1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

m.2 install

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by philquad, Jul 5, 2020.

  1. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    so im updating my brain on new technology, a bit late i know

    so my 1st m.2 drive install, theres 3 screws in the board, i take them out? just use 1 to lock it in ? yea

    m2.png
     
  2. AllezAllez

    AllezAllez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Yep - 3 screws for the 3 format sizes for M.2 Just use the one appropriate for your M.2 drive length.

    No need to screw down too hard. It's just to stop it from moving.
     
    philquad likes this.
  3. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,406
    Location:
    Perth
    Dont forget the thermal pads ;)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    hope theyre in the box ? stick em on the drive facing the board i take it ?
     
  5. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,406
    Location:
    Perth
    On all the ones I have fitted , the are normally under the MOBO M.2 slot cover.
    You normally just peel the film off and you are good to go.
    They don't come with the drive , they are part of the MOBO.
    There are 3 of the fookers on every M.2 slot on the godlike.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    cool, ill look in the box
    was rush job this morning to boot it up as thought a320 would need bios update for a 3000g but seems to have 2nd latest on it out of the box
     
  7. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    2031
    Phil, I don't think we get them on the cheaper boards
     
  8. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,406
    Location:
    Perth
    Had them on ACE,godlike,gene,code and apex
     
  9. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    theres a few chips that will be under the drive that it would sit on by the looks
    ill have to wait for a hand to find out, its killin me :wired:
     
  10. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,406
    Location:
    Perth
    All the info will be in your mother board manual :)
     
  11. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    & in the box was a riser & screw lol.
     
  12. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,108
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Hey Phil, just want to let you know you can get Ryzen 3 1200 AF on AliExpress now for like 65 bucks shipped. Could be good value with the a320 and fun to play with.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    cheers, are they onboard gpu tho? i grabbed a am4 a10 off the forum yesterday but its probably not much different to the fm2 a10 setup im using now
    i just grabbed this under $100 but i think it was more the yellow coloured box that sucked me in https://www.asus.com/au/Motherboards/TUF-B350M-PLUS-GAMING/overview/

    but any new builds will be am4 from now on, if anyone even wants a box nowadays, & i got 2 early cpu's if anyone needs a flasher. them lights :rolleyes:
     
  14. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,108
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    No these are not APUs, but pair with a graphics card they can game decent. AF is like 10 percent upgrade.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    i didnt see any with af, just Rz 1200
     
  16. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,108
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
  17. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2020
  18. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,108
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    philquad likes this.
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    152,989
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Mine has covers with thermal tape on them. I think some of the cheaper/older boards won't have covers.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    nelson bay
    geez they're pissy little things these m.2
    its only a cheap seagate green 250, seems slower than a standard sata ?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: