1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

Make VDI client connect to 'Windows Login' screen

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by PacketStorm4, May 25, 2015.

  1. PacketStorm4

    PacketStorm4 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Phos Vegas!
    Recently we have installed a Microsoft VDI system at work with resource pools.
    However we are having trouble finding the right VDI client to connect to them.

    What we are looking for, is using a lightweight OS like thin station to boot and connect directly to the VM's in the pool on the VDI, and present the Windows 8 login screen.
    So far, I can get it connecting correctly with FreeRDP but only after supplying my credentials to connect.
    How can i make it connect to the login screen so it looks seamless?
     
  2. scrantic

    scrantic Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    3350
    My guess is that it would be related to NLA network level authentication preventing you from directly hitting the windows login screen. Happy to stand corrected though.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    PacketStorm4

    PacketStorm4 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Phos Vegas!
    Yeah that's my guess too.
    Since NLA, we get the generic login prompt, rather than being taken into the session.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2015
  4. person

    person Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Brisbane
  5. luke o

    luke o Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,727
    Location:
    WA
    Go RDS on enterprise grade SSD... don't look back. Doesn't answer your question but yes been down the VDI road. RDS is better.
     
  6. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,089
    Location:
    Perth
    You can use thin clients as the client, IGEL make good terminals. Windows and Linux based, full management etc.

    NLA is what's causing your issue though.
    You have to authenticate before getting a connected session with it turned on.
     
  7. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,387
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Pablo and I had a discussion about this in our BE&C Rant thread a few pages back.

    There are reasons for VDI - but its overall a more expensive solution that RDS ever will be.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: