Logo Re-Design critique

Discussion in 'Graphic Design & Digital Art' started by Primüs, Mar 19, 2012.

1. Primüs

Primüs Member

Hi *,

Now first off, i'd like to point out I am primarily a developer. I can make nice clean user interfaces with basic graphics but once it comes to the more advanced graphic manipulation I haven't had a heap of experience.

SO having said that, the parent company that I work for has not had its logo redone in quite some time, or any of the companies really for that matter that I work for, but im starting with the parent.

I tried to keep it in a similar design but just a bit cleaner and more updated, so i'd appreciate some critique on the look etc.

Old:
    [​IMG]

New:
    [​IMG]

Thanks.

2. ikonz0r

ikonz0r Member

Its a refreshing change.
    Only suggestion is maybe piss the grid off and convey the whole "power grid" thing in some other form. Or maybe make the grid bigger like in the original design (Less squares) :thumbup:

3. Menthu_Rae

Menthu_Rae Member

Is it Australia Power Control Systems or Power Control Systems Australia?

The firsts logo suggests the latter, your logo suggests the former (text size, placement). :confused:

Could be worth having some kind of gradient on the grid so it is less prominent but still a feature.

4. iMomOx3

iMomOx3 Member

Try making the map of Australia itself into a power grid, just chuck some lines through it and blend it in.

5. OP
    OP
    Primüs

Primüs Member

I couldn't really think of another way to convey the grid, as I had the same idea of getting rid of it. I'll play around with same size grid just bigger squares

It's Australia Power Control Systems, so what you said means my logo conveys that better, which is good :) As said i wanted to get rid of the grid so i'll try a gradient or something to make it less prominent.

I played around with a different render on the map, but it got a bit distracting behind the text. I'll see if i saved a copy and upload it :)