1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Measure your Internet Connection.

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by VooDoo, Nov 25, 2006.

?

What type(s) of Internet access do you have?

  1. Digital Subscriber Line (DSLR/SHDSL/VDSL/ADSL1/ADSL2/ADSL2+)

    59 vote(s)
    13.0%
  2. ATM/Frame Relay

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. WiMAX

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. ISDN

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Satellite

    1 vote(s)
    0.2%
  6. Dial-up Modem (!)

    2 vote(s)
    0.4%
  7. NBN Fibre to the Home (FTTP/FTTH)

    90 vote(s)
    19.9%
  8. NBN Fibre to the Node (FTTN)

    107 vote(s)
    23.6%
  9. NBN Fibre to the Basement (FTTB)

    8 vote(s)
    1.8%
  10. NBN Fibre to the Curb/Distribution Point (FTTC/FTTdp)

    20 vote(s)
    4.4%
  11. NBN Cable (HFC)

    72 vote(s)
    15.9%
  12. NBN Fixed Wireless

    9 vote(s)
    2.0%
  13. Wireless ISP (not NBN)

    11 vote(s)
    2.4%
  14. Telstra/Optus Cable (not NBN)

    49 vote(s)
    10.8%
  15. MPLS (not NBN)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  16. Fibre (not NBN)

    17 vote(s)
    3.8%
  17. Mobile/Cell Broadband (3G/4G/HSDPA/LTE, etc)

    25 vote(s)
    5.5%
  18. Non-commercial (community effort, etc)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  19. Free (public wifi hotspots, war-driving, neighbour's unsecured wifi, etc)

    3 vote(s)
    0.7%
  20. Sneakernet/Carrier Pigeon

    3 vote(s)
    0.7%
  21. Candy string and two tins

    8 vote(s)
    1.8%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    koopz I'm not really sure what you are implying, even after you edited your post - that we could use the existing copper (until it gets removed, anyway) for links between houses? Or that we could run our own WAN?
     
  2. LostBenji

    LostBenji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,084
    Location:
    Up a tower somewhere....
    Somewhere over 100/100, can't be fagged with screen shots and shit. NBN free, unlimited data. Sweeeeeeeet
     
  3. LostBenji

    LostBenji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,084
    Location:
    Up a tower somewhere....
    Copper will never be replaced entirely. Plenty of applications where copper reigns supreme.
     
  4. koopz

    koopz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,104
    Location:
    Qld
    think as a teenager would ( if you're into technology yourself )


    this happens everyday... and the associated problems ;)


    I think that if I was a teenager today in 2018 I wouldn't stop experimenting... which leads to problems for some of us.


    and some expensive equipment to suddenly stop working.


    my favourite example that comes to mind was the job where the lad who figured out that he join his parent's Yamaha Amp to the old Telstra cabling so that he could send tunes 3 (4?) doors down, where he joined the white/blue --- red/black coming into his mate's parents house and then into their shitty old analogue Amp.

    My hat goes off to this kid as... I would have done the same if given the chance in the 90s.


    still - it's 2018.


    people like their internet working, and don't respond well to disruption of their service.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2018
  5. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,077
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just off the top of my head... that would require the individual pairs to be cross jumpered at the pillar, and both premises would need to be 50m or less from the pillar on average or you exceed the distance limit for 100BaseT. also, if NBN hasn't taken ownership of the copper asset and Telstra is still using it, the than means it's Telstra's property and we all know the sheer levels of complexity and cost it would take to get such an idea up.

    practically, it's not so much a dead duck as a duck that never existed in the first place.

    I prefer to think like an adult, which means understanding what's possible with all the limitations of the real world taken into account. if you don't do that you end up angry and disappointed while everyone else in the room thinks you're immature.

    I have no idea why you'd even want to do such a thing. there are so many was that such data transfer could be better, more easily and less illegally accomplished that it's not even conceivable to try. reminds me of a few years ago when someone thought they were very clever for finding a way to get "free power" by tapping their phone line with a DC:DC converter. he probably spent several days and $40 in hardware all to access 20 milliamps of current.

    it's always a good idea to ask yourself not just if you could, but if you should.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018
    Pugs and TheWedgie like this.
  6. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    :lol:

    Exactly. If it doesn't already exist, whoever owns the pit & pipe could offer an equivalent of tielines or custom point to point links, but you'd be better off using a single fibre link and not jumpering via existing infrastructure of questionable quality, that's likely to be removed in the future.

    Absolutely - but in a fully FTTP area, with no Special Services (if there's any left, most were on the way out when I was still an employee) there's no need to have the pit & pipe full of copper that's not actually jumpered to anything. Hypothesising that somewhere out there, there's a customer that still has a legacy Special Service in a FTTP area, and is allowed to keep it, you'd be better off removing them from the 'old' system of Telstra cables, and running a direct tieline - that way you're not keeping 1000+ pair main cables, 1800 pair pillars etc in service for one client. But, a large number of these special services were on their way out when I was still there, so would be well and truly gone by now.
     
  7. tsandu

    tsandu Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Sydney
  8. koopz

    koopz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,104
    Location:
    Qld


    on today of all days, I will not argue a point with you.


    I do hope that today is an enjoyable one with your friends and family Caspian
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2018
  9. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,894
    Location:
    3000
    is anyone in Adelaide, using Telstra HFC (non NBN), has your upload speed increased?
     
  10. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,576
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2018
  11. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,077
    Location:
    Melbourne
    looking forward to that sort of upload speed, pushing large videos to youtube is a pest.
     
    Ratzz likes this.
  12. hawpinghaxbag

    hawpinghaxbag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,572
    Location:
    Your mum's place
    Phone and lappy could be set to a different region code to the router causing the devices to look at the wrong set of 5ghz wifi channels. People have fixed it by manually changing the 5ghz connection channel
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
  13. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    23,379
    Location:
    north pole
    Anyone else noticed slowdowns with ABB since the unlimited plans went up?
     
  14. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,063
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Bummer man!

    [​IMG]
     
    Adona and Ratzz like this.
  15. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,576
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Fucking showoff... :lol:
     
    Adona likes this.
  16. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,193
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    so if it rains, here's what happens:

    [​IMG]

    and as per this post, we're cancelling our adsl and nbn install, as we're moving OS in 6 months and we've had 8 failed nbn appointments so far. can't win!
     
  17. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,866
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Which company are you using for NBN?
     
  18. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    23,379
    Location:
    north pole
    Says tpg?
     
  19. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,193
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    yeah its tpg, and of course they're pissweak at following up with nbn.

    there's some damage/blockage where our adsl copper comes through the pit, and it'd cost waaaay too much to dig it all up and fix it. so much so that the nbn techs said "nup, we're not gonna get your hfc through there (there's an existing, dead cable tv cable in the pit too) so we're gonna splice off someone else's thingo".

    so, adsl? cactus. nbn? taken over 9 months so far, with nothing to show for it and no end in sight. so - bugger it :weirdo:
     
  20. slavewone

    slavewone Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,020
    Location:
    B.Mtns2774 Status:Unhappy
    It also says slower than 72% of au, wow, 28% are even slower.
     
    vladtepes likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: