkaba
    What a Shane "shame" i mean, all that alloy:tongue:
     
  19. MonoJoker

    MonoJoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,775
    Location:
    SE Qld
    Needs more 'hungry boards' ;)
     
  20. MonoJoker

    MonoJoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,775
    Location:
    SE Qld
    No rush and you're aware I'm in Laidley right? If necessary I will meet you somewhere closer to Brisbane and bring the boxes of sh... Useful parts I have here for your perusal ;-)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: