Mass Effect: Andromeda

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by walker_2003, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. japes

    japes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,540
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    61,465
    Location:
    brisbane
    guys having perf/crash issues, did you also play DA:I and have issues there?

    Starting to wonder if there's a common thread.
     
  3. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,482
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    i did back when DAI launched.
     
  4. gtarmanrob

    gtarmanrob Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,997
    Location:
    Perth
    Learning augments is highly recommended, add a great later to gear crafting
     
  5. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,697
    Location:
    2031
    Hmm. Can you put remenant augs on alliance gear?
     
  6. wipeout

    wipeout Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yes, 378.92. 1920x1200

    I have a sneaking suspicion it's either unoptimised or the CPU isn't up to it. CPU usage often pegs at 50%, meaning it's only using two cores and being very demanding on them.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  7. Pinkeh

    Pinkeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,069
    Location:
    Sydney
    i5 2500k here. The initial 10-15 minutes the CPU is pegged at 100% load and the game is really choppy but once the CPU has done the hardwork it drops to 50-80% and the game is really buttery smooth.

    Have only crashed once initially at launch. The Steam overlay was conflicting with Origin / the game for some weird reason. After i killed Steam and relaunched it has not crashed since.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  8. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,482
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    i wonder if my hitching has to do with streaming from storage? i have the game on an SSD.
     
  9. Rubberband

    Rubberband Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,750
    Location:
    Doreen, 3754
    2500k @ 4.6, 1080 @ 1440/144 and it's pretty damn smooth.

    No crashes yet, just finishing off the first planet.

    It's very very good, very happy with my purchase and I really cannot see what all the low scores are for. It's definitely got issues, but they're easily overshadowed by everything else.
     
  10. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,482
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    got the digital sound and it's got some neat tunes :D
     
  11. japes

    japes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,540
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Mass Effect servers dropping my connection at host (no connectivity issues) and screwing me out of XP/Currency is actual frustrating as shit.
     
  12. Pinkeh

    Pinkeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,069
    Location:
    Sydney
    Looking at my performance monitor i have a CPU and HDD Read/Write bottleneck. GPU and MEM are both running at about half load. But once the cpu has done all its unpacking/loading textures early into the game, it seems to be quite stable.
     
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,482
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    hmmm....ok.

    i still don't get why the dialogue and in-engine cutscenes always hitch when changing shots?
     
  14. G2A_CeleronGuy

    G2A_CeleronGuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Location:
    NSW
    Im using an I3-7100 and 1050ti and it runs fine in low settings and im still D/L but looks good even on Low res.
     
  15. Pinkeh

    Pinkeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,069
    Location:
    Sydney
    Romance & voice actors

    Shame we can't romance the ship's doctor. Voiced by Natalie Dormer from game of thrones. Indira Varma also from GoT, is voicing a villain in this game, and she previously voiced Vivenne from Dragon Age Inquisition.
     
  16. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I know this is odd by has anyone noticed the lack of loo's or showers anywhere on the ship..
    Surely they have to "do their business" somewhere, could you imagine the stink of no one showering..

    Come on Bioware that has to be a point off your review score for overlooking that, complete immersion breaker :lol:
     
  17. Uchuujin-san

    Uchuujin-san Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    Brunswick, Melbourne
    Just eject it into space...

    There are lakes on the planets, but i always seem to die when i try to take a bath in them. :lol:

     
  18. Rubberband

    Rubberband Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,750
    Location:
    Doreen, 3754
    You missed them. They're down the ladders just before the bridge.
     
  19. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    61,465
    Location:
    brisbane
    I am really under using all the fancy combat stuff.

    Good primer video here.

     
  20. Rubberband

    Rubberband Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,750
    Location:
    Doreen, 3754
    Just hit the second major planet.

    Having to skip the NPCs voice overs...pommie cat-lizards in space, no thanks!

    Edit: Holy fuck, Niilj the cat-lizard is an Aussie! Not even trying to cover the accent except for some digitisation. Bit bloody lazy and very immersion breaking.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2017

Share This Page

Advertisement: