Macbook Pro Mid-2009 Internet Recovery Mode

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by ni9ht_5ta1k3r, Mar 21, 2019.

  1. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,855
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    OK, so my bro let me use his Mid-2009 Macbook Pro and I am trying to do a "reformat" to use a Windows term but when I tried to install a fresh copy it gave me the "this item is unavailable" error. After looking it said that it's because of the original account is still tied to it so I need help to get into the Internet Recovery mode but when I tried command+option+R it still loaded me into the standard recovery mode.

    So I am trying to get into Internet recovery mode so I can use my apple ID account.

    EDIT: OK so the 2009 model doesn't support this mode so I am all outta ideas.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2019
  2. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canberra
    Just make a MacOS boot USB and do it that way
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,855
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    yeah that's what i may end up having to do. I might try and install el captain because that's the latest that can be installed.
     
  4. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,670
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It might support it with a firmware update. My 2010 Macbook Pro didn't support internet recovery either but did after it was flashed :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,855
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Hmm... Interesting.

    Anyway I managed to get El Captian installed and running nicely and now thinking of bumping up the RAM and changing the HDD to an SSD if I have the money.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,855
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    OK so I got the new RAM installed and I'm cloning the current drive to an SSD. I also got a notification to download mojave... hmm...shouldn't it be blocked for a mid-2009 macbook pro?

    EDIT: I've taken out the optical drive and I am now looking for a 9.5mm optical drive to HDD/SSD caddy to fill its place.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  7. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,670
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I dont see why it would be, its still 64bit capable isnt it?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,855
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I did find this gem: http://dosdude1.com/mojave/

    So I might give it a go and I do have macOS mojave installed as a VM on my Windows PC so that'll come in handy :D
     
  9. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canberra
    need a metal capable graphics card which the 2009's don't have

    sure it's an '09? or will it do that lame ass thing where it downloads then says "sorry not compatible, thanks for downloading 5GB though"
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  10. OP
    OP
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,855
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Oh I am certain it's a 2009 model...

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: TBH this laptop isn't my daily driver but I am using it to just fuck around and learn how to use it so I can put it on my resume that I can use the mac environment... aka do photoshop on it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  11. OP
    OP
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,855
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    A patched Mojave worked pretty nicely...

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: