Logi. Z-680s and GTXP

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Menthu_Rae, May 1, 2003.

  1. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Hey guys,

    Just wondering about the GTXP and Z-680s... i think i read in reviews ages ago that they had a problem with crackling when using the optical digital output from the GTXP...

    Is this crackling still there or has the problem been solved? Also; does anyone know if the old control pod revisions have been removed from the shelves? I'd like to purchase one of the recent models - or am i better off just asking the store?

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2003
  2. jarnex

    jarnex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,925
    Location:
    Sydney
    It's still there - it seems to be more of a hardware fault (optical out) than something that can be cured by a driver update. And it's not really crackling - it's a very loud screeching sound.

    Judging from previous posts on the Logitech warranty threads, most models on shelves should be the latest firmware. I highly doubt whether any retail store person would know the correct button sequence to show the firmware revision on the Z680 anyway :)
     
  3. PANZERAMD

    PANZERAMD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Bundaberg, Queensland
    It may the GTXP at fault i heard crackling from my speakers when i was using the digtal out on my GTXP it only stoped when i got rid off my GTXP and used my onboard soundstorm.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Bugger... Does that mean i cant use GTXP digital outs at all (i.e. coaxial as well?) or just optical output.

    I really want these speakers; and i dont want to have to buy a new sound card... i quite like the GTXP :(
     
  5. PANZERAMD

    PANZERAMD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Bundaberg, Queensland
    I don't know it may be just be the optical out which is the problem the coaxial out might be fine.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2003
  6. SchRAMBO

    SchRAMBO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,066
    Location:
    Perth
    yeah i've had trouble with my coaxal digital out too on my GTXP too. when trying to get the signal from the card to my Pioneer VSX-D409. It peeves me right off cause i invested $70 for that cable alone and these days I don't use it :(

    so I have to stick to crappy RCA plugs altho these rca cables are super thick and blue. looks alot like a garden hose hehe :)
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2003

Share This Page

Advertisement: