Lost trying to plan a trip to Thailand.

Discussion in 'Holidays & Travel' started by Dimtar, Jun 13, 2012.

1. Dimtar

Dimtar Member

Hi All.

Wanting to plan a 3 week holiday to Thailand in October, I believe I want to goto Phuket but to be honest I am currently lost in it all.

My partner and I want to stop by Singapore on the way there to see a family member. Firstly why are flights like $3000 for the both of us? I thought with a few months notice they may not have been so much but maybe its the holiday season? No idea.

I am novice here, where or where abouts should we stay? What should we do, do we goto Pa-Tong or somewhere else?

Any help for a noob would be lovely, thanks guys.

2. stevenx

stevenx Member

What sort of stuff do you want to do in Thailand? It's a big place!

Phuket is, in general, a nasty place. There are nice parts of it but in general... why bother with it when there are much nicer places nearby?

Where are you looking for flights? I can find Sydney or Melbourne to Phuket return on Malaysia Airlines for under $775 per person, heading out around the 3rd and returning around the 23rd.

3. OP
    OP
    Dimtar

Dimtar Member

Eat Thai food (favourite food), see tigers hopefully, hang out in pools/beaches, ride an elephant, go for bush/rainforest/forest walks and explore I guess?

Pa Tong and Ao Nang are the places that people have suggested, I would like to land in Phuket but I am by no means set on staying in it. Ideally I would like a resort or something on the beach.

So far been looking for flights on webjet, those flights you quote look good. The only problem I have is that I have been on Airbus A330's before between Sydney and Melbourne and I nearly cannot fit the seats are sooo close together.

I am hoping that that is because of the seat configuration?

4. stevenx

stevenx Member