Lost Planet - Worlds first playable DX10 demo on May 15th

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by lowdog, May 13, 2007.

  1. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    Dreamland.
  2. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,045
    Location:
    Sydney
    But MS Flight Simulator X supports DX10 & it's been out for yonks now?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Well according to the Nvidia blog Lost Planet will be the worlds first playable content with DX10 functionality.
     
  4. Joehax

    Joehax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Sydney
    It doesn't have any DX10 functionality, it will be updated with a patch further down the track.

    Just like Supreme Commander was meant to be DX10 out of the box too :rolleyes:
     
  5. h0uSe

    h0uSe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,128
    Location:
    Hills, Sydney.
    Vista, no thanks.
     
  6. PsychoSmiley

    PsychoSmiley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,683
    Location:
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    Curses, all I need is an 8800... lets see how my finances pan out.

    EDIT: I won't actually be getting an 8800 just for this, rather for stuff like Quake Wars and to improve my frames in Supreme Commander as my 7800GTX blows goats in that.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2007
  7. iNeLuKi

    iNeLuKi (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,651
    Well I have an 8800gtx but I won't be installing vista till Crysis hits.
     
  8. Akimbo

    Akimbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Perth W.A.
    Company of heroes is DirectX10 supported, its in one of the dropdown lists under video configuration.
     
  9. Adam BK

    Adam BK Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Whilst I don't have the game I did read earlier today on the official forums that it wont be supported until the 1.7 patch. http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=137227

    Its just listed under video configuration on 1.6 but not selectable, at least that's what I have read on the forum. I was looking on the forum to see if the game will support dx10.
     
  10. tHiNg

    tHiNg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cmon Lowdog. it's been the 15th for hours now. Or is that the 15th in USA? :upset: Looking forward to your analysis. (and screenshots):thumbup:
     
  11. SkuLL_BoNe

    SkuLL_BoNe (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    LOL

    lost planet is shit house dont get your hopes up
     
  12. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,705
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
  13. hyperstyle

    hyperstyle Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,731
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Strange.

    Anyway that game looks so god damn boring. The environments all look the same and lack colour. I know the game is based on a snow planet so it makes sense but that doesn't change the fact that it's boring. Maybe they should have chosen a planet with lava or some funky vegetation.
     
  14. Rofl_Copter

    Rofl_Copter (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Victoria (3106)
    Well that's gay, still 6 hours to go, I wont get to play until tonight...I wanna see what this DX10 can do.
     
  15. Joehax

    Joehax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Sydney
    1.5 hours to go! (shame I'm at work :\)

    Anyone know how big the download will be?
     
  16. PsychoSmiley

    PsychoSmiley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,683
    Location:
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    I'm guessing around the 600mb-1gig mark... seems to be the norm for demo's now days. Depends all on the content included really and the quality of the assets...
     
  17. OP
    OP
    lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,297
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    2 demos, a DX9 version and a DX10 version, each one is around 350mb.
     
  18. Simonk83

    Simonk83 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Melbourne
    OOh, DX10 goodness, nice :D Looking forward to getting home to try this :) For those who try it before me, post some screenies ;)
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  19. PsychoSmiley

    PsychoSmiley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,683
    Location:
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    Getting it off Fileplanet at the moment... buggered if I know which version it is though.

    EDIT: Bugger Fileplanet, 'node have it available in both flavours.

    DirectX 10 version

    DirectX 9 version
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  20. yanman

    yanman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    6,587
    Location:
    Hobart
    noone at home today that can try it for us?? :) I don't have vista installed either so I can't try it but i'm curious about how DX10 runs
     

Share This Page