Massive password cracking system (the specs!)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by daehenoc, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. daehenoc

    daehenoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    Mt Gravatt E, BNE, QLD
    Woah... I found this the other day: Your Password Cracking System Sucks

    He's spent about USD $10k on the system so far... wow!
     
  2. Brad7000

    Brad7000 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,343
    Location:
    Melbourne
    :shock: lol, tis a beast.
     
  3. King Krapp

    King Krapp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Forgive me if I've misread this, but has he got two SSDs in RAID, but using a 1TB drive for both OSs?

    That's retarded.
     
  4. Biovor3

    Biovor3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I would assume that he would store his rainbow tables on the SSD's instead.

    Rainbow tables are in essence a precomputated database of passwords which can be 'looked' up by a program. Off the top of my head a 'small' set of NTLM(windows),<8 char length alphanumeric lowercase to a 99% chance is around 30gig.
     
  5. Corky

    Corky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    might be a bit of a daft question...why would you need so much hardware to crack passwords?!?
     
  6. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    coz brute forcing decent encryption takes a metric f**kton of processing power
     
  7. Reaper

    Reaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,367
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld, Australia
    24 cores! Yea right. I'll stop taking him seriously right there. I'm surprised he didn't say it was a 63.84GHZ machine. :lol:
     
  8. bennyg

    bennyg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Melbourne, Oztraya
    When brute force doesn't work, it means you're not using enough.
     
  9. Corky

    Corky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    OK...maybe I posed the question wrong.

    What the hell is he trying to get into without passwords?

    Pron from filefront/megauploas/etc with passwords? :D
     
  10. King Krapp

    King Krapp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    There's still 226GB of SSD left...
     
  11. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,047
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    he's rather daft, if he wanted brute force cores, could put together 24 REAL amd cores for less, maybe even on his way to 48 cores using a 4p machine. but from the sounds of it, the gpu will be doing all the work?
     
  12. Archy

    Archy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Glenhaven, Sydney
    Can you do card-based brute force attacks or something? Because otherwise the 480s are confusing.
     
  13. kalidav

    kalidav Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I believe they do math!
     
  14. ufoolme

    ufoolme Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Logical?

    Sounds like the perfect cover to get your gaming machine as a tax write-off.
    It'll probably be good for a professional, but for the 'one-off' or script kiddy - cracking by cloud would be cheaper.
     
  15. Zedd02

    Zedd02 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,129
    Location:
    Townsville
    The Rainbow Tables for a 10 alpha password with a 80% chance of cracking are something in the lines of 1.4TB IIRC.
     
  16. azron

    azron Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    Melbourne
    waste, i'd rather pay the .99 US cents and use an online rainbow table to 'crack' a password hash...

    i guess this is an exercise in wasting money.

    and by the way, of all the times i've needed to brute force a password, it's always been less than 10 character! So it may take an hour, or it may take a day, but i dont need a $10K machine to do it.
     
  17. LostBenji

    LostBenji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,078
    Location:
    Up a tower somewhere....
    LOL, just another fool with more dollars than Sense.
    As someone else mentioned, cheaper and better option would have been a quad-socket magny-cours system with the Magma or Cyclone systems PCI-E expansion sub-system.


    Still no answer why you would need such a thing, how much passworded content would be needed to be busted and why ???????????????????????
     
  18. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,595
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I take it you guys have forgotten than video cards are substantially faster at bruting WPA(2) than CPUs.
    To me it looks like he's built an all purpose haxing rix. Lots of CPU for non-VGA optimised routines and managing the data demands of the GPUs, SSDs for quick rainbow table lookups and epic quantities of GPU based processing core.
    Time to add another character or two to the WPA key.
     
  19. roweysvn

    roweysvn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    Gold Coast / Brisbane
    I'll give it a go on my iPhone
     
  20. mrbean_phillip

    mrbean_phillip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Doreen (3754) Vic
    Ah guys, what most seems to forget is the fact that he probably enjoys building the rig.

    The purpose he builds it for, well, yeah -> don't agree with that, but let him spent his well-earned dollars on what he wants.

    His call. I guess a few boys on here a little envious :lol:

    Yes, he can build better with less money, but then, that's probably not the point for him.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: