[Mac OS X 1.5] USB Hub Stuck on 1.1

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by wwwww, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Bangkok
    I just installed Mac OS X 1.5 from a USB drive and that hub is not stuck on 1.1, consequently all my external ports are very slow, Bluetooth doesn't work. Is there a way to upgrade the drivers/software so that they run at 2.0 speeds short of buying a Firewire drive and reinstalling?

    Macbook Pro Unibody 13"

    Under USB Device Tree in the System Profiler, it lists:
    USB Bus
    USB Bus
    USB High Speed Bus
    USB High Speed Bus

    The first two have the AppleUSBOHCI driver and the latter two has the AppleUSBEHCI driver. I need the first two to have the AppleUSBEHCI driver also. This may have been caused by installing the OS from a USB DVD drive.

    Is there a way to change the drive installed on a Mac OS? In windows you just right click, update driver. I don't suppose Macs would make it that easy?
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  2. bugayev

    bugayev Whammy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It has nothing to do with installing from a USB drive, for some reason the hub is presenting itself as USB1.1 to the OS.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Bangkok
    It's not the hub, if I install from the internal drive I get USB 2.0, if I install from a USB drive I get USB 1.1, but I have two drives in RAID1 so I need to install from the USB drive to get it up and running.

    I've tried that Apple+Shift+Ctrl+Power stuff already (clearing CMOS equiv).
     
  4. xcalibur

    xcalibur Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Taringa, Brisbane
    TelL us more about your hub. What are the specifications and is it powered.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Two of the internal hubs that come with the Macbook Pro 13" Unibody. It comes with 4 hubs, I believe they're just the standard Intel ich8r hubs which are all USB 2.0.
     
  6. xcalibur

    xcalibur Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Taringa, Brisbane
    i've never had an issue like that. i can only recommend that if your mac is in warranty, call apple or you can book it with a genius.
     
  7. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Are you talking the USB via the keyboard?

    ie the keyboard has 2 x usb port... and is USUALLY usb1.1
     
  8. bugayev

    bugayev Whammy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010

Share This Page

Advertisement: