1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

LIVE Old Computer LIVE

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by shane41, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    The problem is trying to get another to fit the Osborne case
    As this some type OEM board made for Osborne circa 1995

    Many other pc boxes I'm looking into now still use din for keyboard.
    One of those was socket7


    Click to view full size!


    Even thought it has sis part, also ps2 built in vid + audio. So with the riser card you have low profile type cards above the mb.

    Very much like Htpc type mb now.

    I may have nailed a Socket5 :wired:, same style & that will take the bigger pentium + pci slots for sound.
     
  2. the3coopers

    the3coopers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Sydney 2151
    Chuck away that poxy Lian Li rubbish you are using, and drop the new Haswell rig inside it. :lol:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Actually that is very tricky Mr Coops. :wired:

    The outside of the case is like a slow pc, but inside a screamer.
    The classic sleeper. :sick:
     
  4. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    You have my attention :wired:

    What are you using Callan to magnify your view??
     
  5. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    OK guys, been slack on updates & know you've been patient. :p

    My Googlefu has failed miserably finding a board for the Osborne Revival.

    So just negotiating this Intel atm. Same style as the Osborne, better processor but perhaps lacking inbuilt sound. But that can be sorted with a sound card in the ISA slot riser if needed.

    [​IMG]

    May know something tomorrow. :thumbup:
     
  6. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    Looking at the photos, it appears this board's connecter for the riser card is quite different from the Osbourne's.

    Does it come with the riser card? If not, it may not be a real problem as this board has onboard video, IDE, serial, PS/2 mouse and keyboard... you won't be able to fit a sound card or network card. There are parallel port alternatives for sound and network but neither are ideal.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    I'm uncertain the connections atm bud. But damn hard to get something
    similar to Osbornes.

    I'm sure it has onboard video, so that's all I need to get to run.
    I'll look into the riser card once I have the board.
    Expect 2 week wait though as coming from Baltimore USA.:) Finger crossed it works out.

    Riser card will look into, once I have this board in my hot little hands.

    + Another secret I have lined up. Think bit more special but keeping
    tight lipped until I have secured it.
     
  8. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    It's pretty damn hard to find the right riser card, they're usually incompatible with any other boards. If this board doesn't have the riser I'd suggest holding off until you find one that does.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Thanks re concern DonutKing.
    But I'm kind of past 50% committed now, maybe not pull out.
    See what happen tomorrow.
    + Plenty other bits to work on in the mean time.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
  11. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,858
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yep, that's normal. Once it's clean the core shouldn't have that lattice pattern, it'll just be smooth black.
     
  12. the3coopers

    the3coopers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Sydney 2151
  13. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    That pattern looked strange, like the top layer was gone.
    Could not find bigger than say 600-800mhz pentiums on fleabay.
    Has to look elsewhere. $12 shipped is OK.

    Been having a go at the old AT boxes. What a pain.
    Take the video card out & put another in, then wont post.

    Stupid idea those plastic pins behind the board. Fair amount of pressure needed to reinsert those ISA cards.

    But no matter, the flex underneath is enough, that the card does not seat fully in the slot. Then it's remove what's in the way, yank the mb tray out the back, insert cards in correct order again.

    Then by some miracle, maneuver the whole assembly back in the case & hop it works again. :lol:

    Did get a good intel socket7 to the bios today. But no detect hdd, there is something up.
     
  14. Muddy Funster

    Muddy Funster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    QLD 4455
  15. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,858
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yep, that'd be it.

    Modern heatsinks use a thin layer of thermal paste applied directly to the base and shielded from touching anything while in the box. In the past, they'd use a much more durable (and much thicker) thermal pad which didn't need to be protected particularly well, but was also pretty hopeless at actually conducting heat. Just changing the thermal paste (with the stock heatsink) used to be a worthwhile exercise before overclocking.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Gonna start running some basic tests on these boards.
    Time Capsule first.

    As that 933 pentium will be here next week I hope.

    What will show the difference between the..........
    766 Celery 66mhz & the 933 Pentium 133mhz

    Maybe LinX, what about the graphic though??
    Don't want to bust the tiny thing. :lol:
    Then some sequential disc transfers??
     
  17. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    OK guys, been going through some of the gear.
    Here's what I like so far.


    Click to view full size!


    Pc box, back right is Time Capsule with the cpu heatsinks nearby.
    Some possible better boards for it ( better agp slot )

    There's a replacement 486 board there for Osborne Revival This one posts, need sound card though.

    Left hand pc box is Too Far Gone's replacement.
    Does post ( though cant get further ) 200 pentium?? IIRC

    Din to ps2 converter order.
    Lots other stuff to add, need more bench space. :lol:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Small update guys, just let you know what I've been up to.
    Been hunting far & wide for all the bits I need.

    1 x 200mmx is here + the pentium 3 933. ( Also found another 933 in the last machine I expected )

    Was considering running dual 933's, but shipping the board was darn expensive so killed that idea. :(

    Have another 200mmx on it way from Europe. $7 + $8 post <<<< Why not :p

    Tools on order to tackle the trace repairs on the boards.
    Built a damn nice small test box, just drop the pata cable out & can run the old hdd's.

    Have a board on order from the US, been held up by foul winter weather.
    Negotiating some other socket7 boards, can't have too many right. :thumbup:

    Scored a nice old school raid card $1. Yay
    Got sound cards coming from the forum too, not super old though.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    OK so been looking into Too Far Gone replacement.

    Has 40mb ram in it + half gb hdd. Adding 40mb ram ( just made it shadow )
    guess that's because jumpers not configured.

    It's hdd does work ( see plugged into another machine )

    Likely a 386 board as well. Was stopped on the floppy read message all the time. Swapped it out. Now stuck on the wait message.

    Thinking this has to do with cables ( to & from the sound card ) as the cd drive is terminated there but not to the ide card ????

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Try to get this machine to fire, so as to run the 5.25 floppy drive from Too Far Gone Have some OS 5.25 floppies on they're way.
     
  20. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast


    That's probably because its not an IDE CDROM drive. There were a few proprietary interfaces for CDROMs before they were IDE. You would either have a seperate CDROM interface card, or many sound cards supported various proprietary interfaces. If its plugged into the correct port on the sound card, its a Panasonic drive using the Paasonic interface. It may look like an IDE interface, but its not compatible. If you can tell us the model number of the CDROM drive we can confirm this.

    That 'wait' message is complaining that the CMOS battery is flat and the CMOS/BIOS settings are not correct. Replace the battery, reset the CMOS options and try again.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: