1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Massive file server finally finished

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by STUdog, May 5, 2010.

  1. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Hey Guys

    Well my mate doesnt have an account here so he wanted me to add it up.

    He has finally finished his file server. The hardware had been finished for a while but just needed the case.

    Previous attempts at this case included destroying 2x brand new Antec 1200s and buying 2x massive codegen double cases. Both of these just didnt have the potential.

    As he already had 1xlian li PC-V2100b I managed to find another one 2nd hand for $80au off ocua. (Thanks to OhFoRkMe)

    So work got started and this is the final product.

    Pretty much both touching side panels were pop riverted together. Then checker plate on top back front and bottom. This thing is strong as hell.

    This case has easily room for 60hdds and the currently has 4 psus, 2x 1500w, 1x 1200w and 1 600w.

    Not those big ass fans on the back. The rest of the case will all be decked out with those. They are scythe 130cfm fans and are soo good.

    Everything apart from the 2 stock case was done by us. Mainly using Strips of aluminum to create the hdd racks.

    Things left to do is finish the front on the hdd side.


    ********UPDATES TO ALL THAT NITTY GRITTY********

    also a hdd needs 33w to start and 10w while in windows.

    Yes a SINGLE psu would work but would have to be a single rail psu

    ***He would probably need a corsair 750w single rail psu

    He already had 2x 1500w tts lying around. They have a shockingly bad rail design for sata and allow about 20 drives per psu.

    ***As for raid 0. The system is backup of my 20tb of data. So his and my system would both have to go on the same day to lose the data. It is faster to copy the data back off me than wait for raid 5 to rebuild/re-sync.



    **And as for it not looking up to your standards, it wasnt made to look pretty. it was made to work and hold upto 60hdds.

    **He has run out of mobo slots. He will soon be upgrading to the Asus supercomputer, He will then be adding a Quad nic as well.
    This will allow a 4gb connection.



    Specs
    ==========

    Gigabyte 680i mobo - 10 onboard sata
    Some 3ghz intel dual core
    XFX XXX 8800 Ultra. - Left over from gaming rig
    2x Highpoint 2340 16 port raid cards

    2x 16x 1tb Raid0 Samsung
    7x single jbod drives.



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2010
  2. galdar

    galdar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I thought file servers don't have video cards?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    lol nice. this is both. gaming while leeching.:)
     
  4. s3kemo

    s3kemo Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,888
    Location:
    in a house
    freakin hell. nice stuff STUdog.
     
  5. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,646
    Location:
    2650
    Not that I have anywhere near the need for 60 x HDDs (my total data requirement at the moment is about 400GB :)), but I probably would have bought a 24U rack, 4 of these (or something nicer perhaps), a nice rackmount server and a rackmount UPS.

    Would cost a lot more, but still ....

    I presume putting 60 HDDs in your case would involve filling in the bottom sections both sides? Any ideas on how much it would weigh? :)

    :Paranoid:
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2010
  6. davros123

    davros123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Wow! That's amazing!

    How's the heat with the hdd's in the "middle" of the stack...When i was playing with a different case with a similar (but smaller) hdd layout, I found mine went up to mid 40's without direct airflow...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    needs to be as much portable as possible. No fun in buying a rack mount case.

    No need for ups

    Yea to add 60 hdds would need to add some more rails at the bottom. Currently needing 2-3 people to move the case in and out of a car.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2010
  8. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Heat is fine. The front on the hdd side now has 2x 140cfm fans on it to match the 2 on the back. All the hdds run very cool.

    But very very noisy. No problem at lans tho.

    He is thinking in the near future of upgrading the 32x 1tb drives to 2tb
     
  9. Slyda

    Slyda Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    SYDANEE
    looks mad

    can we see some benchies of that raid0, are they F3s?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    I dont have a pic on me now. But can get one later

    But each raid array does 1.4gbs/1400mb a sec in hdtune.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2010
  11. Reaper

    Reaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    12,159
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld, Australia
    Looks great. Nice and simple does it. :)

    But what exactly is the purpose of this? (why such a large thing needs to be moved)? To lug it around to every LAN you can find to hoover up all of their data and then move to the next? :)
     
  12. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Theres only 2-3 good lans in Brisbane. Thats it
     
  13. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    the problem is, with 32-40TB, he would only just have enough room for one lanner in adelaide worth of space or about one third of what missingo (sydney) has :)

    also, thats the most insane Lian Li PCV-x ive ever seen :p
     
  14. Davo1111

    Davo1111 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,017
    Location:
    Sydney
    on the 11th photo (second last), there is two bags of 5in1 fertiliser. Any good? thinking of getting some myself.
     
  15. anthony256

    anthony256 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    10,781
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Why not get a few 6 bay NAS's? They use <30W of power most of the time and are daisy chainable.

    Expensive, but over a period of 1 - 2 years it would save tonnes on power. My power bills have dropped ~$300 a quarter from not having my 500W+ file server chugging away 24/7.
     
  16. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,192
    Location:
    Sydney
    Awesome!

    How heavy is it? Looks like bigger wheels would do good though! :p Dont want one of them bending under the weight while moving it!
     
  17. Deity

    Deity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Eastern Suburbs, Victoria
    How much does it weigh? Tried lifting it? :eek: As a LAN box, that is insane.
     
  18. ics

    ics Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    209
    Same, I've got an 8Tb NAS, it uses 30-40W at most, saves heaps of power...

    But you have to admit, it looks impressive...


    T
     
  19. kona_boy

    kona_boy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,133
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    WHY!!!

    -What percentage is being used?
    -How much freaking power does it consume lol?
    -How loud is it?
     
  20. anthony256

    anthony256 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    10,781
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Oh I admit it does... but I would prefer 2 x 6 bay NAS's (QNAP ~$1600ea).

    Power bills = much lower.
    No heat, not very much noise.
    Very easy to pack up and take around (LAN's, etc).
    Remote capabilities (DNS, etc)
    Ease of use.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: